We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$3 sharing fee?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Devaney's Riverside Grill Incorporated

Devaney's Riverside Grill Incorporated
9347 Stickle Rd, Weedsport, NY 13166-8591
315-834-6352
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Weedsport
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“$3 sharing fee?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Saw this on the menu made a lot of sense once we received our meals... HUGE chicken tenders more like chicken breasts.. you get 5 full chicken breasts plus your side. Ridiculous. Lasagna was a full 5-10 lbs major quantity over quality.. find somewhere else to eat. You can thank me later

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food accurately prepared, generous...atmosphere not for all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I would be happy to dine here again. The broiled haddock was very good. A very fresh club sandwich came with four stacks -- two whole large sandwiches each cut in half. The cajun shrim pasta was spot on. The salad bar was pedestrian in its offerings, though there was an excellent homemade soup. All lights in the center of the dining room were off. Not low, but off. There was an artificial fireplace that also was turned off, but the room certainly could have used any heat it gave off. The dining room is cheerful with lots of fish themed decor. To enter the restaurant, patrons must pass through a porch area that was being used for storage, and then through the bar which could be described as "unrefined." This didn't deter, but I could see how many patrons might be put off. If you can get through the initial appearance and the high-decibel bar crowd, you'll be satisfied and possibly impressed with the chef's skill. This was a cold-weather visit but it looks like there might be attractive waterfront dining in summer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love everything except.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I really like this place. We are boaters and have had great lunches there.Yes the wait has been long a couple of times but the food came out so good so we decided lets just enjoy the view while we wait for our food. No problems with servers. There is only one thing that I struggle with while eating here and that is they allow smoking in the area on the deck where you eat. A few times we have decided to dine in bville where they also have places on the water with decks but do not allow smoking on the deck. Cigarette and Cigar smoke make me sick and nothing can ruin a meal like having a awful smelling cigar or cigarette smoke drifting in your face. I also bring my grandchildren here and hate the fact they have smoke blowing in their face while they eat. I think the smokers need to be out on the lawn where the picnic tables are. One time I could hardly eat because a man was smoking at the table next to us so I had no choice but to move. But other than this I do love the place but hope they change this smoking policy and take the ashtrays off of the tables

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY State
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and I stopped by for dinner on a Tuesday evening in July.
The restaurant has ample parking. Entrance is directly into the bar area with river view dining to the right and a separate dining area to the left. On the right there are several 'high top' booths/tables directly adjacent to the bar area with river views and an outdoor deck for those that prefer to dine outside. The dining area on the left is a large dining room separate from the bar area.
Service was fast and friendly. Our waitress (Karrie) was friendly and efficient. We ordered Scallops Coquille and Fried Scallops with baked potatoes. The dinner included a salad bar with basic selections, chicken w/rice soup, and bread.
Both scallop dishes were served hot. The Scallops Coquille featured 8 sea scallops in a white cream sauce; the fried scallops had about 8-10 moderately coated sea scallops that were fried just right. The baked potatoes were fresh and hot. Salad was basically iceberg lettuce with limited toppings, soup was thick and hot with rice, carrots, and more broth than chicken, bread was fresh.
Overall, a very good experience. Price paid was about $45 with tax and tip.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedsport, New York
1 review
“great food in huge portions at a really good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

they give huge potions for what you pay. even thier appitiezers are intimidating. don't believe me, get thier loaded nachos. better yet. thier lasagna must weigh about 3 or 4 pounds. it's huge!! the service is great and the staff isn't afraid to strike up a conversation and talk to you, even on busy nights like most places. the atmosphere is great and in the summer, you can't beat eating outside on the deck or by the river and watching the boats go by. the place is beautiful inside and out.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devaney's Riverside Grill Incorporated also viewed

 
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
Weedsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Devaney's Riverside Grill Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devaney's Riverside Grill Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.