We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly and reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Budget Inn
435 South Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Watkins Glen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night when we found ourselves in town a day early. It was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean. They had Internet service and a little breakfast. They did not have refrigerators but they did have plenty of ice. The locations is very good, an easy walk into town and a few nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washingtonville, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to Fingers Lakes for the Wine Festival. Had a reservation in Horseheads until we found it was a good 30 minutes away. We checked a few hotels for same day arrival and found the athe Budget Inn suited our needs. The bed was firm but comfortable, the room was simple with a king bed and private bath and most importantly, it was clean. Our biggest complaint was that the tv often "skipped around" with the picture and sound not so great. The hotel offered a simple continental breakfast with descent coffee to get us on our way in the morning.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the parking lot and the main road going into town. Consider this if you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight on a 4 day motorcycle ride. Front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. Room was your regular motel room size, but the appeal here is the extreme cleanliness and impeccable upkeep of the property. Located about 12 blocks from "downtown", it is still close enough to be practical and far enough to offer reasonable rates. When I looked at a number of properties in Watkins Glen, most others were almost double the price. Seeing what i got here, I don't know why I would have spent that much anywhere else. Nice find. Good diner for breakfast right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hubby and I were in town 2 nights for a wedding. The owner and his wife were polite and helpful. We had a pleasant stay. The room, bed and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Loved that the bed was firm and not mushy like some motels. We got a good night sleep. Coffee and a bite to eat in the morning at the office. It's a convenient location. It's an older motel but it is well maintained and the parking lot is well lit. Some might be bothered by the noise because it is on the main road but we didn't seem to notice it when in the room. Other guests were friendly. Has wifi and mini fridge. Hope to come up in the fall to do the wineries and would stay here again. Good value, not overpriced like the 'big' hotel down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were not expecting a whole lot from this place but we got great value and a pleasant stay. Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable. Excellent shower. Good "expanded continental" breakfast. We found the manager helpful and accommodating. There was some road noise but we weren't bothered by it. Recommended for a simple, clean place to stop on a trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Reserved room over phone, quoted one rate, when we arrived charged more, no explanation, owner/desk clerk very curt. When we turned down the bedspread it had nasty stains on it. Towels also stained. When we complained to the owner/desk clerk, no apology, again very curt. Did replace the bedspread but no discount offered. We have stayed here before and originally we were treated very nice but the last two times the owner/desk clerk was not hospitable at all. We won't be going back and do not recommend this place anymore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Good location for a wine tour base but the room was pretty dirty. Like disgustingly dirty. Uncovered stains on the box spring. Brown stains on the cover blanket and a dead bug in the lampshade. Make sure if you stay here you get drunk enough on your tasting to not care.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Also Known As:
Budget Hotel
Budget Hotel Watkins Glen
Budget Inn Watkins Glen
Address: 435 South Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list