We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peanuts......Get your Peanuts here......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Five Guys
1075 Ridge Rd, Ste 100, Webster, NY 14580
585-872-0310
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 106 Restaurants in Webster
Restaurant details
Penfield, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Peanuts......Get your Peanuts here......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Free peanuts while waiting for your food. The burgers here are small for the price you pay. Maybe they charge more because of all the toppings you can get with your burger. The hots are ok. They have the best fries In town, and they give you enough of them on a small order to feed a family of 4, seriously. Free refills.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Decent burgers, but definitely not "the best burgers" in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Delicious burgers are a real passion of ours. If I'm not cooking burgers or steaks at home on the grill, it seems like we're always looking for a place that serves up really delicious, juicy burgers. So when we read all the reviews about Five Guys restaurants (some good reviews, and some not so good reviews), we knew that sooner or later we had to find out if Five Guys really lived up to all of the hype. We were shopping in Webster, NY, this afternoon and decided to stop by Five Guys restaurant for some burgers and french fries afterwards. The restaurant interior is nothing fancy, just your basic fast-food decor. The guy who took our order was friendly, helpful, and very enthusiastic. Your burger choices are either a single 1/4 lb. burger or a double 1/4 lb. burger, with or without cheese and toppings. So if you're looking for a really juicy, single 1/2 lb. burger, you'll have to look elsewhere. Bummer. They also serve up hot dogs, some sandwiches, and french fries. And all-you-can-eat peanuts. We were told the beef they serve is fresh, not frozen. The french fries are also fresh, not frozen, and presumably made in the restaurant from whole potatoes judging from the sacks of potatoes stacked on the floor. We ordered two double-1/4 lb. burgers, a small order of french fries, and beverages. Having read reviews on this website and elsewhere that warned of folks being served dried-out "burger pucks" at Five Guys, I told the guy who took our order that we wanted our burgers cooked "medium", and not dried-out. The counter guy said they'd do the best they could with that request. We also requested our french fries be cooked extra-crispy. (Evidently there was no problem with that request.) Our food was ready in roughly 15 - 20 minutes and was served up close to the way we requested it. The french fries were hot, very fresh, extra crispy, delicious, and plentiful. WARNING: Our "small order" of french fries contained more fries than two people can reasonably consume along with a double burger each. As delicious as the french fries were, we couldn't finish all of them. The burgers were served very hot but cooked closer to "medium-well" than "medium", but they were still juicy and tasty. Five Guys has a larger selection of fountain beverages than most restaurants offer. Service was fast, efficient, and very friendly. The food was good and moderately priced for what you got. Our total bill for two double burgers, a small order of fries, and two fountain drinks was $19.00, including tax. Does Five Guys have the best burgers that we've ever eaten? With all due respect to the good folks at Zagat, based on our visit today, I can honestly say, no. To their credit, I feel the folks at Five Guys restaurant in Webster really made an effort to cook our food as we requested. Are their burgers good? Based on our visit today, I can honestly say, yes, and certainly far better than what they serve up for burgers at Bill Gray's restaurants. Would Five Guys restaurants be our first choice next time for juicy, delicious burgers? Probably not, but judge their burgers for yourself. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hockey pucks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've been there onlt twice, and both times the burgers were overcooked hockey pucks - terrible. I won't be back. I will say the the fresh cut fires were great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love me the Five Guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best tasting Burger in town. All the toppings you could want come with it. Lots and Lots of fresh cut fries, not frozen (Large can feed a family of 4). Soda machine which dispense the most variety of anywhere in town. Then There's the peanuts. Yum. 80-20 Burgers beat 90-10 Burgers all day long. If you want something other tham Burgers or Dogs, go some place else. But if you are hankering for a delicious burger, this place wins hands down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Ny Area
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Greasy but cheap...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ok menu, but worse than other locations of this resturant, in this area.
Young employees were very in attentive both times that I came here...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

 
Webster, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.