We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place in a paradisiac island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Aquarela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pousada Aquarela to your Saves list
Pousada Aquarela
Rua Porto de Cima, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
La Plata, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A friendly place in a paradisiac island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Jose received me with kindness and did anything to make me feel between friends. The rooms are big, cozzy and with magnificent views from their balcony: jungle, hill and colourful houses. You can try tropical fruit juices in the breakfast. The hotel is located near one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. To go to the most popular beaches, you have to make a nice 20' walk through the village.
Of note, the hotel has plenty of books and films on DVD. You can't be bored even if it rains

Room Tip: The best views are from the upper rooms, but you have to climb more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
81
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was overall one of the best places we stayed in our trip round Brazil and hands down the best value. Jose is a charming and helpful host, the rooms are specious and are equipped with all you need as well as having fantastic private terraces with hammocks overlooking the jungle. I would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I hesiteted booking this posada as there were too few reviews of it in web. Now I can recommend it from any point of view: It is close to the main street but quiet and very picuresque standing on the steep hill. The only sound that can disturb you - the sound of fresh mango fruits falling on the ground just behind the door. The owner of pousada- Jose, makes everithing for you to feel like home. We talked much and he tald me also that he has his own waterwell so there is no fresh water shortage at Aquarela and the quality of water is better than other posadas use ( brought from outside of island). Beakfast choise is limited but quite enouhg to start a good morning. You always find a couple of garaffas of marvellous fresh juice there. I well never forget the evenings in Aquarela, lazing in hammok on balcony with a good cigar and a bottle of wine, gazinng at stars. It is not expensive, It is not 5 stars. It has no swimming pool, but you wouldn't even think about it on the island with so beautiful beaches and pristine sea. Wi-fi is free at reception ( ask Jose for password)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We luckily met Jose when we hopped off the boat from Salvador onto Morro, and we were really impressed with his Pousada. Delicious breakfast (charming French Chef), hammocks on every private balcony, quiet and well-kept. We really enjoyed this place and couldn't BELIEVE how inexpensive it was for such a nice place. It's also right on the way to Gamboa, so if you're into private-beaches that are a little off the beaten path (versus Beaches 1 - 4), then this is the ultimate location. You can take a 20-minute stroll along the beach on the way to Gamboa in the morning when the tide is low, stop by the clay springs, and enjoy the most beautiful beach on the island.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Aquarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Aquarela

Address: Rua Porto de Cima, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best bed and breakfast in Morro de Sao Paulo is located in a pacefull place close to the village and the beach. The rooms are very well equipped with fridge,fun, AC,TV, DVD, safe box and nice balconny with hammock.Excellent option for short money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Aquarela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aquarela Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Aquarela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.