We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For September Skiing - We'll go back in mid-August next year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valle Nevado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valle Nevado to your Saves list
Hotel Valle Nevado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Farellones s/n | Lo Barnechea - Santiago, 7690000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valle Nevado
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great For September Skiing - We'll go back in mid-August next year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best thing about Valle Nevado is the skiing. For skiing during the northern hemisphere summer, Valle Nevado was fun and satisfied my ski addiction. We will go back next year and use our same travel agent Powder Quest Tours.

Lifts - Antiquated and slow, “D”. There is no “at the chair” lift operator that North Americans are accustom too. The lower area was serviced by slow chairs and what we referred to as the "gondola to nowhere". The upper and back areas were serviced by T-bars and poma lifts.

Runs – Fun and Satisfies the “need to ski”, “C”. The runs were wide open, as there isn’t a single tree at the resort. This place must be heaven on good powder days which we did not experience. A good intermediate skier by U.S standards can easily ski anything at this resort. There are essentially three designated “expert” runs, none of which would make that designation at Mammoth, Snowbird, Jackson Hole, Beaver Creek, Deer Valley, Heavenly, Whistler (my regulars) or the equivalents. We didn’t discover anything we considered “steep” or extremely challenging. We did have a great time skiing and discovering the resort.

Ski Ready Room – Outstanding, “A”. Valle Nevado Hotel is right at the lifts so a few steps from the ski ready room/valet and your skiing down to the lift. The ski ready room and its attendant Gabriel get the highest rating of every service at the resort. The ready room itself is adequate, a place to store your equipment and to gear up in the morning. Gabriel will know your room number and your equipment on your first return to the ready room. He’ll know your habits and anticipate your needs/wants by your second return. Tip him well.

Hotel Accommodations – Adequate, “C”. Our room was big enough for two guys to live and work from for a week, barely. The beds were comfortable. Our view of the mountains and the gorge was spectacular. Our room was on the 4th floor, next time I’ll request the 5th. Wi-Fi worked fine in our room and we never used the flat screen TV. The front desk personnel were friendly, accommodating and helpful. Their English was more than adequate as our Spanish was far less than adequate.

Food – Expensive, Good, “C”. Our ski package included “half board”, breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was the usual buffet with omelet bar, cereals, breads, fruit, juices, cheeses and meats. Certainly nothing outstanding but it worked for us. I am a fish eating vegan, so I am used to challenging menus. The French restaurant, La Fourchette rates a “C” for food quality, service and menu selection. The fish dishes were plentiful and tasty but not always hot. My rating is based up establishments of like price in ski resorts in North America. Since the prices are high, I expect more. The quality, service and menu would rate a “D” if comparing to similar establishments at Beaver Creek or Deer Valley due to the similar prices. A glass (yes, glass) of sparking water was $6. The Chilean wine by the glass price was about the same as the bottle price in Santiago (“hint”). Our dinners for two guys at La Fourchette were $180 +/- without drinks…good thing the dinners were included. The Italian restaurant, Don Giovanni, was a solid “C” for the same reasons. However, the meals were generally served even colder.

The Above and Beyond – Outstanding, “A” customer service by our travel agency, Powder Quest Tours and Valle Nevado. On our third day of skiing I had a freak accident. As we were getting off the Ballicas chair lift, the chair swung out in an unusual pattern pushing the other rider into me and knocking me back as we exited the chair. I wound up with torn muscles in my upper left buttocks area and couldn’t walk, much less ski. We headed home six days early. Powder Quest Tours and Valle Nevado worked it out to give us credit for our unused ski days, accommodations and “room & board”. This was very much a surprise and very welcome. We will be back next year, more towards the middle of the ski season however. Thank you Powder Quest Tours and Valle Nevado!

Bottom Line – We are going back next year.

Room Tip: Fifth floor, away from the ski runs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Valle Nevado, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks Wise Eagle for such a comprehensive account of your experience! We're glad you'll make it back this year and you'll be happy to hear that 2014 is an El Niño year and even in late May we were already getting snow. The 2014 season is absolutely the year to head to Valle Nevado for powder skiing.

Valle, like all South American resorts, does have its share of poma lifts, but we also do have the most modern lift system in Chile including a high-speed quad and the only gondola (the main purpose of the gondola is to keep day visitor traffic moving to our mid-mountain range).

Due to the conditions when you were at the resort you were unable to discover our backcountry, steeper runs located off the Tres Puntas poma. Also keep in mind that if you stay for 7 nights Valle offers 2 interconnect tickets that open a total of 7,000 acres -- making the resort larger than Vail.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014!

Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
55
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I loved this hotel! So close to the ski facilities, very clean with friendly staff. My only problem is that I thought the room was really noise! I could hear everything that was happening in the hall! Besides that everything was great. Good wi-fi. Nice restaurant. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was a good trip, and we would go again. We selected Valle Nevado over Portillo because Potillo has a seven night minimum and Valle Nevado a four night minimum, and we were only going for a long weekend.

The hotel was fine. It consists of a main building (where we stayed) and four or so smaller outlying buildings, all encircling a central area that really is just a large parking lot the size of three or four soccer fields. There is a tiny food store where you can buy water snacks, etc., the standard skiing-related shopping, but otherwise no shopping.

The snow was a bit worn out, and they really needed another foot or so, but the skiing still was ok, albeit East Coast conditions. You easily could imagine that if they had a normal snow season the skiing would be spectacular with an endless array of intermediate and advanced intermediate lines down what we would consider bowls. Despite the reputation, the vast majority of the lifts are chair lifts, not poma lifts, but even the poma lifts on the furthest runs are not that bad.

The food was good. Breakfast and dinner are included. Breakfast consists of a breakfast buffet in the main dining room, including a good omelet station, that would be considered good by U.S. standards and that includes a few European-type items as well. There are three good restaurants, Italian, Chilean and French, but, as other comments suggest, you need to make a reservation for them in the morning or you will end up at the buffet in the main dining room. There also are various restaurants on the mountain or at the base, including, e.g., a crepe place and a place with burgers and fries. Prices were high, but not Aspen-Beaver Creek-Deer Valley high.

The room was reasonably nice. It was nicer than a Holiday Inn room, but not quite as nice as a Hilton. The beds were comfortable. The hot water was endless.

The internet was weak, and overloaded by phone users who used wifi rather than cell service. They need to fix this. Also, there was no wireless in the rooms.

The spa was B-team, but adequate.

The rental skies (we took our own boots) were in good shape and they had the typical range of quality. Slightly expensive., but not awfully so. You can rent before you go up the mountain if you want, but we opted for simplicity.

We skied El Colorado one day. We had to suck it up and buy full-priced lift tickets since we had not planned ahead, but you Valle Nevado easily interconnects with both El Colorado and La Parva. The only misfortune is that the El Colorado lifts that are closest to Valle Nevado, and thereby essential to getting to the main runs, are T-bars, including one that you can see from the base at Valle Nevado that is a real treat.

We arranged a car service before we got there to take us to the hotel. It was $80 per person. We found them with an online search. The hotel can arrange a service as well, but I believe it would have been slightly more expensive. I also think that you could wing it and negotiate with a cab once you got there. We had a very good driver (Andres at au@vtr.net) and were happy enough with him that we used him on the return trip and to drive us around Santiago on the day of our departure.

We will not go next year, but we do see a trip to Chile as an about every-other-year splurge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Valle Nevado, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
ATL,
Thank you for your detailed report about your experience and we're glad you'd visit us again! Like every resort we cannot unfortunately change the snow quality or make it snow more, but then 2014 promises to be an outstanding year for snow, and we invite you to visit us again.

Please keep in mind that travelers who stay for 7 nights receive 2 interconnect tickets included in the price of your stay, one to El Colorado and one to La Parva. If you are not given the tickets upon check-in, ask the front desk staff to provide you with them.

Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We paid prices that are well over what is standard for the best hotels in the U.S. or Canada. The hotel and mountain would be rated excellent at a lower price point but just are not worth the trip at these prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Valle Nevado, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We're glad you were able to experience skiing during the "summer" and escape the heat in Florida! Valle Nevado offers 3 hotels and condominiums for all budgets, and special promotion deals during the season. For example, book a 7-night stay in a double room in the Puerta del Sol hotel or Tres Puntas from June 28 - July 5, or during Sept. 13 - 28, and the second person is 50% off! Valle Nevado rates include lodging, lift tickets, half board and access to all facilities, an important thing to keep in mind when booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a week at the beginning of September. We were a little apprehensive about the quality of the snow as it hassle been a poor season for snowfall, but we were really pleased with the skiable area available. It was paradise!

The hotel was excellent. Some of the front desk staff speak perfect English which was very helpful as our Spanish is not great. There were no issues with checkin and we used the front desk to book our dinner each night.

The top floor of the hotel is level with the ground so the rooms are located beneath overlooking the valley. The view was absolutely stunning from our room on the second floor and it was very private. I think that a room overlooking the ski hills would certainly be less private, noisy and have a disappointing view in comparison - it would certainly be worth requesting a room facing the valley.

The room itself was lovely. It had recently been refurbished tastefully. A balcony and large picture windows provided a great outlook. The bed was extemely comfortable. Housekeeping was very timely in servicing the rooms and in the evening housekeeping visited again to fill the humidifier and drop off chocolates - thought it was a lovely touch.

Ski après was complimentary, but not really worth attending. Free hot chocolate and cookies were advertised but the hot chocolate was powdered and disappointing. Free espresso coffee was available and a much better option for us.

