We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Activity While in Ocean City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate Adventures

Pirate Adventures
142nd street & The Bay, (Behind Harpoon Hanna's Restaurant), Fenwick Island, DE
302-539-5155
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: take your kids on an old-fashioned pirate adventure they'll be talking about for years to come. with painted faces, vests and sashes they will be an active part of the crew and the adventure. The Adventure will have them singing, telling tales, and learning important lessons in teamwork to take down any evil pirates. The parents will enjoy seeing their kids so fully immersed and the jokes entertain an adult crowd as well. Trips sail out daily at: 9:30, 11:00, 12:30, 2:00, 3:30, and 5:00. reservations are a must.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun Activity While in Ocean City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is a short drive from Ocean City to get there. You need reservations, but we were open to a time and when we called in the morning there were a few time slots available day of. You arrive early to get either your face or arm painted with a design of your choice (they did not give out sashes & vests as previous reviewers mentioned, maybe not doing that anymore?). They do have pirate gear for sale, but there was no pressure to buy and the children who didn't get things did not feel slighted. There are jokes both for the adults & kids. My 3 year old loved it, but I would say the ideal age is 4+ to catch the majority of what is going on (like the pirates saying that it's too scary so we might head back - only the older ones screamed 'NO!!!' while many the younger ones were just looking at the pirates, other kids, boats, etc.). There was a lot that happened on a boat ride just over an hour - signing and hanging the flag, finding the map, finding the pirate, water fight with the pirate, finding the treasure, opening it, and more. It was a good activity if you're looking for a break from the beach/pool.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Adventure for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was such a fun adventure for our whole family of 5 adults and 4 children ages 7,5,4 and 3. Each child was given a pirate name, had their face painted and dressed in pirate gear before setting sail in search of the "pirate booty". The crew was very entertaining for both the children and the adults with their double sided jokes. The entire trip held excitement for the kids with searching for a map, fighting off Pirate Pete with water cannons and the grand finale of locating the treasure and hoisting it on board. Each child got a pouch with goodies in it and came back with a wonderful memories and an exciting story to tell. That certainly was the highlight of our trip! When we come back, will do this again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Kids 5 and 7 had a great time. They left happy. The crew was great, but the captain could have been friendlier. Would recommend adding this to your Ocean City vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent pirate adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was so grateful to have a GOOD pirate adventure experience this year in OC (see my review of the duccaneer from last year). The pirate and captain were awesome, they made the experience SO enjoyable for the kids. Everyone on board seemed to have had an excellent time. You do not get soaked like the reviews for the OTHER OC pirate adventure cruise state, but the kids still get to squirt at the bad guy and have a great time! Yes, the drive up to 112th St. is farther than the competition, but I would highly recommend it over the competition, if you prefer to have good customer service and to be treated well. Very nice!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first time out on the pirate ship and we had a great time. Our 4 and 8-year olds loved being out on the water in their outfits fighting off Pirate Pete and doing all of the things mentioned in the previous reviews. The two mates were excellent with their kids and had plenty of jokes on hand for the adults as well. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Pirate Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.