We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eychenne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eychenne to your Saves list
Hotel Eychenne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Avenue Paul Laffont, 09200 Saint-Girons, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Girons
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel has a beautiful garden with small pool , too bad it the only place we have rain. They even have a few cages parrots in the garden. Staff are courteous and smiling and knowledge of English. Room itself was large and spacious.Simple breakfast cost 12 euros. No hurry to fill the emptying trays and we are still waiting for the fruit salad we wanted to get, so you can stock up on food off and save 24 euro. there is no elevator so its will be hard to get to the second floor with a heavy suitcase

Room Tip: take light suitcase due for no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Eychenne as part of a 2 week Pyrenees cycling trip. We definitely wished we could have stayed there longer! When our 12 person cycling group arrived in the afternoon to the hotel, we were very happy to see that there was a beautiful swimming pool to cool off and refresh in - in fact, several cyclists who were staying at the hotel for a week were already doing so! We found the staff to be incredibly friendly and accommodating to a large group of cyclists (apparently Lance Armstrong used to frequent the hotel during training season also). Our room was large and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also lovely, the only let-down being a lack of a proper shower (the usual French shower head in the bath scenario instead). We ate both dinner and breakfast in the attached restaurant and the food was of top quality. There were certainly no complaints from our group, as the chef prepared large bowls of pasta, rice and home-made tomato sauce to accompany our main meals. Similarly at breakfast, there was a good selection of yoghurt, cheese, fruit and pastries to keep us all satisfied. The only small complaint that my husband and I had was the early-morning noise of delivery vans/men on the street outside, as our bedroom faced onto the street. All in all, however, a delightful hotel in a beautiful surrounding!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Less than two hours from Carcassonne is a lovely hotel, full of charm with a very friendly staff. The room was spacious, the evening dining experience delightful and the surrounding area very beautiful in the fall. There is a nice-size pool and gardens. The hotel is a favorite of bikers who like to explore the surrounding countryside. Definitely to keep in mind if you are in this part of France.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here for three nights following an uninspiring stay in Collioure on the Med coast. We drove for 250km not able to find a hotel of nice enough quality to want to stay at. We drove on and on and eventually arrived in St Girons. Having not consulted Trip Advisor before leaving Collioure (bad mistake), we came across this hotel by accident. We wanted a room with a 6ft bed so were shown a lovely room which was huge and had great bathroom. As we were so exhausted, I wished we had negotiated an even better price although the Manager/Proprietaire did offer a reduction for three nights. After taking a nice long bath with the very pleasant toiletries in the bathroom, we ventured down to dinner. The set menu was quite expensive and had a limited choice if you were staying for more than a couple of nights. Unfortunately, I wasn't informed that the amuse bouche was a langoustine 'liquid' and as I have a sensitivity to shellfish, I was ill for most of the night even after just taking one sip. The next night we ventured out hungry at 6.15pm after a long day in the mountains to be confronted with a tired town with every restaurant closed or not serving until 7pm. We like to eat at 6.30ish after long days so we were upset and ended up in McDonalds at St Lizier, a neighbouring town. Very disappointed. Why it is impossible to eat before 7pm remains a mystery to me. Never mind. The third night we tried the restaurant again, being one couple of only two others. Very quiet. Service very good. Same menu so had the same dishes as the first night - except the langoustines! The a la carte is truly expensive. The breakfast costs 12Euro and in my opinion, best avoided. The milk was full fat and warm and the bread rolls had a bitter taste and resembled hockey pucks. The local scenery is wonderful with many fantastic trips to be had in the Pyrenees mountains, especially Plateau de Beille, some 45km from the hotel. Worth getting a detailed map of the area so you can weedle out the smaller roads over the cols. Take care on the hairpin switchback bends for cyclists as these routes are often used by them as they like to follow the Tour de France trails.

Room Tip: Room 11 is noisy when visitors come and go as it overlooks a courtyard/unloading area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked the Eychenne for just one night on our way back to Toulouse and wish we could have stayed longer. Our trip was at the end of September and the hotel seemed quite empty, with just four tables at dinner. The communal areas are charming and full of character. The gardens, pool area, outside dining areas all looked lovely. Secure parking was available for 4 euros a night.
We had room 9 which was a good size with a lovely new bathroom comprising separate bath and shower cubicle and a separate toilet. Towels were good quality, as were the toiletries. There were French windows from our room which opened onto a first floor terrace equipped with table, chairs and parasol, from which there was a view over the gardens and the mountains beyond. All very agreeable. There were electric shutters to keep the room cool. No English language channels on the TV and no tea/coffee making facilities. There was a computer cubicle we used for flight check-in but the internet connection was very slow. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was good quality, well prepared and presented. Breakfast was continental and not very exciting. As the hotel is in the centre of town going out for breakfast might be a better option if staying longer. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our short but very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 was lovely with a large new bathroom and a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We got the basic room with the shower.

This place was clean, wonderful, and a highlight of the trip.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed in this place at the recommendation of Count de Coral (of Chateau d'Urtubie; I believe the Count found it in a guidebook). It was fine, but not nearly at the level of excellence of Chateau d'Urtubie.

This is an old-fashioned hotel, which is part of its charm. There is a turn-of-the-century aspect to the wood-paneled lobby and little front-desk area. It's really lovely.

Be prepared to schlepp your bags up a lot of (very wide) stairs. The girl at the desk helped. Also with regard to the desk, on a rainy Sunday afternoon the desk-girl was the only one around and speaks only French (considering it's France, this should not come as a shock). This was not an issue for us, but if you need English-all-the-time you should be advised. Later in the day the owner was at the desk, and he is very English-fluent. Both the desk-girl and the owner could not have been more wonderful and helpful, no matter what was asked of them.

Because we were only staying one night, we opted for one of the cheapest rooms. It was fine------actually a bit larger than one often finds at that price, and it had a nice bathroom. It had a decent view of the Pyrenees for such an inexpensive room.

The dining room looked a little too hotel-average for our taste, so we set off to find a restaurant. This was nearly impossible to do on a Sunday night------St. Girons really rolls up its sidewalks------but ended up finding a little place wherein I had one of my best meals in France, ever. Alas, I neglected to take down the name......but it's within just a few blocks of the hotel and the owner serves homemade soup out of a tureen for a first course no matter what you order. Unbelievably good. But I digress......

This hotel is fine. It is a pretty place, and convenient. We like the "older" look-and-feel of places like this, with their wood, their grand staircases, and old-fashioned charm. After our dinner elsewhere, we came back and had a relaxing nightcap in the lovely lounge-area. The rooms are comfortable and a decent value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eychenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eychenne

Address: 8 Avenue Paul Laffont, 09200 Saint-Girons, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Ariege > Saint-Girons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Girons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eychenne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the Pyrenean Mountains, in the heart of the Natural Park, one minute away from downtown Saint-Girons, the Hotel & Restaurant Eychenne welcomes you with lots of smile in a cosy atmosphere. All our clients are always surprised when they discover our hotel. We are located in a small street of Saint Girons, just next to downtown. Our facade is charming, but doesn't let people guess all the space we have to offer until they come in. At the entrance, in the hall and at the reception, everything is subject to photographs. One step inside, and people can feel like they are just travelling in time, apealed to an old style french hotel, very traditional, but with all the comfort of modernity... with more than 4000m2 of facilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Eychenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eychenne Hotel St Girons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eychenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.