We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a Beautiful City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de la Commanderie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge de la Commanderie to your Saves list
Auberge de la Commanderie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a Beautiful City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in late November for 2 nights. We were travelling with friends, so we had 2 rooms in the hotel. The room was very old, but refurbished with modern conveniences. It was very clean. It was very centrally located in the town of Saint-Emilion.

The hotel was priced very reasonably. I am not sure if it was due to the time of year or not.

The hotel did not have a restaurant and bar, but it was not a big deal as we were in such a good location, we were a minute's walk from those things. It was the best value we were able to find in the town of Saint-Emilion.

The hotel staff was very nice. It is not a luxurious place, but perfectly comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
20
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed for one night with our two teenagers (14 and 19). The hotel was just what we were looking for, and had the advantage of a very good value duplex where we had one entrance, but two bedrooms -one double and one twin. I looked at other hotels in Saint Emilion but they seemed very expensive for an overnight stay. Bathroom facilities were good - plenty of hot water. I couldn't work the air conditioning initially, but eventually managed by trial and error in the middle of the night! We parked in the hotel car park, a short walk from the hotel. Breakfast was fine - usual croissants, jams, orange juice, perfectly cooked boiled eggs.
Saint Emilion was absolutely beautiful. We would recommend Les Girons'dines restaurant. We went there for lunch - very good home made tartes and salads. We returned there in the evening and again had a very good meal, sitting on the shaded back terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here when other B&Bs with more character (we thought) were unavailable, but it turns out we were really pleased with our stay. The location is unbeatable and I don't think you'd get anywhere else at this standard at such good value. Really helpful staff too. The decor is a bit unusual but it's clean and comfortable and if you're spending your days out and about anyway, why pay loads more for a hotel you won't spend much time in?

Room Tip: Room 1 has a beautiful view out over the street - but if you're a light sleeper you may find it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Do not expect luxury, but the hotel is clean, the rooms are nice - but small. The service is very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in room nr 2 with a lovely view towards the wineyards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were driving from Brittany to Provence and St. Emilion was the perfect half-way point to stop overnight. Picked Auberge de la Commanderie based on TA reviews and guidebook recommendations. It was completely fine, I guess - neither terrible nor amazing.

Location is great, staff is very nice and helpful and speak good English (like everyone in St. Emilion, which is super American touristy). I was enticed by the awesome pix on their website, but like many of the hotels in France, I have discovered they are very good at making their pictures look slightly more awesome than things are in real life.

I completely dug the crazy fun headboards and all that, but something about the hotel/room felt a little more dorm-like than I expected/was hoping for. I can't quite put my finger on it. Still, great views of the city from the room, not too loud, nice tub, comfortable bed. Decent value, safe and comfortable and perfectly fine. This *was* the only place we stayed where you had to pay for the internet (not awesome), but whatever. They did have parking for us. It was in a secured lot around the corner, which I think some people might have been annoyed with in other reviews, but that is perfectly fine with me. They let you park out front to unload and seriously where do you expect them to have a lot right there? It's a medieval town? The fact that they have a lot at all is terrific!

Anyhow, basically, it was good, but not amazing.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

St Emilion is a beautiful village and is seemingly all about wine. We booked our stay at Auberge de la Commanderie a day in advance via my ipad and received a prompt response/confirmation.
Not knowing the area, it was a bit of a challenge finding our way to the hotel and the remote parking lot. There are some very narrow streets, stone barrier walls and oneway streets. Mapping the route in advance will save you some stress. Fortunately there was lots of wine here for us to unstress with.
The hotel location couldn't be better, right in the middle of town. Our room was nice, clean with a tub and shower attachment. Petit dejeuner was a good value. Our only nit was the internet access. They charge an outrageous fee for a short amount of time, we didn't even get the amount of time we paid for but didn't feel it was worth complaining to the staff about. All the other places we stayed on this trip had free wifi, Commanderie was the exception.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just returned from St Emilion, stayed there for 1 night across the street in their 2 bedroom suite, it's the first and second floor with the balcony. Free parking, The suite was quite nice, very large bathroom and good size bedrooms. Staff was friendly, great place to stroll down to explore the village and eat at the many restaurants closeby or sample the wine at the each shops.
We never had a reservation, just walk in and got a great rate. Was nice to see couples walking by late at night with a bottle of wine, very romantic. Great place to buy wine for a trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de la Commanderie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Commanderie

Address: 2 Rue Porte Brunet, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Commanderie 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge de la Commanderie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Commanderie Hotel Saint-Emilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de la Commanderie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.