We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - weird welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nickel's Pit BBQ

Nickel's Pit BBQ
205-207 N. Franklin St., Watkins Glen, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food - weird welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you get in the door you will have a good meal. You will be stopped at the door and asked what you want to eat. Tell this person you are going to the bar and keep walking. Once at the bar figure out what you like from what is available. If you actually stop and talk to the door person, you will, like so many others, walk away. ABSOLUTELY nuts how many people are turned away.

Instead of preparing to serve, this restaurant prepares a fixed amount and if it runs out before you get there - oh well.

Nickel's is operated by the same family that runs Crooked Rooster and Wildflower so you have to get past the bland "don't really care if you are here or not" attitude, but Nickel's food is worth it. Pulled pork with mac and cheese and slaw is good eats.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The BBQ here is pretty good. The service is weird, a waiter doesn't actually come to your table, you have to order at the bar and when you are with eight people that is just weird. The prices are kinda steep in my opinion but maybe BBQ isn't that common there and that is why it is a little pricier. All in all it was ok.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Very Bad Business Model”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Nickel's for the 1st time on Friday, July 5. It's a nice looking place, with outdoor seating and a big wrap-a-round bar, but we were very put off by their ordering process; when you walk in, you're handed a menu, told what they're out of (7:30pm and they were out of chicken and BBQ beans. Really?) Then you wait on line to give the bartender your order and pay for it (we used a credit card and were asked if we wanted to add a tip to our charge - before we even had any food or service!). Then you are given a number, and you go find a table. When your food is ready, they bring it to you. There is a tip jar located in the middle of the room which I am sure a lot of people skip out w/o tipping. That's too bad too because the young man who brought us our food was super nice. We ended up hunting him down after we ate and slipped him $5. They had four servers there but I don't think any of them are making any money.
The food was very good. The ribs, which are dry rubbed and smoked, are served w/o sauce - but there are several to choose from at each table. They were fall-off-the-bone tender. The portions were generous and I don't think it's possible to leave there and still be hungry. However, we were so put off by the ordering process, we won't be going as often as we would if we just had regular table service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Watkins Glen must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nickels Pit BBQ is a great place for something to eat no matter what time of day. It has a great open atmosphere, is attached to its' own microbrewery giving you a lot of choices for craft beers that are served very cold (draught). The portions are generous, the food is served hot (not re-heated in a microwave oven), and it is tasty. A great place to relax an shave something to eat if you are in the Seneca Lake / Watkins Glen area. Staff is very helpful and there are enough to answer questions and serve your meal quickly. Have to be careful you don't miss it, it's set back from the street, but once you find it (diagonally south from the Watkins Glen theater), you'll always remember where to go- and want to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Centrally located, good food, interesting delivery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nickels's is centrally located to the downtown area, the marina and the main hotel - right on the main drag. The emthod of delivery is interesting. You go to the bar, place your order and pay for you food - you are given a number, told to find a table and display the number - and the waitress brings your food when it has been prepared. We enjoyed choices although there are no other BBQ restaraunts locally to compare with. My wife said the briskett was great and my pulled pork was really good but the kielbasa was a little overdone. Sides were good, especially the pepperdaw macaroni and cheese. The chili was very mild and although there were three BBQ sauces at each table, there was no hot sauce (but I didn't ask it it was available). Wife says we will go back - that is high praise indeed. Right now, they only have full menu on weekends - otherwise is it basically wings and fries - and the great local brews (Roosterfile Brewing) on tap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickel's Pit BBQ also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nickel's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickel's Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.