We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good snow, crap hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta del Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Puerta del Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Puerta del Sol Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Farellones s/n | Lo Barnechea - Santiago, 7690000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valle Nevado
Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good snow, crap hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

By no means this is a 4 stars hotel. Old and no confort at all on the rooms. At US$ 300 a night I really expected something better. Service was terrible, staff were really not worried in helping guests. I was in the 7th floor, there was 10 minutes lines to take elevators. Unfortunatly at 3000 meters height you would prefer then to stairs. Be prepared for the fron t desk service, there's no line, you will only be attended if you yell more than the others. Regarding restuarants, usually dinner is included on the ski pacakges. Nevertheless, they're so expensive that even the 10% service tip makes a differnce. Be prepared to pay US$ 30 for a bottle of "Casillero del Diablo" a winw that usually costs aprox. US$ 5 in Santiago stores.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Customer Service at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you for giving us your review. This helps us improve and give our customers a better quality service. About our service, we are very concerned in giving our customer a pleasant stay. Every complain a guest makes is take very seriously and informed to the corresponding area.
Regarding our food service, we are glad to inform you that we have seven different kinds of restaurants, with different kind of food and prices,
Our best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    35
    11
    11
See reviews for
56
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I made a reservation of a double room but I was lucky enough to get the rooms located on the corner which are much bigger and you can overlook those beautiful white mountains. In addition, it was very clean and cozy. I loved the queen size bed, the comfortable pillows, and the necessaire (in the bathroom) with quality products.
In Valle Nevado, you need to make your dinner reservation every day. They offer different types: Mexican, Fench, Swiss, and Italian. So make sure you do it first thing in the morning, otherwise you'll have to eat at 6pm (for me this is too early) or miss the French one. Yet, if you go in the beginning of the season like me, the Mexican might closed. The French restaurant was great: I had the best dessert of my like, but the Swiss makes the worst meat Foundie I've ever tasted.
I do not recommend it to people that are interested in skiing at all. The hotel is a Ski Resort, so when you open the door, you only see people skiing. There's no shopping or field trips. If you want to meet the place, stay in Santiago and go for a field trip on Valle Nevado.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Customer Service at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thanks a lot for your encouraging comments! We hope you can visit us another time, regarding the food at the Swiss Restaurant we invite you to try the meat fondue again and be surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

The hotel was just a place to rest between our ski journeys. There was nothing special about it, although the staff was really warm and tried their best to make us comfortable.

The rooms are spacious enough for a couple, but if you are travelling with kids, ask for a "conjugado", a double room sharing one bathroom. It is going to cost more, but you would avoid bumping into the beds every time you move.

The North rooms have a small balcony (see photos) and face the ski trails. The South rooms have a bay window and face the parking lot and the mountains.

The Hotel is 20 years old, and you can see the “age” in many places.

The Valle Nevado Complex has three hotels: Valle Nevado (the best), Tres Puntas (the plainer) and Puerta del Sol (the intermediate). They share the restaurants and services.

It was easy to rent ski clothes and gear and the teachers were thoughtful. The place was crowded: during weekends with Santiago citizens and during weekdays with “one day” excursions that crammed the restaurants.

If you don’t ski avoid Valle Nevado at all, because there aren’t any activities besides skiing and snowboarding. There are NO sled rides, NO snowmobile trips, NO shopping.

But if you are a ski addicted you will love the 39 kilometers of well cared trails.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The size of the room, too small for a family of four.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Customer Services at Puerta del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
We appreciate very much your comment. It helps us improve our quality service. We are glad to inform you that we have plenty of different activities that you can enjoy in our ski resort such as Snowshoe, Randonee, Torchlight Parade every Saturday, 7 different restaurants, shopping Boulevard with a dozen of stores selling brand name- gear clothing and souvenirs. Heated pool for our hotel guests, Cinema, Kids Zone, and Fitness Center among others.
We hope you can visit us another time. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerta del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta del Sol Hotel

Address: Camino Farellones s/n | Lo Barnechea - Santiago, 7690000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Valle Nevado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valle Nevado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puerta del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Puerta del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Valle Nevado
Valle Nevado Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta del Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.