We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting cuisine, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Cunucu House

Old Cunucu House
Palm Beach 150, Noord, Aruba
(297) 586-1666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 Restaurants in Noord
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting cuisine, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We heard about this restaurant from other guests at the Marriott who raved about the food so we gave it a try. I did not find the food or service to be anything more than average. They appeared to be short staffed in the kitchen and wait staff. We waited nearly 49 minutes between the appetizer and entree courses. They did a good job with the fish preparation and the stew was just okay. If we would have ordered coffee or after dinner drinks, this would have been a three hour meal. Fairly certain we will not return.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    93
    40
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visiting one of the local favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Old Cunucu House was one of the best meals we have ever had. First of all Aruba is very Americanized; you have taco bells, McDonalds and KFC’s everywhere. When we leave the States for vacation we don’t want to eat the same food that is available in the USA. With that said, we looked high and low for authentic Aruban cuisines and we were told by several individuals to visit the Old Cunucu House.
We were unable to find the restaurant the first day we look for it, but we were determined to find it. The second day we found the location and we were greeted by two lovely ladies that were enthused to prepare a meal for us. We ordered the liver and the goat and OMG!!! Both of the meals were excellent. I also had the Pink Panther Drink from the bar specials, it was a very refreshing and tasty drink.
In all our experience was awesome and we look forward to returning on our next vacation to Aruba.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worse than Terrible!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The waiter was about 13-14years old. I ordered a glass of pinot and he looked at me like I had two heads. He had to go to the other room and ask. Came back 15 minutes later with our wine. At this point we asked him what the catch of the day was? He again proceeded to look at us like we were aliens. He then again went to the other room for guidance. He then said the Catch was Grouper and my wife asked what is the market price for the fish and he said he will have to ask. At this ponit I am done and needed to talk to a manager. I finally talked to the manager and his exact words were... "this is is first night as a server ever and we need to give him a break"!!!! I said someone needs to train him, and his response was, he doesnt have time, and had his own tables to take care of!! We left!!The worst 45 min of my Vacation!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Love the history of this house and restaurant. The food was delicious! I had a traditional Aruban goat dish. It was very good! Similar to what my grandma used to make. My husband had the conch. It was tender and tasty!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Where else can you get good goat stew?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is an interesting restaurant with a local atmosphere. The Aruban Sampler for appetizer was interesting and good. We both ordered Goat Stew because that is not something you can usually get in a restaurant. It was funny. Several different people came out of the kitchen to make sure that we really wanted goat stew. The stew was very good and the portions were large enough for us to take home and have lunch the next day. The service can be described as informally chaotic, but very cheerful and friendly. This added greatly to the charm of the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cunucu House also viewed

 

Been to Old Cunucu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Cunucu House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.