We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Au Logis des Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Au Logis des Remparts to your Saves list
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
18, rue Guadet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found the setting perfect! The personnel were friendly and accommodated our requests and recommended one of the best local restaurants in town. We had a bliss of a time and can only share with you our total satisfaction. Fleetwood Grobler, Hamburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello, Very kind of you !! Hope to see you soon..... La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    88
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
102
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the rest of St. Emilion. The parking (through a narrow lane and behind the hotel itself) felt secure and convenient. The back courtyard is lovely, and the rooms that face the back have a lovely view of the pool, trees, and vineyards beyond. The rooms were clean and sufficient, and the front desk staff were very helpful. Hotel Logis des Remparts is in the ideal location -- just a minute walk away from most everything you'd want to see and do in town. If you're looking for a good, basic hotel in St. Emilion, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello,
Thanks very much for your comment and hope to see you soon.
Regards.
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our hotel seemed nice though with some unusual features. First the parking was behind the hotel in a walled off lot that was reached by driving up a very narrow passage next to the hotel and then through a locked gate in a stone wall. We felt our car was very secure. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and even came out to the parking lot to help with our luggage and show us to our room. Our room (#3) was on the first floor which equates to the second floor in the U.S. There was a dumb waiter type lift that could be used to send the luggage up to the first floor but humans had to use the stairs. And those stairs consisted of a narrow, stone spiral staircase that would probably never pass city codes in the U.S. But we were happy with our room.

Breakfast at Les Ramparts was outside on a patio shaded by an olive tree and bordered by flow-ers. With the sun shining it was very pleasant and we didn’t rush and it was slow anyway since it was not a buffet. No eggs but much fresh fruits to select from, breads, and yogurt. After breakfast we took a walk around the hotel grounds and I showed my wife the shady seating I had noticed the day before. She liked it so well she wanted to delay our departure and get her book and read so we spent a fair amount of time doing just that. The air was filled with the sounds of the doves cooing as well as the songs from other birds. We would love to return just for the peaceful grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comment.
You realized to be in an old village (medieval!) and you understood and accepted the constraints which ensue from it. It is great and intelligent!.
We are delighted that you appreciated our small family hotel.
Regards.
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingelmunster, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

At firts it looked a quite old when entering the hotel, but the idea changed once we've seen our room, the garden with a little historical side, the swimming pool and the outside terras where you're able to have your well served breakfeast. The location in Saint-Emilion is fantastic, in the evening your just seconds away to find your first place to dinner. The possibility to park your car int the private parking lot on the domain of the hotel is great, but you'll need some guts to drive uphill at the first time. The personel was verry helpful with all kind of information you could ask. The only negative point was the payment for the wifi, one day costs approx. €5.
Next time we're in Saint-Emilion we don't have to search for a place to stay no more, i think you can already guess where that'll be...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comment which delights all the team of the hotel. Indeed the WiFi seems perhaps expensive for only one day but for 2/3/4.... days it is 5€ too. What happiness to be able to use it everywhere in the hotel also in the gardens, at the swimming pool and on our terraces at the time of the breakfast! Is not it? and it is not really the case everywhere!. We would be happy to see you soon again and thank you very much.Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked two nights based on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews and we are certainly not disappointed! Thank you to the online community.

When we drove up the steep narrow cobbled streets, we almost missed it as the hotel front is very small but so is every other hotel in the area. Even the front reception does not lend itself to what a true treasure this hotel hides.

Once checked in to the charming room which was clean, tidy and well presented (please note, there is a small luggage elevator but I did not see an elevator for the disabled). We walked the hotel grounds which is more like an small estate. There are many private seating areas if you would like a little more privacy and a reasonably sized pool for you to cool off with in the heat of the August afternoons.

There is a small and charming area for breakfast which you need to advice the staff the previous day if you wish it, or you can simply step outside and find many choices. We decided to take the advice of other reviewers and simply ate elsewhere.

The service is friendly and all staff wears name tags with flags of the different languages they speak. The hotel is very central with the tourism office only about a one minute walk out the front door. This detail maybe of importance to you as there are several local tours you can book from there. The upper terrace of the village is next to the tourism office with the lower terrace a very steep walk away.

We can see us repeating this visit eventually. What a lovely place and I would recommend it to anyone. They have several specials on their website and you may book from there to take advantage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks very much for your comment and hope to see you soon.
Regards.
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were two families with young kids and found the hotel to be very accommodating. The rooms are different form each other, which gives it a charming feel, Our kids slept in a loft in their own beds. Great to have a pool and parking practically in the middle of town. Large garden offers quiet peaceful areas for couples, so we really didn't feel like our kids were in the way of other guests and they looked to be in their own peaceful bliss.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello,
Very kind of you !!
Hope to see you soon.....
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is just like hotels should be: Friendly staff, well maintained, clean, perfect location, beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast and last but not least: friendly guests:-)
We will definitely return to this hotel since we definitely will return to this nice city. What a stay we had. Go there, drink wine and be happy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logisdesremparts, Gérant at Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Hello,
"Thanks very very much" and hope to see you a next time.
The staff and the Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Au Logis des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Logis des Remparts

Address: 18, rue Guadet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Au Logis des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Des Remparts Hotel Saint-Emilion
Logis Des Remparts Saint Emilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Au Logis des Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.