We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Masada Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ein Bokek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Masada Hostel
Save
You added The Masada Hostel to your Saves list
Ein Bokek, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Jerusalem
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Actually a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is at the higher end for a back packer. Although it is considered a hostel, the rooms are new and neat, has a nice pool and the food is fantastic. Beyond the average hostel if you ask me..
The bus from Jerusalem or Eilat takes you strait there and you can start the day early, climb Masada and watch the sunrise from the top.
A beautiful trail going through the moon-like terrain starts at the hostel, ending at road 90. This tour is magnificent at night - if there is a moon, make sure to bring a camera and a tripod.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view. i like those near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
41
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Right next to Masada, so location can't be beaten. It's a newish hostel so facilities are good. Of course, there'll be large groups of school kids in the hostel, but that's ok for a night.

Masada is definitely worth a visit ... take the cable car up and walk back down.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We took two rooms at the Masada Guest house, although four people can fit if one is willing to take a top bunk. They are designed to accommodate groups, with the bathroom arranged so that the shower, toilet, and sinks are separate from one another. Towels were provided, as well as plastic packets of shampoo, but this was the one place we stayed where I was very glad to have packed my own towel and toiletries.

We had dinner in the dining hall (about $12 pp), which was a buffet reminiscent of a college cafeteria. Not bad. (It was winter and dark very early, so we didn't feel like looking elsewhere, and this was a nice option to have.) The breakfast was also a fairly nice spread, included in the room rate ($105/night/room).

We were able to store our luggage in the office while touring Masada. This isn't necessary for those who get up early to climb before dawn and come back down before check-in time, but it was nice to have that option.

One unfortunate issue was that the elevator was out of order when we visited. This probably wouldn't be an issue for backpackers, but it was quite a schlep for a family of rour touring the country for two weeks with luggage we didn't want to leave in the car.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a hostel charging hotel prices. You are better off to pay to have a tour of the Dead Sea/Masada and stay in Jerusalem - than to stay in this "hostel". The staff was extremely cold every time we had to deal with them. It is a rather new facility and was clean and the free breakfast was very ample.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was a little skeptical at first to book a room at The Masada Hostel but after staying there I am glad that I did. For the money it's a great deal. All the other hotels in the dead sea region are very expensive. As we requested our reservation was waiting for us at the front desk and we had a room to ourselves. The front desk was nice and helpful and spoke English perfectly. It's about a 10-15 minute drive to Ein Bokek to restaurants and the public beach which we took advantage of during the day. It's also a 5-10 minute drive to the Ein Gedi area where you can hike the nature reserve as well. There is only one main road so it's almost impossible to get lost driving around the dead sea region.
We woke up and hiked up Masada at 5 a.m. It was perfect because we walked from our room about 50 yards away to the entrance/guard booth of Masada. It's very easy to find. The hike was amazing and difficult and well worth it. When we came back down at 8 a.m. breakfast in the main dining hall was going on. It was really good food with a large selection.

I would definitely stay here again if we come back and hike Masada. The place was relatively clean and nice enough considering it is a hostel (although it doesn't feel like one). The shower was really nice too.

Make sure to request your own room and you'll be set.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I found the Masada Hostel to be a very nice surprise. We stayed there to climb the Masada at 4:30 in the morning. For this purpose, it was great. The Hostel itself reminded me more of a hotel than a hostel. It was a brand new facility. The staff was great and the free breakfast was generous. Just remember that when you stay there, you are out in the middle of nowhere. The nearest towns are Ein Bokek or Ein Gedi which are both 20 minutes away by bus. It was a fun way to stay at the Dead Sea away from the tourist hotels. If you are going to climb the Masada, you must stay here and get the real experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed ther for one night as the visit of Masada is best when leaving at 4.30am to be able to enjoy the sunset from the fort.

The staff was very friendly.

The dorm room was very clean and had its own very large bathroom. The aircon cannot be turned off and it resulted in me having a sore throat and losing my voice the next day for about a week.

After the visit of the fort, you have time to come back down to the hostel and enjoy the breakfast that's included in the bedroom. The breakfast is an immense varied and fresh buffet.

The swimming pool is the best especially when you have not quite adjusted to the desert heat yet. It is quite amazing to be able to swim while losing yourself in the desert view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Masada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masada Hostel

Address: Ein Bokek, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
The Masada Hotel Ein Bokek
Masada Hostel Ein Bokek
The Masada Hostel Dead Sea, Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Masada Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.