We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Amazonas to your Saves list
Posada Amazonas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We absolutely loved this lodge! It was just a completely amazing experience. You have to be ready for the heat, humidity and wildlife as that is what it is all about. Those who have complained about the lack of hot water, fans etc have no business visiting an eco lodge in the jungle.
Thanks to Jesus, our fabulous guide!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    113
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
97
205
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We were only here overnight, on our way to the fabulous Tambopata Research Centre, so just a short review. You wouldn't be here at all if you didn't want to see the wildlife of the Amazon region, so it cannot be compared with a 'hotel'. Also I have no idea how much it cost as part of our tour, so gave 'average' for value.

Posada Amazonas was very nice and we started seeing macaws and parrots from the canopy tower. We turned down an opportunity to go to the oxbow lake very early in the morning. I was secretly relieved when those who went failed to see either giant river otter or harpy eagle, the two ‘key species’ for that outing.

Rooms are open to the jungle on one side and are good 'nature lodge' style, no problems.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I went with a group to this hotel a little while ago and I have to say that staying there has been one of the most interesting experiences of my life. The open-air aspect to the hotel allows in the sounds from the night, including interaction with some Amazonian wildlife if you're lucky (or stupid enough to leave food on your bed during the day, in which case the monkeys are said to come and steal it). Though the shower water is cold, the lobby gift shop full of goods made by indigenous peoples and the eco-friendly aspect of the hotel maintenance allows you a rich and full experience in the Amazon without a burdening sense of guilt of the typical cosmopolitan tourist. Additionally, the staff were genuinely friendly and served as wonderful guides throughout our stay, and we ended up playing soccer with them outside of their own residences. The canopy tower provided an incredible sunset view and the river was gorgeous and great for swimming and touring by boat.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Anyone travelling to a lodge deep in the Amazon should expect certain limitations but as long as you don't set your sights too high this is a unique experience and one not to be missed.

Our lodge was clean and surprisingly well-appointed and, despite being set in the jungle, was almost completely 'bug-free' - no spiders and just a couple of small bugs in the bathroom when we got up in the middle of the night. This may seem a minor point but I'm sure there are travellers who would be a little concerned about this aspect so they can be reassured that it is not a problem.
The rooms are lit by kerosene lamps which do not give off a lot of light and this is perhaps one area where improvement could be made. However, as there are very early starts in the mornings most travellers were in bed early anyway. The noise from the jungle at night, particularly from the howler monkeys, is an incredible experience and i loved it although, of course, it may not be to everyone's liking.

Meals were of quite good quality with a reasonable selection and we had no complaints.

Most travellers visiting this area do so to view the wildlife and, of course, being wild creatures nothing is guaranteed. You could see an abundance or very little, but the guides do try their best to make it an unforgettable experience for you. The boat trip on Tres Chimbodas Lake in particular is relaxing, very pleasant and most enjoyable with a good chance of seeing at least a selection of animals and birds, plus a try at fishing for piranhas which are plentiful but not so easy to catch !

Visiting Posada Amazonas is not a cheap option and if you have little interest in wildlife then it is probably not worth the effort or price. That said, for the wildlife enthusiast this is an experience that really should not be missed and you would be hard-pressed to find a better location or more comfortable accommodation in a jungle setting. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

When I first arrived and went on a hike through the jungle, I thought that a 3-night stay would be too long. But it was just right! You need 3 dawns to see the really good stuff. I took my cool showers before dinner, and it was nice to clean off and cool off and put on clean, almost dry clothes. My husband took his showers right before bed and they were a little uncomfortable. I can't understand those who complained of cold showers before dawn: why wouldn't you want to wash off the insect repellant and mud before bed? So I didn't mind not having hot water.

Be sure to take nylon safari clothes, such as Royal Robbins. They are very comfortable to put on wet in the early morning and will dry some as you wear them. They are comfortable in the rain, too. Do not take cotton clothes if you can avoid it, as they will not dry at all while you are there. I wore my cotton clothes after my shower for dinner. There isn't much to do after dinner, and you have to get up at 4:00, so it was early to bed.

Our guide, Silverio, was wonderful. He is an enthusiastic bird watcher and taught us a lot. My husband and I and my sister and her husband had him all to ourselves. He woke us up before dawn, joined us for all our meals, and led us on our excursions. He loves travelers who want to learn. His English is almost as good as a native speaker.

I grew weary of the poor lighting in the rooms before bed, but other than that I did not mind not having electricity. There is a place in the dining room/bar to charge your camera, computer, etc. Our guide let me use his computer one afternoon so that I could get on the internet and check e-mail. It was very hot and humid, but we did okay. I felt a little self-righteous going without the little comforts.

This is no place for honeymoons! It is too hot to even sleep in the same bed (our room had a twin and a double bed.) There is no privacy at all. You can hear through the walls, especially in the bathroom.

I loved the open-air room. It was fun sleeping under the mosquito net. I took my book, book light, and watch inside the netting so I wouldn't have to find anything outside the netting in the extreme darkness. Be sure to bring a headlamp.

The hikes to and from the boats, carrying your hand luggage, are difficult, slippery, and there are no handrails. This is not a great place to visit if you are not fairly physically fit. You really wouldn't want to get hurt or sick in this remote area, at least 1.5 hours from the nearest town.

The food was fine. The bar was fun. This is not a luxury resort. But it's a wonderful, unforgettable experience and I'm so glad that I went.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were travelling in a tour designed for small grps & were combined to make a bigger grp here. This would have been ok, certainly would have preferred not to, but that's how they do it here. Any sightings are best with few people and in fact our best experiences were when we were able to separate ourselves - & this was difficult as its a big place with a very set routine of activities to keep guests busy.
We didn't really see much for what we were hoping to see for a visit to the Amazon Jungle - it was really only temperate forest. We saw no macaws - would have been much better to go to the viewing hut very early in the morning. We saw a couple of monkeys. On the lake tour we saw otters in the distance - but you really needed your own set of binoculars to see & therefore appreciate.
The hotel itself was quaint and unique with 3 walls, no electricity, oil lamps, NO hot water, mosquito nets etc - you just hope you dont get put next to noisy neighbours & beware that although your first morning is early (4am) - the next morning when you think you can sleep in to 6am - think again as the next tour grp is off for their otter spotting 4am start & you can hear EVERYTHING. Then the housekeeping comes in and cleans as soon as that group has left!!!
This is a very manufactured & minimal jungle experience.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

What an amazing place to stay. Rooms were great. Only 3 walls, one open to the jungle. Beds were comfy and the hammocks even more so. Flushing toilet and a nice cold shower.
Staff were great and helpful and the guides were excellant.
Food was good quality with fresh food and even a bar for drinks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.