We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated, upgraded -A good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ein Bokek, Ein Bokek 86980, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Renovated, upgraded -A good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It used to belong to the General Workers Union in Israel. The building is a good architectural example of the 60'-70'. The Isrotel chain has taken it and renovated it thoroughly a couple of years ago. Situated on the slopes of the Judean Desert in the hub of hotels near the Dead Sea. Most rooms face east toward the views of Jordan and the sea. It is not a big hotel and it is a big plus: Hospitable, elegant & simple interior-design, well kept with a good amount of stuff to cater for guests' needs. Apparently they have good people in the kitchen as well -the food is good and ample; for diabetic people you can ask for a special desert and it is 'home-made'and not bought. The spa is very busy with 2 salt-water pools that are not too big. It will be a good advise to call in advance of coming to book a massage or some other treatment -as their hands are full! The only criticism I have is that you have to pay for internet access. In this day and age -this is a bit below standards.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    134
    70
    26
    18
See reviews for
127
151
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have chosen this hotel because it was described as the best place at the Dead Sea.

I thought the price was high, but I was willing to pay for the "best place". I was very disappointed by the hotel's condition. This is not an elegant place based on my experience in Israel.

The bigger issue I had with the hotel was noticing that online in Hebrew the price was offered at 1,100 shekels less than in dollars! After my sister investigated the situation copied the 2 different pages on the hotel site, and sent an official letter, the management agreed to refund $325. The bookkeeper, Robert G., informed me that the credit was approved and he printed that refund for me. However, they never refunded the money to my credit card company.

This kind of information is not likely to be noticed by a tourist that does not read Hebrew. I did and I was very upset about that.

Now, to the condition of the hotel and other items that displeased me: The bathroom floor was unclean, the tile was broken. A guest could be injured stepping on the floor. The counters were stained.

There was no clock in the room. There was no brochure. I was given a copy of a 2 page print out that looked un-professional.

I requested to not change my linen and towels and was told that it is their policy to do so regardless of guest preference. Seems foolish to me when water and electricity could be saved.
They went into the room, but did not remove the 2 wet robes I left for that purpose.

They charged for internet in the room and the hotel premises. When you can have free internet practically everywhere in Israel, it makes no sense to charge for it at the hotel.

The positive was the food service. The staff were helpful and the food was good, except for the fact that they served Halva and dried fruits wrapped in a newspaper! That is a big turn off for anyone who is concerned with hygiene. I think my 3 stars is generous.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent weekend (11-13 of December 2014) in this hotel.
First of all: I've visited all 5 star hotels in Ein Bokek and Neve Zohar, except Royal and David. To my mind, Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel is the best:
- good rooms,
- exceptionally good meal (I booked HB),
- good entertainment program,
- private beach by shuttle (with too cold water now),
- good Spa, where Dead Sea water pool has two parts - indoor and outdoor.
The only thing was negative - the service in Spa. There was a regular lack of towels. We needed to wait when they will bring new delivery...
When I complained to Spa Administrator, she said me: "What do you want? Its end!"
So too bad little thing can spoil the impression of a good hotel...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stay at this hotel several times a year and as always we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Moav rooms which are upgraded rooms, including free entry to the VIP lounge, breakfast in a seperate room, newspaper etc. The rooms are good, wouldn't hurt to give them a re-modeling but they are spacious well equipped view is great.
Food in the dining rooms is plentiful with a very big choice, but taste is "hotelish" no fireworks... The main problem is that the cooks behind the counters are very impolite , and gives you a feeling that you are bothering them if you dare ask a question.
The spa is good, the dead sea water pool is well kept and looks relatively clean the sulphur pool treatment ie wonderful. My wife took the mud wrap treatment which was dissapointing the mud wasn't warm thus didn't didn't get the right affect....
Bottom line this is one of the best hotels, certainly the best hotel in the Dead Sea , however they need to invest some money in a freshening up and some refurbishment , and pay attention to the service...

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best hotel in the Dead Sea area - the rooms are spacious and well decorated, the reception and eating areas are also modern and nice. Furthermore wine and beer is on tap during dinner which is great!

The outdoor pool is great and there are activities for kids. However the indoor dead sea pool and spa is extremely busy and therefore not overly relaxing. The facilities are nevertheless good. I enjoyed a nice massage although wearing disposable underwear was slightly odd.

I would love to come back off season.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The dead sea is a wonderful place for a trip either if you are local or not
Isrotel dead sea makes all your dreams come true , great location all the rooms has a sea view , the spa is one of the best in all area , the food is far beyond satisfactory even the smell around the public area is "wow". They have a private beach which makes it very special and comfort

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Everything is really fine and beautiful until you want to order a drink, or anything else for that matter, and charge it to your room. Then you find out that you will not be able to do so or to order anything unless you pay there and then. Why? This is a good question... It turns out that when you check in nobody bothers to tell you that you have to get a "credit" prior to using the indoors facilities.... So please do make sure you do that when you check in in order not to faced with an unpleasant situation.
Apart from that everything is peaceful, fine and clean - the staff is on the whole very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Dead Sea from the 4th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa

Address: Ein Bokek, Ein Bokek 86980, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel And Spa
Hotel Isrotel Dead Sea
Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isrotel Dead Sea Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.