We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place for a special holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herods Hotel Dead Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Herods Hotel Dead Sea to your Saves list
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ein Bokek 86910, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A very good place for a special holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel gives one a very good return for one's money. The location is excellent, with a private beach at the Dead Sea, the Dead Sea water indoor pool is exceptionally big and pleasant, the swimming pool is big, shaded and clean, the fitness room is nice, the food is excellent and the choice is huge, the entertainment program every night is beautiful, and, in addition, there are many other lectures during the day. All the rooms face the sea, so the view from the rooms is great.
There is some maintenance problem - not all the elevators worked; in some floors plastic cups next to the water fountain were missing for some time, but the advantages of this hotel far exceed the small problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    77
    43
    28
    23
See reviews for
108
121
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

While the property is showing its age compared to others nearby, overall its a decent value. The buffet food was excellent, and the staff were friendly and attentive-- some even going out of their way to greet us and ask how we were doing. There is a kids playroom with video games, puppet shows, arts and crafts, movies, and a staff facilitator. The pool is large with a separate shallow children's pool and a ping-pong table. Don't bother with the tiny neglected weed-overgrown playground. The spa looked more modern but we didn't use any of their services. Ramps allow wheelchair access to the Dead Sea shore. We booked after joining the Fattal Club (owners of the hotel chain), expecting upgrades or discounts upon check-in, but were told Club perks are only for those who book via the Fattal website (sigh). Our weekend did include free Friday night use of the "Luna Park" (kids water park) at the Leonardo Club Hotel next door (10 minute walk)-- but be aware you aren't allowed to use other Leonardo hotel properties' facilities (like the pool) at any other time. If you do compare the two properties, the Leonardo Club Hotel looks nicer, more modern, and has a better pool area for kids. Our room at the Leonardo Plaza had a standard coffee/tea setup and a closet safe-- too small for a MacBook laptop but an iPad fits fine inside the safe. Minor disappointments included the smell of garbage dumpsters wafting over the parking lot and the whole front of the building, and the lack of air-conditioning on our floor's hallway (so the hallway is almost as stifling as outdoor heat but the room's air conditioner worked fine).

We observe Jewish Shabbat traditionally, and the Leonardo Plaza makes this easy to do. There is a Shabbat elevator and you can get a Shabbat-friendly room key instead of the keycard. At check-in, you may authorize your credit card for on-site purchases instead of handling cash. Also, if you would like to check out after Shabbat is over (later than the hotel's standard check-out time), you may do so at no charge but you must tell the receptionist upon check-in. A caveat: while you get everything you need to observe Shabbat, be aware that the hotel's public facilities (and most guests) don't observe Shabbat. This means that during Shabbat, the kids playroom has all entertainment electronics active and pop music is played loudly by the swimming pool (not loud enough to disturb guests' sleep in their rooms). There was free Friday night entertainment near the lobby: musicians, ice cream cones, and a mind-reading act. The pool closes at about 9PM but guests can step outside to the Dead Sea at any time; a swim or beachside rest by moonlight can be magical.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Dead Sea, so don't miss the lovely sunrise over the Jordanian mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

we enjoyed very much our day at the Leonardo Plaza Dead sea... the service , the massage was very good and professional..... we look forward to coming back to the same place very soon....Ety and Tamir.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

After travelling the globe and staying in countless hotels, this is my first review, as it's the first time I have REALLY felt that Tripadvisor led me astray in my choice of hotels. I was looking to spend a relaxing weekend on my own at the Dead Sea (I'm here for work from San Francisco and had a weekend to kill). Tripadvisor review and ratings led me to the Leonardo Plaza. Let me just say that the hotel is very outdated, but the real problem lies in the fact that it's not clean. The dishes are dirty, I found several long black hairs in my food, stains on my sheets, grime all around the water cooler in the lobby, it was just gross. The food & beverage manager did his best to fix it and even hand-washed my dishes, but when I went to pour my next cup of coffee and looked into the mug and saw all the grime that coated it, I had to leave. I switched to Le Meridien, and it was the right choice. Clean, friendly staff, great food served on clean dishes. I will say that I had a great massage at Leonardo with Claudio and that it's nice to be on the beach (Leonardo is, Le Meridien isn't), but if you're looking for a clean, friendly place to stay, go to Le Meridien.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize on behalf of the Hotel and the staff that we did not succeed in giving you a complete & satisfying hospitality experience.

We will do our best to improve our service as you presented in your letter for the future, we must state though that this is not the norm for our hotel service.

I want to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and I promise to rectify the problems in conjuncture with the Managers responsible for those areas.
We value your input as a guest and all complaints are taken seriously to assure an enjoyable stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing once again as a guest in our hotel, and you will see that we have improved and rectified the issue.

Yours sincerely

Avraham Amar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Shmona, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

אפשר הקלדה פונטית




































ערבית



עברית



אנגלית







From the moment we arrived to the hotel greeted us with a smile and a good welcome
The service given by the staff was wonderful, the most common processed to the hotel manager.
The food was wonderful.
The hotel is clean and upgraded
Strongly recommend to book a holiday now

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is very outdated and requires replacement of furniture and carpets in the rooms and the dining room.

The mattresses in sleeping, uncomfortable and cause back pain.

Note that the curtain is not completely shut off the light and in the morning it disturbs sleep late

Air conditioning - the hall did not work at all, and the rooms is very weak and not noticeable. The hotel's technicians also invited into the room, said air conditioner is new but not tested it at all.

Dining room - was a big load of guests. It was necessary to wait several minutes to the entrance to the dining room and find a table.

It should be noted favorably that the chef prepared our daughter a special meat dish gluten free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Herods Hotel Dead Sea, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the hotel.
Although the hotel is quite old, we are constantly renovating different areas of the hotel facilities in order to improve guest satisfaction, for example the lobby area, the beach front and several rooms.
We strive to improve our service to our guests and would be happy to hear any further comments you may have to help us do so.
Please feel free to contact at:
Sapirla@fattal.co.il
Thank you
Sapir Levy Garcia
Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel for the price I paid but it is a very old hotel. I was in very hot week and the air condition was not able to cool the room, this is the only problem that I had, except for that even that this is old hotel the spa is very good and good food with big choice.
It has a beach which is very important if you want to spend time in the see.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herods Hotel Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herods Hotel Dead Sea

Address: Ein Bokek 86910, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herods Hotel Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herods Hotel Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moriah Plaza Dead Sea Hotel
Neve Zohar Sheraton
Sheraton Neve Zohar
Herods Hotel Dead Sea Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herods Hotel Dead Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.