We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed Opportunities, but still good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Spa Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spa Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   across from the Prima Oasis Hotel, Ein Bokek 86930, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Ein Bokek
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Missed Opportunities, but still good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We are here now...spent a little time in the sea, then spa, then a GREAT dinner. Oddly, the hotel has no rooms facing the sea. We are on the end with a 3 foot window in the corner facing the water, even though we have a 15 foot wall which could have windows with views.

This area is extremely expensive...we are paying $277/night for a double room which is what they had available last minute. The room is sparse but comfy. Only two bath towels in the bathroom, no soap dish, and plastic furniture, which I realized was because of the waters. Still seems odd :)

We enjoyed the spa..quite
beautiful with the sea waters in the swimming pool.

The dinner at the hotel was going to be $30 per person which we didn't want to pay...for a buffet, so we ventured out across the street to the sea side. We found a GREAT cafe called "CafeCafe". Incredible menu and the food was the best I've had in two weeks in the Middle East. They also have a full bar if you care to indulge. The place doesn't look like much, and the service is so-so, which it seems to be in general around here, but the food is amazing.

SO, without thinking about it, we walked across the street, plopped down in a chair, then walked into the sea. Very dumb! You really need shoes unless your feet are tough. Then I decided to swim because I couldn't walk. Dumb again. I smacked my hand on a salt crystal and cut it up pretty well. I have a cold and have been blowing my nose. DO NOT TOUCH YOUR FACE with the salt water on your hands! My nose was burning, my eyes, the new cut on my hand, and also my feet.

I'm not usually a klutz...but this place needs user friendly directions rather than just being handed a very skimpy towel.

There is a hotel next door...Rimini or something that has balconies and every room has a sea view if you go out on the balcony. I don't know the pricing over there, but that is where I would look into next time.

There is a hotel called the Gardens that looks like an old hospital...really dreary. AND some people have written about the age of the guests here...guess I'd have to agree, but I'm in my 50's and felt right at home. Funny people, right out of Central Casting... "People who go to European Spas and are over 50". Lots of New York Jews ...doing their New York thing.

Overall good experience. Just a little austere in service and comforts.

And in response to noise...Walking down the hall on the way to our room, I could hear people in the rooms...including loud TV's, but we don't hear anything in our room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    18
    18
    14
See reviews for
25
73
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

2 months after I had a very pleasant stay in Oasis Dead sea(see tripadvisor March 2011)
I stayed now in it's bigger brother Spa club which shares the same beautiful spa facilities,
but it's guests get there more free time and more free benefits.very good.
The room in Spa club was bigger and higher,so I had a wider and nicer panoramic view of the red sea and the red mountains around from the 6th.floor.
BUT the best thing for me was the fact that they don't let creaming and restless kids with thier narvous parents to stay in this hotel(they are sent to Oasis),
and no cellular phones or smoking in the public areas(and the spa areas).WONDERFUL.
a real relaxation.
The staff was nice and friendly as always.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Webmaster at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
How wonderful that you returned to stay with us and that you took the time to write such a great review! We are glad you appreciated the relaxing atmosphere and we hope that you return to stay with us. I will forward your kind words to the staff. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the spa facilities. The variety of baths, steam rooms, pools, etc. was excellent and though they were crowded at times, one could always find a place to fit in. The other guests, all adult, were generally friendly and seemed happy to be there. The food(breakfast and dinner) was good and the quantities were quite sufficient without being overly wasteful. From the time we were greeted by the excellent receptionist, Nuriel, until we left, we felt taken care of. My wife had a massage which was professional and helpful. The pre-dinner free snacks of fruit and juice was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Manager at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review.
We take pride in the concept of our hotel and we are glad you found everything to be comfortable and to your liking.
Hopefully we will see you back with us in the Dead Sea soon. Again, thank you for posting your comments and for recommending our hotel.

