We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience! Good guide (Robin^^) !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Amazonas to your Saves list
Posada Amazonas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience! Good guide (Robin^^) !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was really a great experience.

The food was very very tasty the staff is very friendly. Our guide, Robin,our guide taught us lot about the nature/surroundings and spoke very well English. We were placed in a very nice group.

At first it seems very strange to have NO electricity have in the room. But a few days without internet and a lot of luxury can be relaxing.
We didn't liked that the room was open cause at night we had a monkey visitor. And he did his need on our bedside table. The nights that followed I didn't slept very well.

I can highly recommend this place to nature lovers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our lodge and your guide. Certainly the concept of the lodges of Rainforest Expedition is to be as near to the rainforest as possible, we are sorry for your night visitor  These animals never harm people. The mosquito net is a good defense against the insect and other animals at night but these visits are not really common.
We would also like to recommend you for the next time our superior rooms with electricity and internet in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    107
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
91
194
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Posada Amazonas doing the 4d/3n soft adventure tour which incorporated climbing the canopy tower, canopy climbing via harness, hiking, and ethobotanical tour, boating on the lake and fishing for piranhas. My daughter also went kayaking one afternoon, I chose to relax. The activities are well handled and thought out and we had a lot of fun on them. Safety was always a priority. Our guide throughout our stay was a bit reserved but very sweet. Another one of our guides for the canopy climbing was fun. Our group consisted of 6 of us and I made a couple of very good friends out of it. :)

The food was decent, I'd only say the occasional dish was really good, but the setting also made for quite enjoyable meal times, set in a covered platform open to the elements and the sounds of the jungle, lit wonderfully in the evening. Meals were served in a buffet style.

Our room was wonderful and magical. There is no true door to the room, only a curtain, but there is a small safe to lock valuables up in. The rooms are made of bamboo, with wood platform floors, and only 3 walls. This left one wall totally open to the elements and the jungle which made for an amazing experience. Our room had 2 comfy beds with good mosquito netting and lots of awesome pillows, lots of shelf space for our luggage, a hammock and a private bathroom with shower. There is a clothes line in front of the open side of the room, however the humidity is soooo high, nothing ever dries.. for that matter, anything that once was dry is never dry again while you are there. There are no plugins in the room, nor is there any lighting outside of oil lamps that get lit at night, so having a flashlight or headlamp is an absolute must.

As for the rest of the resort, there are plenty of sitting areas to relax, including a spot with hammocks. There's a souvenir shop, the restaurant of course. At the main sitting area and the restaurant there is plugins to charge up your iphones, camera batteries, etc, however the times the power is on is VERY limited

The resort does supply rubber boots for everyone for use as it is often muddy, this is the jungle after all.

I can definitely recommend this place. :) .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights and had a great time. There's plenty to do, including trips to a local farm, night walks and a sunrise trip to the local lake. There's plenty of wildlife to be amazed by, including several types of monkeys. Our guide, Luis M, was absolutely fantastic - so knowledgeable and passionate about his community.

The rooms were really nice, with only three walls so you could see out to the jungle. The noises of the wildlife didn't bother me on a night at all - unfortunately, it was the noises of my fellow humans that bugged me! I can't deal with snoring at all and because the rooms are all connected with just a big roof over all of them (not individual ceilings) you can hear everything. Luckily I took earplugs so I was able to block it out - that would be my biggest tip! We didn't have any hot water in our bathroom so we had to take cool showers but as it was so hot weather-wise it wasn't too bad.

The food was good and all of the staff were really friendly. One even shared a room with a guest who hadn't realised the three-walled room situation and was scared!

It was a great jungle experience and we would highly recommend it. Just remember to take insect repellent with a high DEET!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Certainly didn't need a fitness center here. The hikes that were planned 3 times a day were great exercise and full of interesting sightings. I was put into a group of 7. 4 from Israel, 2 from the UK and myself (USA) Our guide Pedro was amazing. He knew the calls and sounds of the birds and animals and could identify them and reproduce many to call them into our viewing distance. I was there for 3 full days and got to see the Great River Otters - a family of 7, Red and Green Macaw, Spider Monkeys, Red Howler Monkey, Brown Agouti, White Caiman and a herd of White Lipped Peccary. So fascinating just watching these creatures go about their daily lives.
The rooms were comfortable and the food excellent. Power was turned on at convenient times to recharge any needed electronics and they had both 110v and 220v available. Hot water in showers was great after the more strenuous hikes. Lodge Manager Cynthia was fantastic and very responsive to any and all requests from the guests. Loved the experience and would return tomorrow if the budget allowed. Two seasons - Dry and Rainy - Glad I was there in the dry season but then would make it a different and maybe just as interesting trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The southern Amazon region of Peru was a wonderful way to end our trip to Peru. It's quiet, rustic, and very relaxing. We booked a 3 day/2 night stay here and loved it. You're assigned a guide and set up in a group of about 10 people.

Highlights:
- The lodge itself! Open air design - you can hear the noises of nature and your neighbors :). Your room opens to the outdoors so there's mosquito nets around the beds in the rooms. The bathrooms offer some privacy though. No electricity in the rooms everything is done with flashlights and candles after dark. Electricity for parts of the day in the main area for charging items.
- Food - wow, they did an amazing job here! Started off with a cute lunchbox for the bus ride, and rice wrapped in leaves on the boat to the lodge, then buffet style at the lodge itself. Excellent quality and variety of dishes, and vegetarian options as well. Teas/coffees/filtered water available anytime.
- Guides and tours - well organized. They were very knowledge and with amazing eyes - how they can find a brown cayman on a sandy background from the boat is beyond me! Loved the boat rides. Animal sightings vary but my favorites were the caymans and the variety of birds, esp. the macaws. It was amazing to see the vastness of the trees and rainforest here.

My only minor complaint was getting to the lodge... We booked an earlier flight into PEM intending to get to the lodge earlier, but we had to wait for the people coming in on the later flight and all go to the lodge together. I understand the rationale since it's more efficient for them, but honestly if I had known that, I would have slept in and booked the later flight here.

Definitely recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestExp, Manager at Posada Amazonas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Posada Amazonas. We now launch several boats to Posada so that passengers from an earlier flights don´t need to wait for others. But it´s always recommended asking our sale agents at booking what domestic flight they recommend for each trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent the first part of our trip to Peru in Posada Amazonas. We did the 3D/2N program, although I wish we had had time to do another night. We loved being there. We did similar activities to other reviewers and I think Posada Amazonas runs a great program. Our guide was Jorge. Although he is new, he did a fabulous job. I liked his quiet demeanor and he was constantly on the lookout for more wildlife to point out to us. For instance, he would use the binoculars to search for birds while we were on the boat to/from the lodge, when other guides were taking a moment to relax and chat. I agree with what others have said about the rooms also: they are comfortable (bed/hammock) and hot water is decent (although hard to control sometimes), but be aware there is not much privacy. It didn't bother us much, but some others in our group were disturbed by it. The food was great, there was plenty of variety at each meal so everyone could find something s/he liked. Another positive note was the water jugs that are available all over the property with clean water....having that is a must and also appreciated. Overall, an awesome time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely, community-owned lodge -- very kind staff, immaculate and tranquil room, beautiful setting. Our excellent guide Daniel was both fun to hang out with and very well informed. Viewed monkeys, parrots, giant river otters! Highly recommended, a fantastic overall experience that puts profits back in the hands of the native Ese'Eja community. We couldn't have asked for more from our first trip to the Amazon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve
Posada Amazonas Peru/Tambopata National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Amazonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.