We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nickel's Pit BBQ

Nickel's Pit BBQ
205-207 N. Franklin St., Watkins Glen, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Way exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I expected a decent meal but this was very good - one of the best barbecue meals I had eaten. We made our own combos, each with one meat and two sides plus they came with small corn muffins. One combo had brisket, baked beans and cole slaw - all delicious. The other had pulled pork, curly fries and carrots - again all delicious. The carrots were unexpectedly a real winner. There were 3 types of barbecue sauce on the table, each very good. The portions were generous but not overwhelming. The prices were very reasonable. They had a large selection of draft beers and ales so the meal was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“craft beer and pit barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Visited at noon (when they open) on July 12. If two in your party want ribs I suggest splitting a full rack ($30.) rather than two halves, to save some bucks. Excellent ribs... tender, good flavor, nice rub. Carolina pulled pork was well received, too. Small eaters can also order "just meat" - I got a good size of pulled pork for $5.00, more than I could eat. The mushroom terrine, and the side orders, were very good, too. Stick with the beers, rather than wines, etc. Helpful staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

It was suggested that we try out Nickel's so we did. We could not get in the first night, there was a 45 minutes wait. Not because they didn't have the tables but the kitchen couldn't keep up. Never heard that one. So we went else where and went back the next night and were seated. The bbq was dry and their menu failed to mention that the curly fries are spicy which I do not care for. I mentioned that I did not care for them and the waiter did bring me another plate without spice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good bbq in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Been here a few times and I love the food! They turned an old firehouse into a microbrewery/restaurant. The only thing that is kind of bad is you walk in and you have to order your food and pay before you sit down. You can drive by in the morning and see they have the smoker going so that is always a great sign in a bbq joint.

I have had the ribs and the pulled pork both were smoked well and had great sauce! The meat was tender and moist which is key in good bbq. The sides were all solid and tasted good. All in all a great place.

On a side note most of the reviews that said they ran out of food early were doing their opening period so you have to cut them slack and take that with a grain of salt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The perfect place for an informal meal after a long road trip! Wonderful BBQ and craft beer by Rooster Fish Brewing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickel's Pit BBQ also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nickel's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickel's Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.