We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool side dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papiamento

Papiamento
Washington 61, Noord, Aruba
+297 586 4544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Noord
Price range: $7 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pool side dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Relaxing slow paced meal served poolside. If you are looking to have a non hurried meal this is the place to go. Speciality is cooking your food on the hot stones. I like my steak done rare and so they brought it out to me raw so I come cook it just the way I like it. I made the reservation months ahead and it was alittle difficult. I had to go through a few sites to make the reservation. I am not on facebook to go on their facebook page.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    204
    115
    40
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Great but not better than MJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our last night. The menu choices were varied and creative, and the food was delicious. The outdoor setting was beautiful. Service left something to be desired. The food came out very quickly, but then it took almost 30 mins with the check.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Came here based on a recommendation from a friend who said it was better then Madamme Jannett's. Everyone has different taste but I think young Scott was wrong. Did the table cooking and it was fun. Atmosphere is nice but not as comfy as I was expecting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Recommended? Maybe a little too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Papiamento is one of the most frequently recommended restaurants in Aruba. The place is nice, not too far from the big hotels, atmosphere is quite fancy with tables around the pool. Food is good, products are very fresh, hopefully, because if you follow the waiter's advice ( "on the hot stone" dishes), they arrive at your table almost raw ( with a strong " grille" smell, however), and you have to finish to cook them at yor taste! The strange thing about a dish that does not required much preparation, is that we had to wait over 40 minutes for it! So by the time we got them we almost finished our wine, bread, side salad and we lost our appetite!
So please mr chef, do something about it!
Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“1st class food, service & atmosphere! Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We absolutely loved Papiamento! For starters, the tuna tartar was delicious! The entrees we selected Grouper Limon & Grouper w/Shrimp and Scallops were absolutely delicious. The service was not lacking in anyway. The guitar player was an added touch of class. The ambiance was phenomenal. Dinner outdoors around the pool of an 1880's historic mansion surrounded by palm trees and lush tropical gardens. Papiamento is definitely a dining experience not to be missed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papiamento also viewed

 

Been to Papiamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papiamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.