We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Spa Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spa Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   across from the Prima Oasis Hotel, Ein Bokek 86930, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Ein Bokek
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One to avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just spent three nights here as part of our honeymoon and were disappointed. The place really needs a renovation. The spa is fine but the rooms and rest of the hotel are dated. I had real concerns about the cleanliness of both our room and the hotel in general as well.

However, the main problem was the service. Hardly any of the staff spoke English to any level and the service would have made Fawlty Towers look like a 5 star resort. On the first night, it took half an hour and us asking four or five different members of staff for us to finally get someone to serve us a drink at the hotel bar - there was simply no one to help us. We also had to make a 'special request' at reception for our room to be cleaned...

The food was fine and there was a good range.

The only highlight was the entertainment in the bars - on night one there was a solitary old man with a saxophone who was very sweet. Night two was a really fun singer from Chicago and we ended up with a good old singalong in the bar which was reminiscent of the 80s classic TV show 'The Love Boat'.

If the management of this hotel thought a bit more about customer service and gave the place a thorough refurb, it could be great. Sadly, at the moment it definitely isn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCPRIMA, Manager at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing your opinion at the Tripadvisor.
Providing a better service is our goal, consequently we are grateful for your constructive notes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    18
    18
    14
See reviews for
25
73
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights. Room size was adequate although more space would have been good. Location is good - a few minutes walk to the dead sea and 5 minutes to a small shopping centre. Bus stop outside. Atmosphere generally quiet and chilled. Food is excellent and you'll need to control yourself with the range available. No lunch provided. One major issue for me was the lack of clean cutlery/crockery - in some cases it was caked in food. Taking a plate may require 5 attempts to find a clean one. In some cases, the waiters take plates when you're not finished with them if you leave your table to get something so would recommend being vigilant. Drying clothes was challenging as the bathroom has no fan and the only option is to hang clothes out a small window. Spa was pleasant, including 2 saunas, dead sea water pool, jacuzzi and a gym. Synagogue with regular services. Swimming pool outside although small. All in all a pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCPRIMA, Manager at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review about our hotel, we are very happy that your enjoyed your stay and will be happy to welcome you again as one of our guests in the future.
All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests,.

Hope to see you again in Israel
Spa Club Hotel Dead Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was 5 star treatment all the way. From the check in that went smoothly to check out. The staff was 100% attentive to whatever the needs were. The Tea Time was great for a change to get out of the sun and relax with lite chit chat with other guests, I think that the atmosphere speaks for itself. The hotel manager was pointed out to us and wherever you went she was looking after the guests to make sure everything was running smoothly. Whether in the dining room seating the guests or at the pool to make sure everything was running smoothly, you can see what this hotel has changed from the old days. I would highly recommend to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCPRIMA, Manager at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel.

One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay with us.

We hope you will be returning to stay with us in the Dead sea soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I think this hotel hasn't been updated since the 70s. Breakfast is in a room with almost no windows or decorations. Food was mediocre. Feels like the Catskills in the 70s (ok, I wasn't there then, but that's how I imagine it). Location is pretty good, just a short walk down to the Dead Sea and they have a shuttle (since it can be quite hot) and use of private beach area. Tiny towels for the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Dead Sea (of course!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we had a great weekend, very relaxing. although the lady at the front desk has no experience, the others have knew how to indemnify us. it was so good that there were no children and no cell phones.food was very good on Friday night but not on Saturday night.

Room Tip: we were in the 3rd floor and it was o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to this hotel specifically because it was children free hotel.
when we got in we found out that the very small pool was actually a communal pool of both spa club hotel and the oasis hotel.

this means that there were kids in the pool.
when we confronted the hotel about it, they said that we should have asked if the pool was joined in advanced.

in addition, the rooms were very small.
the bathroom was decent.

the food was inconsistent. on the first night the dinner wasn't very good at all. on the second night it was much better.

we had some spa treatments (there were three of us) the spa team was more than helpful. we had mixed feelings about the treatments themselves.

all in all, an OK experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Spa Club for 2 nights over a birthday weekend. The hotel is considered a 4 stars, but I think it's boutique hotel – no kids running around, no cellular phones in the public areas. Complete calm and serenity.
Arrived late and missed dinner – without having to ask or say anything, we got a free lunch instead of the dinner that we missed. Along with a plate of fruits at the room and a bottle of mineral water.
Breakfast had enough variety without having to seem overloaded with food. Even though the hotel was full, we did not feel it at the meals times nor at the spa.
Friday night dinner was great – alongside with traditional Israeli Shabbat food, there were other dishes – all were well prepared and well spiced with good taste – not too much salt or too much pepper and so on. Desserts too were good – considering the challenge of non-dairy products when having a meat meal – according to Jewish Kosher cuisine tradition.
The spa was great- was enough room for everyone, even it was full – it did not feel that way. The Turkish style Hamam was great, so were the rest of the facilities – wet sauna, dry sauna, Jacuzzi, salt mineral water pool. The hotel has Dead Sea private beach facilities just across the road – 3 minutes walk or a ride on a buggy cart that leaves every 20 minutes. Remember to take sun protection to the beach!
The hotel roof has a solarium which is neatly taken care of, with warm and cold drinks for free too. Solarium is separated for men and women.
Hotel lobby offers free fruit and herbal tea all along.
Took a spa treatment of warm stones massage – was really good and price was reasonable too.
All in all, if I look back to the hotels that I've stayed in at the Dead Sea, there is no doubt that the Spa Club is one of the best, if not "the" best. I highly recommend the Spa Club at the Dead Sea. I'm sure to be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Club Hotel

Address: across from the Prima Oasis Hotel, Ein Bokek 86930, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Club hotel is the first spa hotel of its kind in the entire Dead Sea region. Situated on the shores of the Dead Sea. The Hotel also holds a VIP lobby and spa facilities designed in authentic Moroccan style, fitness center, private beach, and outdoor pool. No smoking, no cell phones, age 18 and up only. . • 91 Rooms (2 Wheelchair Accessible Rooms) • 7 Delux Rooms • Daily VIP treat, daily newspaper in room • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Breakfast buffet served until 12 noon • Healthy tea infusions served throughout the day (complimentary) • Free access to a deluxe Spa featuring: Personal sulfur baths, wet & dry Finnish sauna & Turkish Hamam Heated indoor Dead Sea water pool and outdoor swimming pool Fitness room VIP spa-suites with private Jacuzzi, for couples massage • Solarium • Private beach • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Spa Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Club Hotel Ein Bokek
Spa Club Hotel Dead Sea, Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.