We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Palace Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jade Palace Restaurant
602 Rdg Rd, Webster, NY 14580-2317
(585) 671-5400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 106 Restaurants in Webster
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Used to be much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I have not been to the Jade Palace in several years. We arrived at 1155am for lunch and were one of two couples in the dining room. This should have been our first clue that something was wrong. The dining room was very dimly lit making it difficult to read the menu. Service was friendly and good however food quality had greatly slipped since our last visit. The hot and sour soup was mediocre, the egg roll was soggy and the chicken was just OK. It was a very disappointing lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd Worst Chinese Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Jade Palace used to be good.. I used to go there when I worked in Webster, but they've slid way downhill. Met some friends for lunch yesterday and I will never return. Dining room was freezing cold, poor selection of veg dishes on lunch menu. I ordered off the dinner menu which at least had some tofu dishes, but it was so not worth it. The tofu and sauce was gummy and too sweet. My friends didn't like their food either. ps. the worst Chinese restaurant I've eaten at is in Lake George, NY. Jade Palace is the 2nd worst.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

You can get better Asian at a mall food court, but the worst thing about this place is the smell/atmosphere. The place reeks of old cigarette smoke, mildewed carpet with a slight oder of urine. Just really nasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Atmosphere was terrible, staff was inconsiderate, cleanliness was very lacking, food was cold and lacked the expected taste. I will never return there again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We used to eat here a fair amount, but with the explosion of other Asian restaurants in the area hadn't done so for quite some time. I had read a few of the less spectacular reviews so I was hesitant to give it a try again but I am glad that we did.

The food was fresh and plentiful and nobody was dissatisfied with the taste or food quality. I was impressed with the amount of beef in the spicy shredded beef dish, and their pork fried dumplings were better than many I've had lately. Not soggy at all even for being take out.

We fed 6 people (2 adults 4 children) for $60 and still had more than enough leftovers for lunch and more. So, I'd say good value for the money, and as opposed to what one reader wrote about their seafood dishes being terrible and making them sick, we got the Lucky Family and I guess we got lucky because it was good.

Didn't love their lo-mein but only because their noodles are a bit thicker and I tend to prefer mei fun style. The sauce was good. Spring rolls were good.

Would eat here again for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jade Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Palace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.