We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real circus!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ropewalk - A Fenwick Island Oyster House

Ropewalk - A Fenwick Island Oyster House
700 Coastal Highway, Fenwick Island, DE 19944-4408
(410) 457-7514
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A real circus!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Was super crowded. People waiting to be seated were practically on top of us with their backsides in our face like we were not even there. Took 20 minutes to even place a drink order. Lots of workers trying to look busy. Finally dinner. It was ok. Might try again later this summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    29
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience! Good place to take kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We've been vacationing in Fenwick Island for several years now. So excited the Ropewalk opened here! They have a great playground out front for the kids to play, so the adults could enjoy a pleasant meal together. We got a table overlooking the playground which helped us keep an eye on the kids. Service was good. Scott was a knowledgeable server and made some good recommendations. Loved the fresh oyster selection and the scallop entree! They also make fabulous crushes using fresh fruit. YUM! Kids loved their meals too. We definitely will come back every year on our annual vacation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

try the little neck clams in garlic sauce and cheese. it was excellent. plentiful on the clams also. we moved on to the seafood mac and cheese, although i thought this a little pricey it was very good fare and far more than i could finish. topped off with a nice cold draft beer. all was good. the aatmosphere is rustic with a deck on the second floor (open air) would be greaat with a water view insteadnof the highway. service was good managers walking and checking on how you were doing. try it , think you will like it .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite crab cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a very nice family dinner here. I've had several crab cakes during my week in Bethany Beach and this was my favorite. Overall everyone really enjoyed their food and the server was very attentive. The only downside was that we had a vegetarian in the group and there was nothing for her to eat except a salad. The playground outside looked like fun for the kids, although it was a little rainy so we didn't get a chance to play while we were there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selbyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We went to the Ropewalk Tavern in Fenwick to try the oysters. They are known for their oysters and as readers know, Crista loves oysters.

At the entrance to the Ropewalk is sand and a little playground for the kids. It was a nice afternoon so we sat outside on the upstairs deck.

We ordered the rockfish tacos as a starter. The tacos were not big, but the taste more than made up for it. The tacos were filled with fish, red cabbage and cilantro sauce. We have been eating a lot of fish tacos lately, but this was one of the best we have had.

Crista ordered a “buffalo” fried oyster sandwich with fries on the side. The oysters were covered with buffalo sauce and came with blue cheese. The sandwich was excellent.

I had the oyster stew, which was loaded with big chunks of oyster.

The food was outstanding and the service was great. We will return to the Ropewalk.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropewalk - A Fenwick Island Oyster House also viewed

 
Fenwick Island, DE
 

Been to Ropewalk - A Fenwick Island Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ropewalk - A Fenwick Island Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.