We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tobes - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tobes
135 E 4th St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1211
607-535-4012
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Not quite what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came here for breakfast and had the strangest service. Our waitress was rude almost combative, I mean really just not a nice person in general and didn't know the menu (didn't know what was available, what came with a meal, etc). My chocolate chip pancakes were good but the menu said 3 pancakes were $3.99 with no price for chocolate chip ones-well, without being told, I paid $1.25 extra for a small handful of them! Ouch. We also got 6 donuts to go and were not impressed. The Boston Creme was just fine but the chocolate cake one was inedible. I really love places like these and hate to give a bad rating but how can a place improve so that they can stay in business if they never get honest feedback? The guy who seemed to be the cook or manager was really nice and friendly though. Make sure your staff knows the menu and the daily availability of items, make sure your prices are clear on the menu for everything, make sure your baked goods are fresh each morning, and this place would be a gem for any 'road food enthusiast'.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home Made Donuts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In the heart of downtown Watkins Glen and a block off of the main street is your old fashioned greasy spoon for breakfast. The menu is pretty simple - eggs, pancakes, sides - but what really makes this place is their home made donuts.

There's nothing quite like a home made sour cream donut that you can dunk in your morning coffee or tea. But the donuts here are so good that I suggest you don't dunk them in anything and just eat it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A welcome step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great place for breakfast! Old fashioned counter/diner service with plenty of choices (eggs, pancakes, etc), plus FRESH MADE DONUTS most mornings - ask, if there is about to be a new batch it may be worth the wait. Also lunch (burgers/dogs) and ice cream. Great value, good food. Nothing fancy, but it's all *real* food.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn,n.y.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and friendly place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great place to get some breakfast or Ice cream.Was right across the street from us too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Frozen over priced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

When we were staying in Watkins Glen we were right around the corner from Tobes. We saw the cute exterior and thought why not try it usually small places like that have great food. Well we were wrong. I ordered and omelete and bagel. The bagel was like a lenders bagel toasted but it was barely toasted and still cold and frozen. My friend had a western omelete and the veggies were not cut up and the middle was not fully cooked. The service was awful, they were rude and not helpful. They advertised donuts and I thought ok they cannot be that bad. It was stale and store bought. I would not go there again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobes also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.