We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorge at Watkins Glen State Park

Gorge at Watkins Glen State Park
Watkins Glen, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Watkins Glen
Type: Geologic Formations, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, State Parks, Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Amazing views and fairly easy to hike when you take your time. Wear good shoes as it is rocky and wet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    69
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“The perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were lucky enough to have 2 cars for our visit. We parked one at the top and one at the bottom. In my opinion this is the best way to do it. There are shuttle buses on weekends, but we went on a Wednesday. The walf from top to bottom is absolutely beautiful. The waterfalls are magnificent. This is one of the best visits to a state park that IK have ever had. If you are in the area it well worth your time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wear study shoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We walked up the 800 steps with relative ease ( they are spread out across 1.5 miles) and then walked back via the Indian trail. Beautiful scenery all the way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Definitely a must see if you are in the Watkins Glen area! Even after reading the reviews and hearing people say start at the top because its much easier, my boyfriend and I started at the bottom...and I'm glad we did. The views were worth the burn in our legs! Was absolutely beautiful this past weekend when we went with the fall foliage and perfect weather. Will highly recommend this to everyone! The trail was very kept up, definitely the nicest trail we've ever hiked!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville Center, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

absolutely beautiful hike! dont go on a weekend, its packed and ridiculous to try and hike! my advice, walk up the gorge trail and come back down the indian trail.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorge at Watkins Glen State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gorge at Watkins Glen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorge at Watkins Glen State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.