We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais de Franc Mayne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Relais de Franc Mayne to your Saves list
Le Relais de Franc Mayne
14 La Gomerie | Route D243, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
New York, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed here one night (though we wanted to stay more they were booked solid) in July 2009. We booked the Indian Fusion room which was well appointed, with a comfortable bed, great shower and a spacious sink area. As others have noted, no expense has been spared in making this a great place to stay. The common rooms are large, with comfortable sofas, where one can lounge, read or enjoy a drink. Breakfast was served at a long dining table (good bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc). The night we were there the hotel offered Table d’hote (dinner), the meal was simple but delicious (gazpacho, beef skewer with vegetable and zucchini au gratin, strawberry chantilly, all for 15 euro per person), Franc Mayne wine is available for purchase with the meal. We ate on the terrace, watching the sun set over the vineyards, I wish I was there….. The tour of the vineyard was very well done. It lasted about 1 hour, including a visit into the cave and wine tasting at the end. The garden and swimming pool were also enjoyable and somewhat unique since the pool is all natural, with plants growing on one side. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
80
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Great location in the middle of the vineyards. Nice building. Terrific staff with perfect English. Excellent buffet breakfast served family style--get to know the other guests.

Our room was a bit funky and small but our friends were in the main building and had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night in June 2009.

The accommodation and service are both of a very high standard, with no expense spared on furnishings and fittings. Staff were professional, friendly and eager to help.

The location was good (about 2 minutes drive into town) and the setting was simply stunning. Make sure you get some photos as the sun sets over the vines.

Only criticism is that it would have been nice if there was a restaurant on-site, but there are no shortage of alternatives in the area.

Franc Mayne is by no means cheap, but is absolutely worth the expense. I highly recommend this property for your stay in St Emilion.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Chateau Franc Mayne in May 2008. We stayed in the Black and White room and it was extremely clean and well decorated. The windows open directly into the courtyard and the bathroom is open to the room, but neither was an issue for us. The staff is extremely helpful (they speak perfect English which is a great help if your French is rusty like ours) and they made us feel welcome during every interaction. We enjoyed the family style breakfast with other guests and honestly, most of the time, it felt like we were the only ones staying there. We sipped our complimentary glass of wine out by the pool in the evening and even stayed up to play pool one night in one of the common rooms. I can only confirm what all the others have said in their reviews- this is a wonderful place to stay, relaxing, beautiful, clean, just perfect. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in St. Emillion. We were very happy with our choice and would go back and stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

FANTASTIC! The most beautiful setting in a gorgeous historic chateau that is a winery and small hotel. Beautiful rooms with heated towel racks and large bathrooms and the most comfortable beds. Walking distance to the magical town of St. Emilion and the setting is beyond an amazing experience in France. I stayed with a group of women in the wine industry from Napa Valley visiting our French counterparts who hosted us in Bordeaux and I will be back next time with my husband. I'm telling all my friends if they go to this area of Bordeaux this is the place to stay. Griet and her staff are the BEST. Merci Merci!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October and used it as a base for our travels in the Bordeaux region and the Dordogne Valley. Even though you can walk to St Emilion (as we did once) you should have a rental car or some other way of getting around.

The staff was courteous, the service impecable, the views incomparable, and the wine even better! We stayed in the British Landscape Room and were quite pleased. The public rooms (particularly the lounge and the outside pool area) were terrific. We often would order appetizers and sip their wine before dinner in the city.

We were fortunate enough to have the harvest start while we were there. That was a bonus we hadn't planned on.

One day we scheduled a private tour of the Medoc region, and the tour guide came to our hotel to pick us up--so being in what some might seem as a remote place to make a home base, worked for us.

  • Liked — Everything--Quality Service and Accomodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Everything about this place was as advertised and was just lovely. The hotel has been recently decorated in a whimsical chateau kind of way. We arrived to be greated by sweet girls who spoke great English. First we were taken on a very informative tour of the winery. The back garden was a nice place to sit and read for a while. The walk to town was almost exactly the 20 minutes they said and it was a very easy, pleasant walk to town. We had had a big lunch so we asked the hotel to make us a plate of food for the evening. For 18 euros, they brought out the most lovely spread of quiche, cheeses, prosciutto, ham, lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, fruit, bread etc. We paired it with a bottle of their rose and had a really lovely evening in one of their very comfortable common rooms. Great computer set up for guests also. We stayed in the black and white room which was adorable and extremely clean. My only complaint was that in this particular room there was no door between the bathroom and the bedroom. Even though that was a little odd, I loved the place and would stay in the same room again. This hotel really is a little treasure.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais de Franc Mayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais de Franc Mayne

Address: 14 La Gomerie | Route D243, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of St-Emilion vineyard, the Relais de Franc Mayne provides 11 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with TV, wireless Internet access, mini bar, private safe. Enjoy a quiet place to stay, a natural swimming pool as well as great wines (Grand Cru Classé). Tours of the property 7 days a week upon booking (French and English). Free tours for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Relais de Franc Mayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De Franc Mayne Hotel Saint-Emilion
Chateau Franc Mayne Saint Emilion
Chateau Franc Mayne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais de Franc Mayne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.