We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel at the Dead Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added David Spa & Resort to your Saves list
David Spa & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Ein Bokek 89680, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best hotel at the Dead Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have stayed in the hotel with my husband in July 2011. I had stayed in other hotels at the Dead Sea in the past and I decided to go back to Meridien because it is really the best in the area. The hotel is very big, and one of the expensive ones. The room and the bathroom were clean and specious, the service was very good as well. They have a nice spa - indoor and outdoor dead sea water pool, sulfur pools, sauna, etc. There is a sweet water pool as well. The food is just DELICIOUS! The dining room was crowded and a bit messy (lots of kids), but you can still enjoy your dinner.
We had just a bad experience with the hotel bar where we wanted to get a lunch. It took them lots of time to bring us a toast and a pizza (after two complaints and a threat that we will cancel the order and leave). The manager apologized and we got coffee for free but we anyway wasted lots of time there.

Room Tip: I think that is worth to add extra money to get a better room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    147
    98
    112
    157
See reviews for
185
225
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Standard rooms, but beautiful view over the dead sea. However, the restaurant and service was probably the worst I have ever experienced. There are very few restaurant choices by the dead sea, so it is worth finding a hotel, where the food is at least reasonable. This was our experience:

The restaurant reminded me more of a school canteen than an actual restaurant - with a buffet and non existent service. Apart from the design, it was very dirty. The tables were not cleaned up. Dirty dishes and glasses were left on the tables, and food and crumbs were left all over the floors. The food was uneatable almost. We had looked forward to a beautiful restaurant, perhaps with an a la carte menu and some great wines. Or at the very least with a carvery section with beautiful meats and fish, fresh salads and fresh fruits. What we found was undercooked or overcooked dreadful pasta. Salads covered in mayonnaise. Meat that had been overcooked to such an extent it did not even resemble meat any more. The desserts looked good, but tasted synthetic and artificial.

The chefs were non-existent. Not one staff member in the restaurant understood what we said. They simply did not understand or speak English. We asked for some red wine. White sweet wine arrived. We sent it back - three times this happened... Overall, very disappointing and would not recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I are going to stay at LeMeridien in November, 2011.
Trying to contact the hotel's manager for the transportation purposes for the past three month and to no avail.
Who could say they value our business?

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for two nights, the rooms are ok, big and good beds, the food is really not good, the breakfast has plenty of things but nothing really tasty, the spa and the pool are nice, but the access to the sea is quite hard, you need either to take their shuttle or to walk donwhill for like 10 min! The service was really not good!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

To be Honest, i know what to expect from Dead Dea Hotels, ratings and prices are too high and should not be compared to same name hotels in Europe or USA having stayed here for many years now, little changes,though to be fair this hotel is being slowly updated, now run by an Israeli group, Fattal' chain, neither original group the Hyatt or Le Meridien could make a go of this big hotel,this year the large pool was,shut due to a leak. Not sure if its open again yet? We are long stay for health reasons,Only reason for staying here as rooms are larger and we know other people who have to come.Food is ok to eat and salad is normally good, meals not fantastic but as good as any hotel in the area,which because of location,all hotels employee many ex army and or imigrant folk, who may not really want to be there, however' attitude was better than last time, though no way good enough yet for cost and supposed standard for many, would we.come back, yes but do not expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: We stay on 14 th floor upwards, rarely found hotel too Noisy after lots of trips here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms are very spacious with stunning views and beds you never want to leave! The bathroom is also luxurious and good sized balcony to have drinks on. The spa area has something for everyone but I really loved the facial and Dead Sea pool. We ate at the hotel almost every night, good choice of food with particularly great lunches. We will indeed be back next year for another holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side can be noisy with children but I still like the buzz of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The rooms are the largest and the most modern. The bathroom is spacious and clean. I'm always asked if everything meet my expectations and if they can do more....The staff looks after their long term guests to meet our needs. I've been to the other hotels and see a big difference here in the way we're treated. They enjoy having us at the Meridian, Dead Sea and I highly recommend it.
Sincerely,
Sharon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Spa & Resort

Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 89680, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — David Spa & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your David Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Spa & Resort Dead Sea, Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.