We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic romantic restaurant, reservations recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papiamento

Papiamento
Washington 61, Noord, Aruba
+297 586 4544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Noord
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic romantic restaurant, reservations recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had our wedding anniversary dinner here. Food and service were both spectacular! We were seated indoors as we did not have a reservation. I ordered the Caribbean lobster which was cooked on a hot stone and my husband ordered grouper. Both were excellent. We walked around the interior of the restaurant which was a family home. One of the waiters showed us the wine room which I posted below, it was awesome! I would definitely return, one of the best meals we had on the island!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    241
    136
    48
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a fine dining spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

be sure to call ahead and make a reservation and ask for an outside table. if it's a romantic evening [or not]--the setting [also inside] is lovely. And, the food did not disappoint either!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most romantic restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We sat poolside at Papiamento. The service was outstanding; the food divine but not for dieters; and the atmosphere very romantic. It is at an old family manor beautifully maintained. Lights are elegantly strung in the trees. The manor is preserved so you can see the rooms as they once were.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was just about to give up and label Aruba's dining as average and then I discovered Papiamento. The atmosphere is extraordinary and the food simply decadent. I had the baked shrimp to start followed by the lobster shrimp duo cooked in a yummy coconut milk broth. I ate the entire thing just because I just could not stop having something soooooo good. The service was even better! My hotel screwed up my reservation and they worked to make it better by giving me a great table close to the pool. You should not miss this restaurant if you are in Aruba. It is absolutely beautiful and the food amazing. You will not be disappointed! Kudos to the chef and staff for making us have the best dining experience in Aruba!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A Favorite Aruban Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Papiamento is one of our favorite restaurants on the island and we go there every time we visit Aruba. The menu is large, extensive with a mixture of fish and meat and local dishes, and the food is generally very good. Our only complaint is the erratic service from untrained waitstaff. We were given our menus shortly after being seated and before we had time to consult them were asked if we were ready to order. (One of the menus was missing the 'daily specials' page.) Our main course dishes were delivered before the plates from the starters had been cleared. There are loads of staff in the restaurant but they seem to lack guidance and training and leadership. In past visits the owners of the restaurant were always present and managing the staff and the large outdoor dining area (which is beautiful and romantic, centered around a glowing pool). They have retired and their son has taken over the management and seems to us to be struggling. We would recommend the restaurant, and will return on our next visit to Aruba, but would be worried that it is relying too much on its past and not carefully enough considering its future!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papiamento also viewed

 

Been to Papiamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papiamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.