We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovated excellent value. 4 star quality.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isrotel Ganim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isrotel Ganim to your Saves list
Isrotel Ganim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   M.P Ein Bokek, Ein Bokek 86930, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“renovated excellent value. 4 star quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were hesitant to stay at this hotel after seeing the previous reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel has almost completed renovations. The rooms are new, well equipped and very comfortable. The pool is excellent and the beach is a short walk from the hotel. Dinner was very good. It certainly deserves the 4 star rating. The only criticism is the slow elevator.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
58
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Ganim for almost two weeks during the Dead Sea Festival which we were part of as a group, so I cannot say anything about the cost as it was covered by our company. During the time it was to undergo some renovations as it was quite old and reminiscent of the ex-communist era style with dated furniture in the rooms.
The pool is nice and big, but not fancy. You can easily do you laps there. On the rooftop there is a nudist solarium with separated sections for men and women.
The food is quite good, but becomes predictable after a few days. One strange thing is that they don't have coffee or tea after the lunch and dinner meals even though there are tons of desserts.
The reason for this as I found out later, is because the coffee and tea up cups used are "dairy" cups only and since meat is offered at lunch and dinner it is not kosher to use these cups for tea and coffee. I found this extremely frustrating as I always have dessert with tea or coffee. The only solution to this is to ask for a paper cup at the bar and then bring a tea-bag down from your room and ask for hot water.....this is kosher Israel for you and all hotels, by law, have to abide by dietary kosher laws.
The staff are polite, but could use a tips on better customer service...kind of old soviet-era style.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Please, pay attention when booking. There are 2 isrotel hotels. This one it is called "Isrotel Ganim Hotel Dead Sea" and it is known as a 4-stars-hotels but in my opinion, it is a poor-2-stars-hotel (please, no offense to 2-stars-hotels)
Type of room: Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
Opinion:
The room was dirty (in particular the bathrooms, with a lot of fungus!).
Besides, the equipement is very old. For example, the TV and the bed covers... they look like a donation of my grand-mother!
The breakfast is poor -employees are unpolite.
I mean, the standard room costs 207 dolars and it is nothing to do with a 4 stars hotel. It is too expensive!.
Further more, the employees at the reception are also unpolite and do not have any idea how to assist a guest.
On the other hand, the spa has 2 heated water pools of the Dead Sea. That is great. But it is not the only spa which has this kind of pool with dead sea water. Anyway, it is worth pay 1 day spa (attention: it closes at 18h30)
I didn't go to their privat beach of the dead sea. It was far away.
Had I known, I would rather have stayed at another hotel. It was a waste of money.
In conclusion, with my experience in hotels, I am able to say that this one, it is a poor-2-stars with a very good spa (no offense to 2-stars-hotels).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

First of all, as already stressed a couple of times, there are two Isrotels, and the Isrotel Ganim is the older one. I stayed (unfortunately) in the Ganim and not the newer one, which is some 100m further down the road. Someone from Tripadvisor should open up an account for the nicer Isrotel Hotel. However, since the headline says "Isrotel Ganim" it deserves the bad rating as follows:

Out of priciple, I deduct two stars for every hotel that has the audacity to charge extra for Internet (in this case a ridicolous 25 NIS for one hour) just to screw up the tripadvisor rating and hopefully stop this postmodern version of "highway robbery" eventually. In the year 2012 I do not wan't to pay extra for commodities like Internet or tap water, especially considering a step price of 6600 NIS per night (low season). Since this Hotel is 2 to max 3 stars before applying special Internet downgrade, it is 1 star after deduction.

Why is that?

- rooms are somewhere from the 90s and haven't seen renovation since then. Mould in the shower, smelly curtains, ugly carpets etc.
- SPA area is smelly and cramped with obese and rude peasants from a former communist empire (the very unpleasant kind of people this former empire exports, lately also to Israel).

One general comment on Ein Bokek. Everywhere else in Israel I experienced the Israeli as well-mannered, friendly and helpful, ah and excellent command of the Englisch language not to forget. However, in Ein Bokek it is rather different. Maybe manners and communication skills are tailored to the target tourist group here.

Make sure that you get the Isrotel (http://www.isrotel.com/isrotel_dead_sea/) and not the Ganim if you wan't to spend a nigh here.

What else, try the Taj Mahal for Dinner. Nice atmosphere and good food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinings, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

First of all there are two Isrotel hotels in Erin borek and the ganim hotel is a poor stepchild. There is no signage from the street so you have to drive up to the gate and beep your horn until someone notices you. There is a charge for internet which we found out only works for one device and you cannot even alter devices. When we tried to call tech support the hotel said we had to pay for an open line,,, on top of that the room smells like a used box of kitty litter. And the "spa" is a pool and jacuzzi that closes at 6:45 pm. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is that every room has a good view of the dead sea. Do not stay here unless that is all you want.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isrotel Ganim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isrotel Ganim

Address: M.P Ein Bokek, Ein Bokek 86930, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isrotel Ganim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Isrotel Ganim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isrotel Ganim Dead Sea, Israel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isrotel Ganim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.