We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband won't stop talking about the Chimichangas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant

Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant
410 E. 4Th. st., Watkins Glen, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My husband won't stop talking about the Chimichangas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Had a huge margarita that was delicious. My vegetarian meal wasn't too exciting but my husband very much enjoyed his meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just. 2 blocks off the Main Street and well worth it. Excellent margaritas and very reasonable!! The food was good and cooked to perfection. Large servings are on their way!! Angelica was our server and she was great. Everyone seemed to work as a team to make sure your dining experience was a great one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good Mexican spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just what you need when you need good priced Mexican and a margarita. Great addition to Watkins and the staff are always nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were in Watkins Glen the end of August for the Grapehounds event with our Greyhounds. Because we weren't sure if the dogs could be on the deck (wish we had asked), we got food to take out. We liked it so much that we came back the next night. The first night, from the To Go menu, we got the taco locos, only $5.70 for 2. They were delicious! These are not Taco Bell tacos, but more like the gourmet tacos in restaurants that are popping up in Pittsburgh. The second night, my husband got the beef burrito. It was stuffed with beef and covered in sauce and cheese, and was moist and filling and very good. He said it was different from what he'd expected, but he liked it a lot. I got the shrimp quesadilla, which was delicious. There had to be about 20 shrimp in it! And these were good sized shrimp, not those little ones. The girl who took our order was so nice and efficient and friendly. There were lots of things on the To Go menu that we wanted to try, but we ran out of time! They do have a small deck that looks pleasant, and it would have been great to eat out there with the dogs---next time we'll ask. Even if they weren't permitted, we'd make time to eat at Garcia's again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Family run mini-chain serves good Mexican chow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

On the spur of the moment, four of us decided to go to Garcia's for dinner. We were promptly seated (weren't busy) at a comfortable table. The margaritas were impressive looking, but not very strong - but tasty anyway. Our food was served as order and was hot and delicious. We have tried one of the other Garcia's and the food was as good in both restaraunts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garcias-Mexican-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.