We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Taoun Street | P.O. Box 7306, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22084, Kuwait   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riyadh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Feel like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very good hotel.

Pluses
Types of room, e.g. Apartment, suit, etc
Swimming pools
Breakfast
Staff
Privacy
Location
Price
Facilities inside the room

Negatives
Parking
Beds
Beach (closed due to polluted sea water)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    45
    16
    8
    15
See reviews for
28
18
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was put up here on several occasions last year on work trips. I always ended up with a room facing the noisy and smelly car park, which has somewhat coloured my opinions.

The room itself is comfortable enough, with a good bed and bedding and loads of space. It was always clean and the bathroom well stocked with toiletries.

The outdoor swimming pool (there is no indoor one) is pretty poor, and could be mistaken for a pond. Swimming in the sea was never possible when I was there. The seaside vista is however pleasant.

I enjoyed sitting outside by the sea in the evening and taking in the sounds of the waves and the smell of scented tobacco, which was all pleasant and atmospheric. Breakfast was good and plentiful (a buffet). The restaurant was nothing special and not worth visiting for an evening meal. There is however an excellent Pizza Express next door - a favourite of mine.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isn't facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance (5 mins or less). I prefer the meals at the hotel. I ordered room service and the steak was cooked to perfection. Very spacious with a sitting area and small kitchen. Be sure to bring a camera and take pics on the beach. There aren't too many places with a lovely view of the water.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Even though the location is great, the rooms are good...

Their service is really really BAD, and constantly is bad, every time I go there I am worried about what is going to face me !!

I don't know the reasons, or whether they are under paid, but surely it has to do with their management, as the staff seems not very happy at all..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is located directly on the beach, if the weather is acceptable (rarely in Kuwait) having a walk would be out of this world. Very clean, very luxurious but very modern. I think it is slightly over priced as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed there one evening recently while my AC was out at my apartment. I've been there before and purchased treatments at the SPA. They have a great SPA, with reasonable prices for hotel spa's in Kuwait. Exercise room is very nice. Valet parking is good, but if you don't want to valet park, parking is limited. I was told to park in a side lot next door and walk over. Security was a bit annoying. I had to provide a name and show a room key just to walk from where I parked to my room. I also had to provide a name and room number and wait to be checked just to go to the pools. It wouldn't be bad, except they make you feel like you don't belong every time they check. It was annoying. The rooms were nice. Not a typical hotel room, more set up for extended stays with microwaves, etc. No mini bar in the room. The internet had decent speed and was free. Most of the grounds had wireless coverage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Moevenpick in June 2011. The food was amazing and there was so much variety. The gym and pools were clean and adequate and all staff that we encountered were very friendly and all seemed happy in their work place. The main thing I disliked was the smoking indoors but that's the norm in kuwait. We stayed on the first floor...we had a balcony that overlooked the sea. This room was very quiet. It's a bit tricky finding your way to the gym but we mastered it after a few days!! I.m not sure if it's good value...we were lucky that my husbands company paid for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Address: Al Taoun Street | P.O. Box 7306, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22084, Kuwait
Location: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait is situated on a stunning beach with white sand merging into azure waters. Located just 15minutes from Kuwait International Airport and ten minutes from Kuwait'swell-known shopping district in Salmiya, the hotel has a location that suits business and leisure travellers alike.With 280 rooms, five pools, two restaurants, two shisha terraces, a 200-metre private beach, health club, kids club and spa, Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a is a delightful destination for a day, a weekend or longer. Furthermore,wireless internet access is available in all rooms and public spaces of the property, including the beach area.Shopping destinations, restaurants and a cinema complex are also located nearby for those who would like to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Al Bida`a Kuwait
Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.