We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clay lick? Wich one you visited??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Chunco Maclaw's Clay Lick

El Chunco Maclaw's Clay Lick
Tambopata National Reserve PM, Peru
982747231
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The big Macaw's clay lick is located in the Tambopata Candamo Nacional Park, on the left side of Tambopata River.It is famous for its great wildlife spectacle, and considered as the biggest on the Peruvian Amazon, cause hundreds of parrots, macaws and parakeets meet there to feed them.Every morning when the sun clears thousands of birds start a ritual that consist in eat clay along the riverbanks.
Puerto Maldonado, Peru
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clay lick? Wich one you visited??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I can see there are several opinions about clay licks but will be realy nice if in the comments can specified the clay lick name they visited. There are several small clay licks for parrots where there may be some times macaws but most of the time just parrots. My recomendation will be to visit the CHUNCHO CLAY LICK or the COLORADO CLAY LICK those two have macaws most of the year. Other clay licks will not give you the real experience of one of this beautifull an incredible places . There are some parrot clay licks close to some lodges , and they are sold as clay licks but there go just parrots and very rarely macaws. Be well informed about this . Because if they sell macaw clay lick , this should be the CHUNCHO CLAY LICK or COLORADO CLAY LICK.
Here some names of tour operators to this places.
Chuncho Lodge , operated by www.tambopatatours.com
Wasai Lodge. www.tambopata.com
Rainforest Expeditions www.perunature.com .
I hope this will help to all parrot lovers and people interested on this magnificent birds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have never seen so many parrots in one area as at the Clay Lick. I was so excited to photograph these magnificent birds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Get there early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the lodge at the lodge at the Tambopata Research Center, which was a short ride from small estuaries and the macaw clay licks. Accommodations were rustic, but just fine with me, since I was there for the birds. I saw macaws (red and green, scarlet, chestnut-fronted, blue and yellow), parrots, parrotlets, hoatzins, kingfishers and others I can't remember now. We found it best to spend a couple hours at the licks because the birds fly in and out. On the Rio Tambopata, we saw caiman, capybara, herons and jabiru storks. The lodge held lectures from resident biologists. In a small way, it helped us appreciate the importance and beauty of the Amazon. I have to say this was one of my favorite trips.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Macaw clay lick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is well worth the early start-we went twice-it's not just Macaws you will see but masses of parrots. Ideally you will have a camera with a really good zoom but binoculars are essential and a guide with a telescope even better. If you are lucky you will see a riot of sound and colour when a whole bank side suddenly decide that they're off all at once.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Macaws at there best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The blind made viewing not only convenient but comfortable, While not the best season for viewing we did get some great photos and

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chunco Maclaw's Clay Lick also viewed

Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
Puerto Maldonado, Madre de Dios Region
 
Tambopata National Reserve, Madre de Dios Region
Puerto Maldonado, Madre de Dios Region
 

Been to El Chunco Maclaw's Clay Lick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Chunco Maclaw's Clay Lick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.