We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great corned beef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Welch - CLOSED

House of Welch
1106 Coastal Hwy, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
(302) 541-0728
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dover, Delaware
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great corned beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a great corned beef and cabbage lunch (Saturday, March 16) -- the meat was tender and seasoned just right. The hostess seated us right away, but it took at least 10 minutes before we saw any wait staff. Corned beef meal was served with potatoes and cabbage -- great price for a large tasty portion. Rueben sandwich was very good, but no side dishes for $5.95 was disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    5
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently had dinner at House of Welch while we were in Ocean City for a conference and have to say the food was outstanding. There were four of us and we all had something different and delicious. I selected the crab cake and it was all crabmeat. My husband had the crab soup and stuffed rockfish--so delicious. Our friends had broiled flounder and the seafood platter--both great. The service was good. Off season, the prices are reduced which makes a return visit even better. You must try the crab soup---it's best ever. The restaurant is just over the Delaware line on the Coastal Highway on the left side going north.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible place to eat.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off, there are five different doors in the front of the building, so we had no idea which one to go into until we saw some people come out of one of the doors. The food was awful. The crab cake sandwich that I ordered smelled very fishy, so I didn't even touch it. The green beans tasted old and sour. The potatoes I got weren't even made from real potatoes, they were instant. My boyfriend had a cheeseburger and he said it was okay, but undercooked. The music was blasting at high volume and a lot of old folks were at the bar. The only good thing we ate there were the french fries and chicken fingers appetizer. Our waitress was very nice though, so nothing bad to say about the wait staff; just that the food was not good for the most part.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like going back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The House of Welsh originally was located in downtown Baltimore. The food was great then and stays the same after the move to the beach. The crabcake dinner brought back memories. The wait staff was extremely friendly and outgoing, just like meeting an old friend for dinner. I would recommend the House for the quality of the food, extremely reasonable specials and the great freindly atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New Family Rule - Never eat at House of Welch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The meal we had a House of Welch in late September was one of the worst restaurant meals I've ever had in any country. The Prime Rib was tough and grilled like a steak, the rolls were burned - really burned, and the green beans had way too much liquid smoke flavor and something sweet in them. Only the drink was tasty. Even my easy-going husband just hated the meal. The service was awful and the lighting was too bright - probably so the very old crowd could read the menus. We wondered if the bus boy was cooking since there definable wasn't a bus boy working the front of the restaurant.

If you read TripAdvisor you aren't a House of Welch person. The very old remember this restaurant in Baltimore and love to visit for a walk down memory lane. I also think their taste buds are shot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Welch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Welch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.