We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem nestled in the dunes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Viuda del Diablo

Save Saved
You added La Viuda del Diablo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Viuda del Diablo
Playa de la Viuda, Punta del Diablo 27204, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A gem nestled in the dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

This place looked good in photos, and we never thought it would live up to them. We were thrilled upon arrival, getting the top room-apparently the only one that isn't built in concrete, looking out over the dunes and the atlantic coast while enjoying a cozy bath in the private jaccuzzi.
A nice touch was the fire lit every night where you could watch the stars and see the milky way (a nice touch for city people from the northern hemisphere). The staff was really great, however only one guy spoke english- that didn't mean that they didn't try. They made a killer basil-daiquiri! Their attire consisted of a t-shirt and shorts, making this place feel like a very unpretentious luxury hotel, just what we wanted.
A plus was the beach-bar and included beach chairs with parasol, right by the water

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My review really coincides with Parkalcot above. Lovely people, and nice rooms, but cleaning was lacking throughout the stay. On arrival the bath tub was still full from the previous visitors, which they quickly solutioned, but left all the hair lying in the bath.

Food for breakfast was poor for the price, processed ham and cheese and fruit from a tin. Would have been nice to have some differences and some fresh fruit. Dinner was nice and different from the usual fare in town but overpriced for what it was, especially when their was no proper chef. On that note we stayed 5 nights and I think we were the only ones to ate there...

Views were beautiful and beach was lovely and relaxing. Rooms were spacious and the jacuzzi (when cleaned) was a nice touch.

With regards to the town, I think it had probably been a lot better some years ago. Seems as though a real estate boom is starting up.. bringing in lots of tourists like me :) not so secluded anymore.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

great location in walking distance from town right on a beatiful beach- beware though if you have small children as this beach has a steep drop off and can be rough.

the rooms are minimally furnished and have a slightly odd concrete bathroom arrangement, they do however also feature a large corner spa bath.

punta del diablo is a gem but get here quick as it is no longer off the beaten track and the developers have arrived

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

On this year's trip to Uruguay we explored the Rocha area at length. We felt fortunate to truly have time to thoroughly explore this magnificent country. Gorgeous areas, ranches, wonderful people, superb food and wines....

Folks have said a great deal about the exceptional and more familiar places such as PDE, Igancio, etc. but I do want to encourage you to visit a MUST location and that is Punta del Diablo. As most know, resorts such as the Sheraton Colonia, the Four Seasons in Carmelo and the Mantra or L'Auberge in PDE are quite scarce once you get outside of those areas and into the Rocha department.

We were blessed to find a magnificent place in Punta del Diablo called La Viuda del Diablo and we recommend it highly. We booked hoping that what we saw on the web was for real because in comparison to a lot of other places in a lot of other towns it seemed amazing.

The hotel/restaurant and bar is located on the La Viuda beach which is removed from the main part of town and closer to beautiful homes that are being built by wealthy Argentines and Brazilians. The beach is virgin, wild, spectacular, unpopulated with 20 feet dunes right outside your hotel room window. Unbelievable.

The hotel consists of nine rooms that have been elegantly done. Great king beds, beautiful bedding, huge spa in the room and floor to length windows and doors to bring in the magnificent location. There is a restaurant and bar that should be given a 5 star designation. Unbelievable food and drinks. The staff is superb and caters to your every whim - they function as a team/family.

This place is the creation of Osvaldo Muratorio who is an Argentine interior designer and hotelier. He knows how to run this intimate and first class establishment. Osvaldo is also the manager of the Esturion Hotel in Punta Del Este as well as a place in Bariloche. He is such a great guy. You can reach La Viuda on www.laviudadeldiablo.com and e-mail info@laviudadeldiablo.com.

If you want a first class experience that is romantic, relaxing and comfortable in one of the most pristine and wild locations....this is for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights. its OK< but i wouldnt go back, and its overpriced. breakfast is included with the US$150/night price we payed, the coffee was great, you get toast, ham cheeses, jam, butter, and some fresh fruit and juice. very decent, but its the same every day. the rooms are pretty nice, there are only 9 of the, we had a ground floor room. less privacy, but more space. the hotel is in the dunes, whihc is nice, but all the cars park right in front of it so you look over them to the sea, which is not so nice when youre trying to get away. its about a 10min walk to town, over the dunes and down the road, not too bad. we had dinner there one night which was BAD. undercooked pasta and too expensive. the hosts were pretty nice, but its run by all guys and could definitely use a woman's touch. one day they didnt clean our room because we didnt leave the key -- not OK at that price given the area. but no kidding, bring a flyswatter, they are everywhere and will drive you crazy. we would kill about 20 a day to stay sane, and always had a pre bed fly killing spree so that we could sleep without buzzing in our ears

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Viuda del Diablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Viuda del Diablo

Address: Playa de la Viuda, Punta del Diablo 27204, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Punta del Diablo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Punta del Diablo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA VIUDA DEL DIABLO IS LOCATED AT THE VIRGEN BEACH CALLED LA VIUDA, SURROUNDED BY DUNAS AND A FEW MINUTES WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE NICE FISHER´S MAN LITTLE TOWN AND OF “ LA VIUDA’ LIGHT HOUSE .-ALL SUITES HAVE OCEAN VIEW AND FEATURES INCLUDE A GREAT JACUZZI, SHOWER, AIR CONDITIONING, SAFETY BOX ,MINIBARS , PREMIUM BED LINEN AND TOWELS, TOWELS FOR BEACH ,FREE COFFEE AND TEA FACILITIES AND PRIVATE BALCONY WITH CHAIRS AND TABLE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Viuda del Diablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Viuda del Diablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.