We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princess diary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Grand Barrail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Grand Barrail to your Saves list
Chateau Grand Barrail
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Libourne, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Princess diary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place is a treate! The location is nice with wines on all the sides of the chateau, staff very observant and attending, the dinner awesome and roomes nice. However, the gym was smal and not well equipted, but it did not mater since the location offered fantastic scenery for a morning run. This place is not just for honeymooners, but also for girls how want to have fun and spoil themselves!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear MarteMik,

Thank you for your compliments regarding our beautiful hotel!

Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.
The Grand Barrail team has taken note of your highly positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

We hope to see you again soon in St Emilion,

Yours sincerely

Rosa BELLON
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    113
    41
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
229
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel could really be something. It is a beautiful building, overlooking Chateau Figeac and then onto Petrus. Location is A*. We stayed in a room in the chateau, generally this was good, bathroom a little tired and bed a little firm but this is being picky. Wifi does not work on the second floor but that is no great surprise in a building this age. Decor generally could do with a refresh and the hotel feels slightly of faded glories. Service at the front desk was good and they were helpful in finding tastings for us, although I felt, perhaps not surprisingly that they had links to certain places and were not keen to get you in to other places. I might be wrong about that in fairness as it was very much the French holiday season. Service in the restaurant was patchy, one waiter (I bet he's the one others have mentioned) was downright rude and unpleasant, others could not have been nicer. Food at the hotel was good but never more than that, likewise the wine list which had some good wine but a little young. All in all we had a lovely stay. I just feel that a little investment in one or two more staff, a refresh of the decor and slight modernisation would result in a truly fabulous hotel. At the moment it falls just a fraction short.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear traveler,

Our valued guests comments are crucial to us and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us your constructive feedback.

We are sorry to read that you were a little disappointed with your recent stay and we would like to apologize for any possible inconveniences.

Regarding the service in our restaurant, we have already shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager.

However, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the place, the hotel and the welcome.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon in St Emilion,

Yours sincerely,

Rosa Bellon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and the service at the reception desk was good. Unfortunately the food & beverage service is average at best. One particular waiter was downright rude not only to people on our table but we heard him having a go at a couple on the next table at breakfast the following morning. Shame as it dampened our experience in this wonderful area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with our restaurant service and we would like to apologize for any possible inconveniences.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service but it appears that we failed a little to meet your expectations.

Of course, we were very pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel and service from our team to be great.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Yours sincerely,

Rosa BELLON
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Chateau is eye catching and inviting, in addition the rooms are nicely and differently decorated, with strong colours and some antique furniture.Nespresso machine in room. Pool area is noting special, but the pool is good size and well needed in the summer heat. Nice SPA, with a good choice of treatments. Restaurant and service is good, enjoyed the tasting menue-with wine pairings - plenty of food, arrive hungry! beautiful vistas perfect for a wine tasting stay and a romantic get away. Plenty of international guests. the only strange thing is that the bar close at midnight, so if your planning on some champers on th balcony after dinner, order in advance...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

It is always a pleasure for the our entire team to receive such praises and we are more than delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and the quality of service we aim to provide.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,

Rosa Bellon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had the privilege of staying at this hotel from July 10-14.

The surroundings are beautiful, the air is so very clean, and you can literally smell the vines.

Our weather was not the greatest, but that is not the fault of the hotel.

We stayed in the chateau itself. Our room was nicely appointed and very clean, but a bit small for the price that we did pay, the bathroom was almost as big as the room. We did enjoy the fact that the hotel was maintained in the original style. It would have been a shame if the hotel had been transformed into a more modern style, it in not that type of place.

We did enjoy the spa as well, it is a modern spa. We had 2 wonderful couples massages.

The pool area is very nice as well, there seems to plenty of seating and there was a phone where you could order food, drinks, etc. You got the towels at the spa.

The restaurant was excellent. The food was wonderful and wine and drink selections were outstanding. Congratulations go the chef, we never had a anything but fabulous experiences in the restaurant. The staff was friendly, but not overbearing, they understood when to approach the table and when not to. They did try to anticipate your needs before you had to get their attention.

We were always treated with respect and once the staff knew you, they remembered your little quirks. One of mine was 3 fired eggs "flipped" with a sliced tomato every morning, and they always remembered that.

It is a short 10 minute ride from St. Emilion, it was always worth the taxi ride. I would not recommend walking on the road, it is a main road, and can be very busy.

If you get the opportunity to visit this hotel, take it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear GLEN,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete and detailed review of your stay in our hotel.

We were particularly delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that besides finding us well located, you found also our staff very professional.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,

Rosa Bellon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Typically french...
Magnificent gardens in the middle of St Emilion vineyards. Just a dream.
Beautiful original round room (11)
Tremendous food. Slow service due to a lack of restaurant staff.Staff is trying everything possible to meet your request.
Request to sleep in the castle, and not in the dependancies.

It is too expensive for what it is.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Google Translation
Cher voyageur,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de poster votre commentaire et de partager avec nous votre expérience au château Grand Barrail.

Nous sommes très sincèrement ravis de lire vous avez adoré la région et la nourriture de notre chef. Nous ne manquerons pas de lui transmettre vos compliments.

Cependant, nous sommes vraiment désolés concernant le service au restaurant. Nous allons transmettre vos remarques aux différentes personnes concernées afin de prendre les actions correctives appropriées.

Nous espérons que nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau prochainement,

Sincères salutations,

Rosa Bellon
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Nice location and historical property but low level of service compared to high price, nearly 300 Euros per night.
Deficient service on Chauteau visits and missed the mist reputable one. Felt like deficient staff number and maintanance!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Grand Barrail, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear LaraIstanbul,

Thank you for your review.

Our valued guests comments are crucial to us and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us your constructive feedback.

We really apologize that your stay was spoiled by the lack of service from our team and that your overall experience at our property felt a little disappointing.

Regarding the visits, we know so many chateaux in the area and we always try to organise the better wine tours for our guests.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate the quality of service we are able to provide.

Yours sincerely,

Rosa Bellon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Grand Barrail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Grand Barrail

Address: Route de Libourne, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Grand Barrail 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Grand Barrail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Grand Barrail Hotel Saint-Emilion
Chateau Grand Barrail Saint Emilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Grand Barrail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.