We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Villemaurine

Chateau Villemaurine
Lieu dit Villemaurine, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
33 (0)5 57 74 47 30
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Mountain View, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited the Chateau a few weeks back. The tour here is amazing...beautiful caves and a pretty good tour overall. We didn't care for the wine here but its a must visit in Saint-Emillion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Found and booked this online and it would have been better if we didn't then have to collect the tickets from the St Emilion tourist office.

There are separate tours in both French and English, this review covers the English tour.

The tour provided us with an excellent view of how their wine was grown and produced together with a fascinating history of St Emilion itself. I'm not sure exactly what I expected but I certainly didn't expect the overall effort that was made to educate and entertain us.

My wife is partially disabled and walks with a stick. She found that although we were walking through old limestone workings, the whole tour was readily accessible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Underground marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited this winery and did the tasting and tour. It was impressive. The underground labyrinth of tunnels and quarries under the vineyard was fascinating. The history given by the chateau was extremely well done and informative. The whole St Emilion history is remarkable and the light and sound show below ground was a ten out of ten. Our guide Karine Hue was delightful and charming. One tip though, rug up as the temperature in the underground area was around 12 degrees C.
We tasted a couple of wines and browsed through a range of wine paraphernalia in the showroom. One of the wines was a 2010 grand cru classic, which would be excellent with cheese or a bbq. The whole experience was Interesting and very relaxing and a nice French treat. Well worth a visit and professionally done.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Touristy but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were looking for a way to see the underground mines in Saint-Emilion without going for a full-fledged tour and/or see many vineyards. We were thus pleasantly surprised to have the opportunity to go for a Saint-Emilion wine tasting that included a visit of the vineyard then an underground multimedia video in the old mines. Our guide was excellent and told us a lot about wine making and walking underground was eery and fun. The multimedia experience was a bit anachronistic and simple but one must not forget that there is very little to see in an undergound mine other than, you guessed it, rocks and tunnels! So all in all, it was good value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great wine tasting tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a really enjoyable and very informative wine tour with a charming lady called Stacie whose English was incredible. There is a great deal to learn not just about the chateau but the wine making and the lovely town of St Emilion and the tour is well worth it. The wine is very good too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Villemaurine also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to Chateau Villemaurine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Villemaurine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.