We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Petite Madeleine to your Saves list
La Petite Madeleine
6, lieu dit Saint Jean de Beard | Saint Laurent des Combes, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€10 DISCOUNT PER NIGHT
Ranked #6 of 20 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We as a couple stayed in this lovely bed and breakfast for two nights. Thor and Veronique were friendly helpful hosts. They gave us information on the area and the town of St.Emilion. We had a lovely bike ride through the vineyards and stunning scenery everywhere around us .St. Emilion is well worth a visit, lovely resturants and wines. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs with suitcases , ask for a ground floor room on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Absolutely stunning place surrounded by acres and acres of vineyards. Stayed for 2 nights and the rooms are stunning very modern. Great hosts who cooked a stunning 3 course meal for us and breakfast also lovely. While we were there we visited a local vineyard and went to the beautiful saint Emilion. Bikes were available and we walked to saint Emilion but was quite a walk in the heat a car would be helpful. Stunning place and very relaxing. An excellent hidden away gem:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at Petit Madeleine last week on our way south and wished we had booked and stayed longer; what a beautiful location, stunning rooms and fabulous hosts Veronique and Thor. We couldn't have asked for more, the food Thor cooked for dinner was mouthwatering and we would definitely recommend trying it during your stay. We have promised ourselves we will be back for a longer stay in this area and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in May. 4 The owners were lovely and provided us with info about the area and helped us book wine tours throughout Saint Emilion. We chose to eat at the house during our first evening and the food was delicious! The house sits just in-front of a local vineyard and the view is spectacular. I highly recommend La Petite Madeline for a relaxing, local experience in the Saint Emilion area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMadeleine, Propriétaire at La Petite Madeleine, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you. We hope that everything went well for your wedding day and that your family enjoyed the french experience. Véronique & Thor Inge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful farmhouse surrounded by vineyards for 4 nights. The rooms, breakfasts, dinners and company were all superb. Extraordinarily friendly and generous hosts. Couldn't recommend it higher!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband, 11month old, brother-in-law, sister-in-law and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 3 nights 2 wks ago. I'm truly in shock at the negative reviews. First, Veronique and Thor were absolutely wonderful hosts. They exemplified hospitality in EVERY way. They allowed us to prepare our dinner in their kitchen and encouraged us to make ourselves at home by also using the shared living room (shared by guests, not by the family--unlike the experience of previous reviews). Veronique and Thor were graciously accommodating, but not over the top and nosy. We also had one of Thor's fabulous dinners! This dinner was one of the best dinners we've ever had in France (and we've been to France about 5 different times)! We only wish were able to have his dinners every night!
Yes, the breakfast was primarily pastries and cereal. Hello, it's Europe, and since we now live in Europe I can confidently say that MOST B&Bs do not offer American style breakfasts. Enjoy it, it's part of the charm of Europe.
If you're hesitant to book based on negative reviews (admittedly like I was), I would encourage you to stay here because it was a wonderful experience and you're sure to enjoy your stay!
Oh, and ask for a room with a view of the vineyards....the best!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and have one (or more) of Thor's dinners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Veronique and Thor are wonderful hosts. From the moment we started communicating with them via email to the day we left their beautiful home, they were very attentive and took care of our every need.
The B&B is absolutely beautiful. All the rooms are tastefully done up. Thor is an excellent chef so it's definitely worth having dinner in the house on one night. For breakfast, you get a selection of breads with a variety of tasty homemade jams.
The property is a 10 minute bike ride from the main village and Thor provided us with complimentary bikes to explore the country side.
We had a lovely time sitting in the courtyard every evening, drinking the local wine and talking to the other guests.
Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the vineyards. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Petite Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Madeleine

Address: 6, lieu dit Saint Jean de Beard | Saint Laurent des Combes, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Madeleine is an old wine farm which we have renovated.It is located in the heart of the Saint Emilion vineyards, 3.5km from the village of Saint Emilion.We have 5 comfortable bedrooms (good beds) with ensuite bathrooms (shower + sink + WC).We also propose the Table d'hote which is a home made cooked dinner on the spot. Good opportunity to taste good food and to share with other guests and the hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Petite Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.