We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off going somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antre Deux Verres

L'Antre Deux Verres
1 Bis Rue Porte Ste Marie, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Saint-Emilion
Restaurant details
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better off going somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The setting is really cool and the view is nice, maybe this is a place worth stopping at just for the view, but I'd never go again. Here are the pros: the view and setting, the service, and our first courses - my boyfriend had a squash soup that was quite good and I had a salmon carpaccio that was great. The cons: the menu we took was 18 euros each without a glass of wine that will run you about 7 or 8 euros (expensive for this type of restaurant in France), the first courses were good, but out main course - the plat du jour - was awful. It was a lamb stew that sounded pretty good and we both were prepared for something rustic but what we got was clearly the worst, gristly and fatty chunks of meat in what felt like canned beans and with a soggy salad on top, truly a disappointment. The cheese plate at the end of the meal was also one of the worst I have had in France. I'd look elsewhere or self-cater next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    14
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A little different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Different in a good way. The location is quirky, with the restaurant carved out of rock. It was a Wine Cave in a former life. But the food is the real winner here. The menu doesn't surprise but the meal does when it arrives. Everything done with a slightly new or different twist, not one of the four in our group did not rave about what we ate. And we had the good fortune to be last in the restaurant and to be regaled by Steph and Remy whilst enjoying another bottle of wine, which was also excellent value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Too much salt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I were looking forward to our meal - we hadn't eaten anything since breakfast. We chose this place for the nice chilled atmosphere - but the food didn't live up to our expectations. The starters and desert were ok - but the mains (I had steak - she had duck) were over seasoned. The chips were so salty - we couldn't eat them - and my steak probably had too much pepper. Such a shame because the waiter was so nice it could have been such a lovely place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good food but wine a bit too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This restaurant, which is literally carved out of a stone in beautiful St Emilion, offers real value for money. I and my wife went for the set menu options, one at 18 and the other at 25 Euros. The entree was simple but fresh and the meat main courses were really outstanding and so were the desserts. We went for a bottle of Chateau Landereau which I found a bit on the expensive side (25 euros for a bottle one can find in store for maximum 7). The service was good and the waiters were very friendly. San Pellegrino at 5 euros a bottle was not a surprise in France.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly & passionate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The place was quiet when I went in. The food is surprisingly good. The steak was cooked perfect. Great value on the wine with lots of choices. I enjoyed the company of the staffs and the ambience.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antre Deux Verres also viewed

Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
Saint-Emilion, Gironde
 

Been to L'Antre Deux Verres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antre Deux Verres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.