We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, restaurant - wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie de Plaisance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie de Plaisance to your Saves list
Hostellerie de Plaisance
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, restaurant - wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This definitely is THE hotel to stay at in St. Emilion - great location, fantastic service, lovely rooms and an incredible restaurant. We only had one night in town and we're so glad we chose this hotel.

We stayed in the Monbousquet room - If you like rooms with nice balconies and views, this is the room. It was a very classy, well appointed, comfortable room. The hotel is very centrally located - makes it easy to explore the town.

Of course, their restaurant is famous and for good reason. We were in town to celebrate our 25th anniversary and my 50th birthday - I could not have imagined a more incredible meal. It was the best meal of our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monbousquet room. It's one of their more expensive rooms, but it has a great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Direction H, Directeur général at Hostellerie de Plaisance, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We wish to thank you very much for your message and your time. It is always a pleasure to receive very nice comments from our guests.
We pass on to the all team all your positive feelings which are a source of encouragement to always progress and satisfy our guests.
We are all very pleased that you had a good time in our hotel and restaurant and also to be part of a memorable moment for your birthday and Anniversary.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Hostellerie de Plaisance.

Best Regards,

Cédric Béchade
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
138
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a very fine hotel in the lovely town of Saint Emilion. it was a pleasure to stay here and to enjoy the great views of the town and surrounding countryside from its elegantly decorated rooms. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was generally excellent. Dinner in the dining room was particularly good. My only reservation is that at these room prices (€500+) and restaurant prices (€300-400 for two for dinner without going crazy with the wine list) it needs to be pretty well faultless and that wasn't the case - the housekeeping and inadequate hot water supply were examples of this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Direction H, Directeur général at Hostellerie de Plaisance, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We thank you very much for your time and for sharing your souvenir about the Hostellerie de Plaisance.
We sincerely apologize for any technical problem in the room. We are very attentive to all the guests' feelings and we always try to progress to satisfy our guests.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Saint-Emilion and we hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Cédric Béchade
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Emilion, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is the kind of place you go to if you want to experience food. Beautifully presented, you dont even want to eat it. Wonderful flavors, exceptional wine list. Excellent service.

Cant wait to go back :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Fantastic location - in the heart of St Emilion - gorgeous hotel in the middle of wine country.

The rooms are lovely, most have really good views over the town. We ate one night in the restaurant as a treat - food was superb and the service was impeccable although it was all a bit formal. The wine list read more like a novel and I nearly fell off the chair at some of the prices .. but managed to find a reasonably priced bottle eventually.

Recommended for a luxury break in the heart of wine country.

PS - we stayed over 5 years ago so check recent reviews but I can't imagine it will have lost its timeless charm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Went here for a pre-dinner drink and the view was just spectacular, the sun was setting and it looked like a picture. Everything is done to a very high, classic standard and it had a special feel about the place but after paying £40 for two glasses of not very nice white wine I thought it was a tad expensive, but I didn’t look at the wine menu so that's maybe where I went wrong I just asked the waiter for a white wine looking at the place I assumed that they would all be good but not the case, but then I guess you are paying for the most amazing view.
I Would recommend to go here for a drink but look at the wine list!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel.

It has been totally renovated with due respect for its past. The architects, interior designers, landscape designers and the artisans who made it happen deserve an enthusiastic bravo!

Our room, not a suite, was spacious, comfortable and perfectly appointed. The bathroom was large and luxurious -- fitted with a glass enclosed American sized shower. The bed was most comfortable and we slept like babies.

The staff was friendly, approachable and helpful with any request. We enjoyed walking the cobbled and steep! streets of St. Emilion (bring your walkin' shoes!) and visiting some of the omnipresent wine shops that line the medieval streets of the village.

We were fortunate to be able to visit and tour Les Couvants des Jacobins, a lovely winery located in the center of the village dating back several centuries.

The village can be seen in a day. If you love wine, plan a visit to a winery, or two or three and indulge yourself in a wine tasting at ETS Martin, a beautiful wine shop located near Hostellerie de Plaisance. Ask for Cedric!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this special hotel. The rooms are quite big, very well decorated and specially cozy. My suggestion: 2 nights are enough to know the city and all attractions around. I recommend to book a table at the gastronomy restaurant in the hotel. It is a 2 star michelin and deserves it. Only one disappointment: we thought there was a SPA or something like this in the hotel, but there isn't. It is the best hotel in the region. I recommend it. Flavio Maia

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Plaisance

Address: Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostellerie de Plaisance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hostellerie de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Plaisance Hotel Saint-Emilion
Hostellerie De Plaisance Saint Emilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie de Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.