We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little tour & tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Fonplegade

Chateau Fonplegade
Saint-Emilion, Saint-Emilion, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Activities in Saint-Emilion
Type: Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little tour & tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently visited Bordeaux and wanted to visit a Chateau reachable by public transport. We found Chateau Fonplegade online and decided to combine a day trip to St-Emilion town with a visit to this Chateau. It was a great decision.

We easily booked our visit by email and even changed at the last minute due to a train strike. The Chateau is only 10 minutes easy walk from the train station. We chose the 30 Euro, 90 minute tour and tasting option in the morning. This started with a private tour around the vineyard which was great fun and educational. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. We then went on a mini tour inside the Chateau and learnt about how they make their wine and about some of the experimental techniques they are trying. It was very interesting. We then tasted 3 red wines and a Rose.

The Chateau itself is absolutely beautiful inside and very modern following recent renovations. We highly recommend this tour and had a lovely morning. It was then just a 20 minute walk up to St-Emilion amongst the vineyards!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wine tour not in tourist bus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Chateau is unique, it has warehouse in California USA and they can ship you wines at no extra cost from California within Continental USA. Canadian are not so fortunate. But the place has excellent collection of high quality wine. It is generally not in tour books or coach tours. Arrange a private tour taste excellent wines and the beautiful surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Modern Chateau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are in Bordeaux, France please take a day-trip to St. Emilion - a small nearby town that is approximately 35 minutes via train. You can walk from the train station into St. Emilion. What a beautiful town - small but with all the charm of Europe! The Chateau Fonplegade is a nearby winery - quite modern and up-to-date. Tours and wine tasting are available. . .free! The tour is worthwhile and lasts 30-45 minutes, demonstrating all the intricacies of a modern winery. You may have to catch a taxi to the Chateau. The vineyards at the Chateau and around the entire town of St. Emilion are beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow - better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a great tour and then wine tasting. the knowledge of the tour guide was fantastic. Great value for money. Was a wonderful location as well. We would highly recommended this to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barrios, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent insight into a Bordeaux vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

No shortage of wineries to choose from here but as we only had one day a Google search to book one in advance was needed. Chateau Fonplegade had everything we wanted and a 1.5 hr private tour was easy to arrange by e-mail. We paid the extra half hour to be taken around the vines and think it was well worth it to get a better flavour of the place. The last hour then spent inside the winery culminating in the all important tasting - red wine isn't usually something I'd flock to buy but some of these tasted wonderful and are now sitting in the rack at home (arrived at our home by courier a couple of days before we expected them to). Many thanks to our guide, Elisa, who was thoroughly engaging and contributed greatly to our enjoyment of the visit . If you aren't an 'oenophile' and just want to visit one vineyard in this area to find out about what goes on, I couldnt recommend this place more highly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Fonplegade also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Chateau Fonplegade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Fonplegade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.