We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in centre of st emillion very handy for a night or two max.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie de Plaisance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie de Plaisance to your Saves list
Hostellerie de Plaisance
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place in centre of st emillion very handy for a night or two max.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had an expensive room which was nice but two lifts and a 5 minute journey including outside pathway to get to the main hotel. Also our room didn't have great views and no outside space. The breakfast and restaurant for dinner were truly great experiences. Staff lovely. Just aren't any things to Do at the hotel like pool or spa and no loungers anywhere. Hence recommend for a short trip only.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
138
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here as part of a roadtrip, and overall we thought the hotel and restaurant were excellent. Out room, Bellevue, overlooked the bell tower and square next door, and were very comfortably furnished. There was a lovely welcome pack of water, large fruit platter and sweets, and the gadgets were great - don't turn the volume up on the tv's bathroom speaker too quickly, though, as there is a delay and I nearly deafened my husband who was in there brushing his teeth!

If I had to make a negative comment, and at £400 a night I think I can be very picky, it would be that when choosing to sit on the terrace during the afternoon, and having to ask for a cushion (which had all been removed due to heavy clouds which implied rain, though it never arrived), the answer should be 'of course', and not "I'll have to go and check with someone". Also, having got our cushion and drinks some 15 minutes later, at no point did anyone return to see if we wanted another - after an hour we went hunting for staff.

That aside, it was excellent. Bar the lapse on the terrace, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and found the front desk staff and porter to be wonderful. Our particular compliments go to the chef for possibly the best meal we have ever had. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel - it is worth it to be in the centre of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Our room was lovely, beautiful Clarins products in the bathrooms and well air-conditioned.
The HIGHLIGHT however was the FOOD!!! Philippe Etchebest a 2 star Michelin chef cooked for us and it was MAGNIFICENT.
The food was original, yet tasty and visually just AMAZING.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. As other reviews have mentioned, is a great location within St Emilion, which itself is a lovely little town.

We were staying in a “Village Side Queen Room”, which had great views over the town (the hotel seems to be one of the highest points in the town). Room was stylishly decorated in my opinion. Arguably not that large, though the bathroom was good quality.

Staff were consistently helpful, and e.g. helped organise private tours round some of the wineries, which made a big difference to our trip (in St Emilion you nearly always need to book visits/tastings, you cannot just turn up).

Ate in the restaurant once. Obviously very subjective, but we were disappointed given high expectations that the 2 stars and steep cost brought. Nothing bad, but not as inventive as many other French places we’ve been. Also, we went for the full 6 course “Tasting menu” – in hindsight this was a mistake, as most courses looked less tasty/interesting than the a la carte options we saw around us – and cost much more. For instance, our main meat course was essentially pasta and chicken in sauce – maybe best example of this I’ve ever tasted, but nothing challenging or unusual really – especially when there were some glorious looking cuts of meat being served nearby.

We didn’t have breakfast so cannot comment on its quality – at E28 per person per day, we were happy to step out to any of the multitude of nearby cafes for a cheaper option.

Reason for 4 stars is the air-conditioning in the hotel was broken 3 out of 4 nights. It was too hot to sleep without opening windows, and too noisy to sleep with the windows open… Staff were apologetic, and we did get a discount, but I don’t think this is good enough for a hotel claiming to be this calibre – or price. No offer to switch to a cooler room, or a more generous response, which just meant we slept badly. This soured what was otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The second night of a 10 day trip in France, found us in Saint Emillion. This hotel is centrally located, not overly easy to find, we stumbled on it rather than navigated our way to it. Next to the church in a small square surrounded by wine shops. Our room was in the main house, it was a good size with a great bathroom, big bath and towels, extremely well equipped with a few nice touches. It also had a fabulous balcony over looking the vine yards.

The main purpose for the stay was of course dinner in the restaurant, we did have the fish appetiser, beautifully presented in hanging glass jars (but they were extra !) followed by the multi course taster menu with wines. I asked for all sign of sweetbreads to be removed, which they did with no fuss at all. The meal, as you would expect was wonderful, the dessert trolley wheeled around with the colourful lollies, so simply but made me feel like we had entered the set of Willy Wonker. The infusions trolley was another first. We were also impressed that the 2 star Michelin chef, Phillipe Etchebest took the time to visit all the tables in the restaurant, chatting very casually to his guests. He happily described a method of cooking potatoes to my husband !. As the evening ended we were presented with a little bag of cakes and a quality copy of the menu as a memento, another nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The property lived up to and exceeded expectations. Rooms are high quality finish, bathroom was exceptional. I usually take notice of the quality of the rooms finishing, furniture, etc and our room easily deserves a 5 star rating in all regards.

Air conditioning worked perfectly and was not noisy or obtrusive in any way. I always appreciate when you can cool a room on a warm day/evening and not be kept awake with a noisy air con unit.

The lobby area is quaint and provides the right level of experience for a small and exquisite property like this. The bar area also has a wonderful outdoor deck to enjoy lunch or drinks. Great to relax there after a day of touring.

Staff were attentive and helped us schedule two wine tours, both very enjoyable as well as restaurant reservations. Sadly, we were there on the two days that their Michelin starred restaurant was closed. But we had a fine and memorable meal at Restaurant Le Tertre just a few minutes walk from the front door of the hotel.

Location is perfect. Self parking could be better but provides easy access.

I would easily stay at this property again. A perfect 5 star 'boutique' experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Decided to stay for one night to round off a great week in the region - and when we booked decided to opt for dinner
While the dinner lived up to the restaurant's reputation - we opted for the 4 course "Discovery" menu with an extra cheese course and recommended wines with each course, we had a couple of gripes given the expected high standards
Firstly we were repeatedly assured that the courses would be small and given a fairly hard sell on a seafood appetiser which we subsequently realised was not part of the menu
The final course after our cheese was a huge slab of chocolate tort which we thought strange and a little inattentive to our situation
The other small gripe was that on leaving we were handed our car keys and told that our car was parked around the corner - the staff then watched us leave dragging two large suitcases, an airline roll-on size case and carrying a bag and a rucksack off in search of our car
Overall though a fine hotel not cheap at c. €900 for one night plus meal but you pays your money etc etc

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Plaisance

Address: Place du Clocher, Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostellerie de Plaisance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De Plaisance Hotel Saint-Emilion
Hostellerie De Plaisance Saint Emilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie de Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.