We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon Villemaurine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Emilion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pavillon Villemaurine
Save
You added Le Pavillon Villemaurine to your Saves list
Villemaurine, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautiful setting for this classy boutique hotel - free wine is a bonus! Nikki and Julian are great hosts arranging wine tours, taxis and restaurant bookings and recommendations onto Bordeaux. I stayed with three friends and whilst we had a smaller room it was still luxurious and plentiful, while their larger double at the front was sumptuous. Overall a fantastic stay and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Le Pavillion as it is know locally was the perfect place for us to conclude our 10 days in France. After. big cities and big castles we fell in love with the tiny village of Saint-Emilion named after a 7th century, cave-dwelling monk.

It's a bit hard to classify Le Pavillion -yes it is small, 5 rooms, and yes they offer a nice French breakfast but they are much more than a small Inn or B&B as the owners, Julian and Nikki make you feel more like family. They are two Australians who came to the area 12 months ago for a 6-month stay and never left. They have certainly found their true calling and run a clean, comfy deluxe place that they bought and remodeled some years ago.

Our room, Cardinal, was on the 2nd floor (1st to the French) as are most rooms. The room was quite large with lots on light from two 6 foot high windows that can we opened to let in the fresh air. The bathroom was large with a modern rain shower. The inn is surrounded on three sides by a small vineyard which made for a nice view. There are also vineyards across the street stretching off into the distance. Despite this idillic setting, the small town of Saint-Emilion is only a two minute (or less) walk away and there are many great restaurants all within 10 minutes so even without a car you can easily take full advantage of the small town.

As for their hospitality either Nikki or Julian are around most of the day with ideas for sight seeing or wine tasting (they owned a local vineyard for a while so know their stuff) and are happy to recommend restaurants and set up reservation. As they are native English speakers their are no language issues what so ever.

In the afternoon, there is always coffee, tea, water snacks and an open bottle if local wine and you can just help yourself,

This is a really great find and so much more peaceful to stay just outside of bustling Saint-Emilion.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved this place from the moment we arrived. Nikki and Julian were fantastic hosts, so welcoming and thoughtful. Nikki made reservations for us in town at a couple of great restaurants and Julian made sure we had ample opportunity to taste wine from their own vineyard. We stayed in the Guadet room on the floor, a large comfortable room with everything we needed for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Great breakfast, off road parking, an easy walk into the beautiful town of St. Emilion.. Did I miss anything out.. We couldn't have asked for more.. Thank you guys.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I highly recommend this lovely B & B. We stayed in the Soutard Suite for 3 nights. The property was updated with quality modern materials and has a tasteful decor. Nikki & Julian are so attentive making fantastic recommendations & reservations for us. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

One of the best places we've EVER stayed. As a previous reviewer noted, don't be deceived by the main picture and think that the accommodations are outside of town. You are steps away from everything St. Emilion has to offer. The rooms are very large and look practically new. Also, this may be the cleanest place I've ever stayed.

Nikki and Julian are wonderful hosts. They are fluent in both English and French. Their restaurant recommendations were just incredible and they also reserved a very nice winery tour for us that was all of 100 yards away. One hint, Nikki and Julian have some connections in town, so before you spend a ton on wine, check with them first. They might be able to get you a discount with a local dealer.

Again, I can't say enough nice things about this place. Six Stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Neat, intimate and perfectly furnished bed and breakfast about two minutes walk from the intriguing medieval town of Saint Emilion. Pictures show the building within the centre of a vineyard though this is merely an edging on one side. Hosts are a lovely couple who warmly welcome guests with details of the town, where to eat (we were booked in to dinner by the owners before we arrived) and what to do. Our arrival was upset by the closure of the road due to a festival and the GPS spat the dummy, followed by the driver. One phone call and we were there. The room upstairs was beautiful - big, excellent fittings, large bathroom with shower and bath and views to the town - and lounge and dining area downstairs with a bottle or two of wine for evening tastings. Breakfast was equally as impressive with fruit, cereals, toast, pastries, coffee and juice. Loved the accommodation, the owners, the town and the townsfolk. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Le Pavillon Villemaurine and I have to say what everyone else says. The place is wonderful and the owners, Nikki and Julian, are terrific hosts. They are a wealth of knowledge about the area and were happy to point us in the right direction to make the most out of our stay. The room was spacious and quiet, the breakfast very complete. In my opinion, you only need a day to see St. Emilion, but there is plenty to see in the surrounding areas and this villa is a great launch for day trips to outlying areas as well as a quick walk to the center of St. Emilion. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pavillon Villemaurine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Villemaurine

Address: Villemaurine, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Villemaurine is perfectly situated in the centre of Saint Emilion and surrounded by vineyards and with a garden & terrace overlooking the vines, where guests can relax. The elegant rooms/suites all have supremely comfortable superking V-sprung beds, with marble or travertine showers and/or cast iron claw foot baths. All have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, flat screen cable tv, nespresso machines & ipod docks. Breakfasts are excellent and generous - Fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cheese, ham, smoked salmon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon Villemaurine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.