We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Amazonas to your Saves list
Posada Amazonas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently spent 4 days in the lodge and we absolutely loved it (apart from the bites, be careful not only in the jungle but also when you use the bathroom or when you're in the shower ).
Our guide Armando was very good and very knowledgeable. We got to see many wildlife during our hike with him. I thought drinks were going to be expensive, considering the lodge bar would be the only option but they were cheap (3.5 soles for soft drinks and 15 soles for cocktails or 660ml beer) . You get free mineral water during your stay which you can refill if you have empty bottles.

Overall it was an amazing experience.

p.s If you're from the UK, contact Infinity Tours. We got a very good deal from them for our Peru Tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Indeed, insects can be disturbing sometimes in the rainforest so it’s always recommended to bring enough repellent that you can also buy in our office in Puerto Maldonado or in the lodges. Also, if you visit the shaman’s botanical garden during your stay in Posada Amazonas, you can learn about the natural repellent plants used by the native people in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    113
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
97
205
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I just returned today from Posada Amazonas, our guide Luis was great. Luis really loves his job and was very knowledgable about the rainforest. Food was great and room really is like the picture! This lodge is for someone who wants a little of nature.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our stay at Posada Amazonas was amazing. We didn't know what to expect and was kind of skeptical about the whole trip, but our tour guys, Ruben, and Jeff were very knowledgeable. The accommodation was far beyond our expectation. I had seen the picture of the room online, but I didn't think that it would the same as the picture - I was wrong. Ruben and Jeff kept busy with hikes and photo shoots. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. And the foods were so fresh and tasty. It was such a wonderful experience for both my husband and I.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are really glad you liked your special photo tour with Jeff and Ruben in the Tambopata Reserve. The reserve has a good quantity of Amazonian wildlife to take pictures of. Our photo tour provides a good frame for this activity. Please also share some of your best shots in our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed as part of a tour so can't comment on price. But our stay was great, the rooms are huge and seriously eco-luxury. Mosquito nets kept us bite free all night and waking up in the morning to the calls of spider monkeys was one of the highlights of South America for us. Food was delicious and plentiful. Free bananas right off the hanging bunch. All the activities were great, the hikes were teeming with wildlife. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys nature at its best (and most comfortable)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Awesome four days! Our guide, Willian, was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. Not knowing what to expect before we arrived I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the accommodations were. Willian kept us busy with awesome nature hikes, visits to a local farm, a shaman and an early morning catamaran ride in search of giant river otters and fishing for piranhas. The food was great. All in all it was a great start to an amazing trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After spending a week in the Galapagos Islands on a great boat, followed by Machu Picchu and the Inca Trail, I thought that this part of my trip to the Rainforest Lodge aka Posada Amazonas could not match the excitement and general awe I experienced earlier. Boy, was I wrong! My wife and I were met at the airport by one of their staff, promptly transported to their offices nearby for instructions and direction and then taken by bus to the waiting boat for our ride to the lodge,

Our first impression was the attention to detail and environmental sensitivity of the entire buildings and support areas. We upgraded to one of the rooms that had a locking door and a bit more space than some of the other rooms. The upgraded rooms also have electricity provided through most of the day for battery charging etc. This convenience alone is worth the very small increase in price for the upgrade.

We were introduced to our guide who was responsible for ten guests. We were offered a light snack and then off for our first hike!! Unbelievable is the best I can come up with when you see animals that don't exist anywhere else on earth, flocks of parrots, groups of monkeys of all types. My words are not sufficient so you must experience this to understand our awe.

Every guide we met was courteous, well-trained and spoke numerous languages. They were punctual and exhibited great amounts of patience with children, adults and older guests who were very much young at heart.

Breakfast, lunch and dinners are served in a beautiful building replete with seating areas, a wet bar and wireless access (in the Amazon no less!!). Food is prepared from local vegetables, fish and chicken. All of the food was wonderful and plentiful.

You can read the itinerary on the Posada Amazonas website, so I will not repeat what you can read on your own time. Suffice it to say, it was a busy and moderately physical two and a half days that would be difficult to beat just about anywhere.

Waking up to the loud screams of howler monkeys and hundreds of birds is a delight. How anyone could review this with anything less than five stars is beyond me. I am hard to impress as I have now traveled to over 100 countries on every continent save Antarctica (which is next), and the ending to this trip after the Galapagos and Machu Picchu was a wonderful surprise and a life experience that everyone should enjoy. Your dollar goes to the community of local tribes that built and support this lodge. Environmental projects such as this assist in keeping the Amazon available to everyone to enjoy. Money well spent.

Room Tip: Be sure to get the upgraded room for a small charge. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On our first day we had arrived late so we had a guide named Michael who was excellent! He was enthusiastic,knowledgable, interactive and stopped to show us so many things on the first Forrest walk. The food was delicious and abundant and the place was quite serene- we loved the sounds of the amazon forrest through the open window.
But then we joined our tour guide the following day (Lisath). Unfortunately she did not understand ANY of our questions in English. Her English pronunciation when she knew what to say was quite good. But she really did not understand ANY English! On top of that she was not enthusiastic or very knowledgable about plant life or animals (maybe her lack of confidence in English). She would rush through the Forrest barely stopping. We had the comparison from our guide on the first day so we knew how good it could be. She should not have been given an English speaking group. It made the trips quite boring. Even if we stopped to ask something she didn't understand (even after several attempts) and didn't answer the question.

If we had the same experience as the first tour guide throughout the trip we would have given 5/5. But our guide brought it down to a 3.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Posada Amazonas. We are sorry for your experience with a guide with limited English proficiency. Your suggestion is very helpful for us to avoid similar problems in the future. We already took steps so that this guide will only receive Spanish speaking groups until her English improves. Other than this we hope you enjoyed your stay in Posada Amazonas and can check out our other lodges in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.