We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place sucks/owner a jerk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn And Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn And Marina
Save
You added Anchor Inn And Marina to your Saves list
3425 County Road 30, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
florida
1 review
“Place sucks/owner a jerk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

The owner is a jerk, beds are as hard as a rock, nude dancing at the tiki bar. underage drinking going on, this guy needs to lose his license. The cops need to shut him down

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peckville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Visited Watkins Glen and stayed at the Anchor Inn and Marina. The best thing I can say about the place is the view you get from the balcony when you are standing, if you sit the railing pretty much blocks your view. The TV was terrible !!! The picture was blurry and snowy. You don't gat a bar of soap, they use a dispenser with soap that smells awful...if not for the view, it doesn't have much going for them. Not worth the money. Stay somewhere else, Budget Inn looks great with all the remodeling they are doing !!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

i saw the review below but we stayed there at the last moment because glenora was booked. the room was quite large and had a nice view with a deck out front. the bed was a king, and it is true, the matresses need to be firmed up, but it was not horrible. the sheets and towels were clean, and at least on a friday thru saturday, there was no noise whatsoever. the front staff was friendly and accommodating.

we were charged a trip a rate of 75 usd so how can you beat that? it gave us more money for wine.

i would stay there again although i would not pay a lot, but it was fine for us.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pa.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

My husband and I booked two nights at the Anchor Inn, and ended up crippled from the horrible mattresses in our room! We ended up eating Advil every three hours during our wine tours just to keep functioning! Honestly, this place is the pits. Construction going on, and a tiki bar and boat dock that operates on the weekends, and caters to the cigarette boat trade....the noise is deafening! And speaking of noise, the tractor trailers traveling between the salt factory at the end of the road, and the main highway, pass 100 feet from your room all day long, and into the evening...just wonderful. Our bill for two nights , after taxes and add ons, totalled $282!!!!!! Highway robbery for what we got.
On the positive side, the room was spacious and clean, and the view was good, although obstructed by a high wooden railing that made it difficult to see.
I would NEVER go back to this place in a million years! We would have been better off ( and richer ) at the Budget Inn!
Nancy, RDH

  • Liked — The cleanliness and view
  • Disliked — Horrible mattresses and noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

There was a relatively large construction project going on at the hotel during our stay and all the construction equipment was parked right outside our balconey. We were awoken quite early every morning to the loud noise of the equipment. We booked this hotel because of the view of the lake. We had hoped to enjoy our breakfast on our balcony while enjoying the view of the lake but the noise and dirt from the construction prohibited that. Everyday when we returned from site seeing, the table on our balconey had been taken by other guests and when we complained to management, they basically didn't care.

Several times during our stay, we had no water to take showers or wash or hands in the sink. It became apparent after a few days that the hotel does not have its own water source - they truck in water several times a day. The truck would park right outside our balcony to unload the water - a noisy procedure that usually took 15 minutes to complete. This was often done twice in the evening which would prohibit us from sitting on our balcony to enjoy the lake due to the noise.

They advertised a continental breakfast. It consisted of packaged muffins and danish, juice boxes and coffee. One morning there were no muffins or juice boxes. Another morning the muffins were frozen solid.

On the positive side, it was relatively clean. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Relatively clean room
  • Disliked — Noisy construction, no water, unreceptive management
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

A colleague and I just stayed here for a work trip. We were disappointed. It wasn't terrible but everything was simply subpar. Specifically:

Sheets and towels were of barely average quality. Pillows were pretty flat.

My colleague disliked the fact that the soap, shower gel, and shampoo were provided in dispensers, not little bottles.

The lighting was inadequate for reading or working.

The doors really need screens, as you enter your room directly from outside (I had a fly, moth, and bee in my room).

We had to ask for an iron, and the woman couldn't find an ironing board.

There is no in-room coffee maker, and the "continental breakfast" consists of packaged Drake's (or something like it) muffins and danish, which we did not have.

They are doing construction, so the place looks pretty bad from the road and the work starts around 7am.

Beware: Cancellation policy is 10 days in advance.

The one nice thing is that all rooms have a sliding door leading out to a common porch that overlooks Seneca Lake, which is beautiful (but it is marred somewhat by the construction work/equipment directly below). This is not enough for us to return.

  • Liked — lake view
  • Disliked — many things; see review
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

One word - Peaceful. I took a chance with the Anchor Inn & Marina on Seneca Lake and I sure am glad I did. It is truly the “Goldie Lox” of the area in regards to price, amenities, location, and service. It isn’t as expensive as the B&B scene and yet it is under priced for the view and tranquility of the location. The rooms don’t have fancy furnishings yet it is very clean with nice sized rooms and comfortable beds. You don’t get room service, but you do get very welcoming and accommodating keepers that care about your stay and provide a family atmosphere. Every room has access to a shared balcony that allows access to a beautiful view of Seneca Lake and the beautiful sound of the small falls that run next to the inn. The road is semi-private and off the main streets so it really feels secluded. There is a small bar and marina right across the street on the water that gives you more options to explore if you need a cold drink or light snack. For a light breakfast, they offer muffins, danishes, coffee, and juice. For the techies, they offer free WIFI and for the tourists - it is close to everything in the area - 0 minutes to the lake, 5 minutes to Watkins Glen State park, 20 minutes to Watkins Glen International Race Track, and right off scenic Highway 14 which has many (10+) choice wineries. This place was perfect for what I needed and if I ever need a place to stay in the area again - I will definitely stay here. No doubt.

  • Liked — Above Average Ammenities without the frills and high cost
  • Disliked — The exit from the premises is very steep - it could be precarious for long vehicles or vehicles with trailers because they could bottom out. I'm sure they wouldn't have a problem using the entrance if you felt nervous - I just never asked.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn And Marina

Address: 3425 County Road 30, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn And Marina Hotel Watkins Glen
Anchor Hotel Watkins Glen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.