We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like eating at a favorite relative's home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Cunucu House

Old Cunucu House
Palm Beach 150, Noord, Aruba
(297) 586-1666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Noord
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Like eating at a favorite relative's home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went and were happy with our dinner. Three of us got the grouper in either lemon and butter or garlic, they all raved about it. The serving was huge. Served with potatoes, mixed veggies, and plantains. The other person got the traditional chicken dish, Keshia yena, served with the same sides. It was wonderful. We passed on the iguana soup but had the peanut cup dessert. That was a hot chocolate like drink with puréed peanuts. Tasted like a peanut cup cookie!
The service was slow by American standards, but good for Aruban standards. They were very attentive to out table and took time to tell us about the food.
We will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    93
    40
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good aruban food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Aruba for 20 years and eat at the Old Cunucu House every year. My wife gets the kaasiyana that she say's Is the best on the island. Nothing fancy here but the food is good and the staff is friendly. Well worth the visit for something you can't get at home

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln,RI,USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Aruban Manor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

On Thursday evening they offer a dinner/show. The entertainer is Fred deJong who sings like Frank Sinatra and Harry Connick, Jr. Reasonably priced food and good. Small charge for the entertainment.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Setting – Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate there on a recommendation from Madi’s Magical Tours. The "Cunucu House" was the main “ranch” house an Aruban family would build on land they got from the government. Then the kids would build their own houses on the ranch but the Cunucu was always the homestead. The Old Cunucu House is very authentic with many small rooms with one or two tables in each. It feels like eating at someone’s house. You can also eat outside on the porch. It’s obvious that this is a favorite of the locals. They were hosting a local party when we were there. I tried one of the local dishes, coconut shrimp. The sauce was very good but the shrimp weren’t the best. My wife’s chicken paste was good but not great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurelville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate here looking to eat some authentic Aruban food. We were disappointed in the service and most of the food. The food was not really good or really bad, but there was nothing to make us remember this place except the poor service and bad house wine. My wife ordered the white house wine and it tasted as if it were watered down. I can not say that it was, but it was not a good wine. The rest of us had ordered a bottle of red and we were ok. I have never tasted a wine that had no wine taste to it prior to this, and we travel extensively.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cunucu House also viewed

 

Been to Old Cunucu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Cunucu House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.