We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very good wines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant

Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant
3380 County Road 28, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
+1 607-535-9614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 37 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, Sandwiches, Bakeries, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Worcester. MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, very good wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We a great lunch--delicious bratwurst and the trimmings. wonderful view over the hills.We alos did the wine tasting--good wines, but we thought there were better in the area.

Lunch 5 stars--wine 4--because the competition is so stiff.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney H, Manager at Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hi mszymcik!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're happy you had a great time! You're right about the competition being so stiff, the finger lakes area is such a wonderful winery hub! But we're constantly working to improve our wines every year, so hopefully the next time you come around, we'll be even better than before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, PA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing under new owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Apparently it is under new ownership since October 2013. I learned this when the server refused to take a restaurant-specific restaurant.com certificate I purchased in May 2014. (FYI, I was able to get an exchange on the restaurant.com site). The lunch menu was limited especially in terms of German-style offerings compared to what it used to be and listed only sandwiches though when I asked I was told about soups and salads also. Our sandwiches were good, but not worth the half hour drive to get there like the old days. And we couldn't sit on the deck because it was freshly painted (why would you paint the deck in August, a high tourist season?). We were seated at a table right next to another occupied table when there was no one else in the restaurant. The server was ok but didn't seem to like it there too much either and didn't appreciate being asked to split the check. Overall a disappointment compared to the really nice experience we had hoped to share with our out-of-state guests. Probably our last visit sadly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney H, Manager at Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant DT25!

I'm so sorry that your experience wasn't quite like how it used to be, but it's true, we're undergoing a lot of new changes now and were finally able to start making head way only just recently. We officially removed ourselves from the restaurant website in June 2014, but I'm glad you didn't have any problem exchanging your certificate.

Going forward, we will be offering mainly sandwiches, soups and salads with some german specials here and there, but in general I would follow our website to see what changes we'll be making just so no one is caught unaware when they arrive here.

And apologies for the deck, we will be completely renovating it with a new railing and awning, and it's generally best to do it during this season so as to avoid heavy snowfall or inclement weather conditions.

Hopefully you'll give us another chance in the future, especially when everything will look beautiful and new. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great View and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We took my in-laws here because they love this place. It was a beautiful Monday and we went for lunch. Although the menu only listed sandwiches and salads, we noticed a couple having a fondue as we were being seated. My wife and I ordered the fondue and a salad to share. The fondue was excellent and all four of us enjoyed it. The sandwiches my in-laws ordered were very good as well with plenty of meat. Almost like a deli sandwich. For dessert we had the cold strawberry soup which was perfect. We ordered a bottle of the winery's chardonnay which we finished with no problem and ended up buying two more bottles to take home. After lunch we stood on the deck for a while and enjoyed the view over Seneca Lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

but worth the trip! beautiful to see, friendly people, nice gift shop. did not eat there but will next time

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlville, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“another good one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

this was on our preferred pairings on Seneca lake trail. great people good wine and they too toke care of our DD. would go back again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Grisch Winery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.