We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much hyped hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Hotel President
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
27, Police Lines Road, Jalandhar 144001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Jalandhar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Much hyped hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the much hyped hotel in jalandhar.I personally didnt stayed but made arrangement for my 10 guest in this hotel,they all gave ok feedback on this but when you compare it with Hotel M just next to it you will know the difference.Hotel M( Half of my guest were in Hotle M1) offer better & bigger rooms(go & check yourself) & service in good rates as compared to president hotel. Point is you can get better facility in the same price band in other hotle as compared to President. Food was good.

Room Tip: Please check availabilty of room in Hotel M1 if you get there book there than to stay in President...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
4
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vrindavan, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good business hotel with attentive personnel and tasty food in restaurant on the first floor. It is quite expensive one but people like it. Once while I was there a TV guys came to film the hotel. It speaks by itself. Minus: if we take any hotel of such class in the West, you will never find anything like shabby walls in public WC in the hotel premises - but this is India.

Room Tip: Just tell what do you prefer and they help you to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel reminds me of the Phil Collins lyric, "Look at me now. I'm just an empty space."

The Hotel President New Court has the outward appearance of at least a four-star hotel. Yet right until check-out, I had decided to rate it just two stars. I raised that to three stars when I realized how little my hosts were paying for the room. The experience is roughly equivalent to what I receive at a 3-star property elsewhere in India, as is the price.

There is no shortage of labor. A virtual army keeps the place nearly spotless. However, the performance of that labor was subpar during my stay. The bellman (concierge) who took me to my room, even upon request, failed to show me all the lighting controls, and later, I was not able to turn off one set of lights at bedtime. The night operator did not understand the English word "wake-up call." After I explained in Hindi what I wanted, the morning staff placed the call 20 minutes after the requested time. The housekeeping staff delivered a morning paper in a language I could not understand (I resisted the temptation to trade for the Times of India sitting outside a nearby room). As I was leaving, the man asked whether I was checking out. When I said yes, instead of offering to carry my bags, he asked for my key. At the lift, I had to maneuver around two large bags of dirty linens that the staff had placed in front of the lift.

The facilities appear excellent upon first glance, but problems show up gradually. There was no razor or toothbrush in my room. The elevator (lift) comes slowly. One of the light switches, as noted, is not in view. The arrangement of the room is at times inconvenient. For example, the dustbin is placed in a corner far away from the bed and desk.

When it comes to food, I was disappointed. The hotel served a buffet of snacks during the evening event I attended, and I ate breakfast there. The snacks were average. In the morning, my aloo parantha were exactly to my taste (almost no chili/mirchi), but the selection on offer was pitiful. There was a large stain on the tablecloth where I sat.

Bottom line, you can rest comfortably and enjoy reasonable value for money at this property. Just don't expect the experience to live up to the looks of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We reached the quite late in the evening and had a quick check-in. They rustled up a good meal as well for us and the Scotland Bar was a good place to have a drink.
The rooms are not very large but clean and reasonable comfortable. We just spent the night there enroute to Patnitop, so we did not check out any of the other facilities.
Breakfast was adequate and check-out fast.
The Hotel is also conveniently located just off the main road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good value for money, worth staying............ Food and Bar are outstanding, spent almost every evening in the scotland bar.... gives u cozy and private feeling. Room are renovated like auto card locks and new mattreses in all rooms even makes it better.
Food u can rate it as no one in the town.... over all makes it nice holidays .
During my course i have also seen them giving some good offers for corporate clients..Staff is supportive and helpful all the time. will give 5 out of 5

Room Tip: ask for room no 206-212 will give u a road side view, makes it more lively
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located in Jalandhar
Room sizes ok, but rooms are dated. Was informed that bathrooms will be rennovated with the old bathtubs being replaced by more practical shower cabins.
Hotel staff is courteous.
Surprising that Breakfast buffet was not ready at 8.30 am

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

we booked this hotel for meeting purpose and here my client was stayed 3-4 days. this hotel has very good services and cooperative staff. service is very fast and having cleans and delicious food some costly but good. having big bar and we enjoyed here pool also.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: 27, Police Lines Road, Jalandhar 144001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Jalandhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Jalandhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.