Hag Samech !
Prima Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

After a long session in the university me and my friend decided to have a nice relaxing holiday in Israel and chose SpaClub as it was strongly recommended by everyone as a quite place where you can just relax. What is in reality? Everything was quite ok, but one thing was just terrible. Personal, who cleaned our room. Russian women, who maybe didn't understand that tablet "Shhh!" on our door meant they shouldn't speak loud. No, they didn't speak loudly, they were just shouting!Singing!And what not!I won't wonder if someday they'd dance. I'm Russian myself, but during our holiday I've learnt so many Russian bad words, about which I just didn't know! At 8 o'clock in the morning they started they discussions and finally we knew who was doing something, where when with whom and how!It was terrible. In our tour we had breakfasts included. Don't take them! There was just nothing to eat. Lunches they don't have at all. And the cost for dinner is about 120-140 shekels. There also wasn't a great variety of meal. We had so great dinners in Daniel Hotel for the same money and Daniel is really good. If I knew, I'd prefer Isrotel, Daniel or Le Meridian. Crown Plaza is also very good. The other "perfect" part of our tour was just yesterday. We arrived in Ovda(Airport) and were the first in the queue for customs. We stayed in it for 4 hours! They just ignored pairs of girls.Family couples, children, men, everybody was passing. But not pairs of girls. The time of departure was 16.30. It was already 17.00. They were chatting, laughing and didn't pay any attention. We were 7 people. Somebody said them that we'll be late for the plane. What did they answered? It was some kind of "shut up. i ask questions and you answer". Finally there was one delay on 1.10 hour and it was terrible. To sum up, if some day I decide to return, I won't fly in Ovda and won't live in SpaClub.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Manager at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns about our hotel as we are always working to make our guests' stays better.
We have forwarded your review to the relevant personnel as you concerns are very unusual.
As evidenced by many of the other guest reviews, the Spa Club hotel is known for its calm environment and relaxing atmosphere. Additionally, the food is recommended very highly and the reason that the hotel is not serving lunch is because the breakfast is served everyday till 12 in the afternoon.
We do apologize for your stay and we hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you the merits of our hotel.
Thank you again and your comments will only help us improve for future customers.

Prima Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Somebody planned this hotel with some great ideas in mind: exellent tea for free in lobby, relaxing athmosfere without cellular phones and kids around, nice SPA. You can see the bathrooms have been resently renovated . BUT! The rooms are small, with old furniture, no balkony, small windows. They do give you bathrobes, but demand to leave a deposit for it. Pool and Spa are common with the Oasis hotel, so there are people with kids and cellular phones and sigarettes. But unlike the visitors of Oasis, Spa Club guests have some priveleges, like enterance to the Spa facilities from 18.00 to 22.00 (except on tuesdays), and late breakfast 'till 12.00 noon. Spa is nice, but very small, hammam is great, Jakuzzi is for 8 people. Breakfast was great, best breakfast ever! But supper was not good, with no tea or coffee to drink, just water. So in general it is nice hotel, but some things need to be improved.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Webmaster at Spa Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your stay with us at the Spa Club Dead Sea. We are glad that you enjoyed the concept of the hotel and the Spa amenities. We are also happy that we understand can be improved and I have forwarded your comments and concerns to the relevant personnel. We hope you will come and give us a second chance on your next trip to Israel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The location is fabulous. You do have to cross a street to get to the beach but that is not tough. The place takes itself rather too seriously. The indoor pool was so packed you had to wait in line for a standing position by the wall. We were there only one night so there was not enough time to book a spa treatment. Breakfast was fine, lots of choices. We paid premium for a triple room and were given a double with a roll-away. Staff was a mixed bag. Some were pleasant, others surly. Internet access is pricey - on top of what you are already paying seems an insult. I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I didn't believe they would actually not allow cellular phones! It made the atmosphere in the dining room and lobby so pleasant and relaxing. I read many reveiws before we went and was surprised for the good. The staff was very nice and helpful. The treatments in the spa were very good. The saunas and the turkish hamam were nice. The spa was a bit small so I just went to th e beach of the dead sea- very convienient. The outdoor pool was nice but cold they only heat " in January". The rooms were clean and comftorble. All in all a great very relaxing much needed vacation!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Club Hotel

Address: across from the Prima Oasis Hotel, Ein Bokek 86930, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Club hotel is the first spa hotel of its kind in the entire Dead Sea region. Situated on the shores of the Dead Sea. The Hotel also holds a VIP lobby and spa facilities designed in authentic Moroccan style, fitness center, private beach, and outdoor pool. No smoking, no cell phones, age 18 and up only. . • 91 Rooms (2 Wheelchair Accessible Rooms) • 7 Delux Rooms • Daily VIP treat, daily newspaper in room • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Breakfast buffet served until 12 noon • Healthy tea infusions served throughout the day (complimentary) • Free access to a deluxe Spa featuring: Personal sulfur baths, wet & dry Finnish sauna & Turkish Hamam Heated indoor Dead Sea water pool and outdoor swimming pool Fitness room VIP spa-suites with private Jacuzzi, for couples massage • Solarium • Private beach • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Spa Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Club Hotel Ein Bokek
Spa Club Hotel Dead Sea, Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.