Breakfast was held in La Fourchette restuarant which was above reception and could be reached by inside stairs. Again the view was impressive. The breakfast selection was really good and included fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese, sausages, scrambled eggs, pancakes, juice, tea, coffee and pastries. The highlight for me was the omelette station where omelettes were prepared freshly. Also a toasted sandwich maker was available to make a warm sandwich.

The service in the ski room was fantastic. Gabriel got to know us quickly and as he would often see us coming and have our gear out, warmed and ready to go. The gear advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the slopes. It was so nice to not have to walk far in boots: the ski area is just straight down a small flight of stairs from the ski room.

The ski area is great with short lines for the lifts. Because it was spring the slopes were very icy in the morning, but with a bit of thaw from the sun they became manageable at about 12. We were very lucky to get fresh powder on our last day which completely changed the runs. It made for some great boarding.

For dinners it is necessary to book quite a bit ahead idol time - prefereably in the mornings to get a table at a good time. We spent our time between la Fourchette (French) and don giovanni (Italian). Both were nice, but the French did have better food. Highlights we're the pumpkin potage, perfectly cooked steak and the creme brûlée and profiterole pile. The service was sometimes a little pretentious, which I thought was unnecessary.

The pool was located upstairs and outside. It was overrun by greasy looking men in the early evening, but an afterdinner swim was quite pleasant and quiet.

I loved my time here and felt that there was a lot of terrain I still left to cover. There is no question that it is an expensive place, but I think that great ski hills and excellent resort in such a visually stunning and exotic location is worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Valle Nevado, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you TrekBear for taking the time to write about your outstanding experience at Valle Nevado! We couldn't agree more: the resort terrain is spectacular and the views from the Hotel Valle Nevado toward the valley are simply extraordinary -- especially when a condor floats by. The Hotel Valle Nevado takes pride in offering each of its guests attentive, personalized service, from the ski check to reception to the waitstaff at breakfast. We hope to see you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Check out the Valle Condores apartments/condos next to the hotel (and run by the hotel). They are good ski options for a family with a kitchen and 2 bedrooms. You can go to all the hotel restaurants and charge to your room but have more space to spread out for the family. Overall Valle Nevado is a beautiful location but the road is a bit scary so get a private car/van to drive you and understand that skiing in Chile will not be as developed as the States. The snow was not good when we were there in Sept. 2012 but they did an amazing grooming job at night considering the conditions. There are a lot of rope tows up major slopes which is very different than the States so that is important to know as well. It is high end prices too but the scenery is spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Valle Nevado, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Valle Nevado's "Condor I & II" condo units were built during the past 2 years and are contemporary, attractive, and an ideal lodging option for a family or group of friends. Foreign visitors may book a private transfer to the resort and stop at the large grocery store at the bottom of the road in Santiago and stock up on supplies first. Spacious kitchens, large terraces with beautiful views and a cozy ambiance make for a good alternative to our hotels. One thing we'd like to mention is that while some of our lifts are indeed poma lifts (disc and T-bars -- commonly seen all over South America), but they are not rope tows. Valle Nevado is even launching a new gondola for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in a group of 9 friends skiing in Valle Nevado. The skiing and the group was a lot of fun, but the hotel was quite a disapointment. Prices are incredibly high for what you get. Anything from services to food is more expensive than in any top ski resort in the world. The hotel needs urgent refurbishment. The spa is tiny and constantly overcrowed. Restaurants are below expectation, with special prize to the italian one where they managed to serve all nine dishes cold. We insisted and returned a few nights later and we made sure to let the waitress know what happened the first time. It did not change a thing. One of us got an almost frozen chicken breast. Also, ski lifts desperatly need investment. Lines during weekends can take up to 10 minutes. Valle Nevado has a big advantage of being easy to reach, but it is not worth visiting. Next year we will look for somewhere else.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceVN, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Valle Nevado, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. South America ski resorts, though constantly evolving, do not offer the same level of lift service that you will find in the US. However, the major bonus at Valle Nevado is that there are no lift lines and the slopes are far emptier than the US, meaning powder days go on for days, not hours! Valle Nevado offers the most modern lift system in Chile, and in 2013 will launch its new gondola from its brand-new Curva 17 day visitor center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valle Nevado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valle Nevado

Address: Camino Farellones s/n | Lo Barnechea - Santiago, 7690000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Valle Nevado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valle Nevado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valle Nevado 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover South America’s premier resort offering the largest skiable domain on the continent. Bring your friends or family and enjoy not only great skiing and snowboarding, but also all the off-slope activities only a full-service resort like Valle Nevado can provide. This season we will offer incredible promotional deals on stays and lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valle Nevado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Valle Nevado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valle Nevado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.