We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Book It!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seneca Lake Wine Trail

Seneca Lake Wine Trail
2 North Franklin Street, Suite 320, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
(877 536-2717
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving, Biking
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Book It!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We used SenecaLakeWine.com to get a package deal for wine tasting + a bus to bring us around. The cost was about $600 for the weekend. However, a blizzard hit and they were completely unwilling to refund any portion of the trip. So, we lost out on the $600. DO NOT USE SenecaLakeWine.com!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, Manager at Seneca Lake Wine Trail, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
The good Doctor acknowledged that her package was, as stated numerous times during the transaction, not refundable and not transferable, and yet still insisted that despite all that, an exception should be made for her. We even offered to try and sell the package (which also consisted of 2 nights in a high quality hotel), something we've done for customers caught in this situation in the past, but she preferred to try and bully us instead. Specifically, our policy is simply as follows "Tickets are not refundable, exchangeable or changeable. Seneca Lake Wine Trail events are never cancelled." On the plus side, the Doctor did give us all a good chuckle when she had a friend call us later, posing as a representative from her credit card company, attempting to further bully us! We trust that the overwhelming number of positive responses from many other customers are a more accurate reflection of our organization, member wineries and events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    44
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable day in a lovely part of the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Although we had been to the Finger Lakes District in the past we didn't get a chance to check out the vineyards. This trip was to finally do that. We loved the day. The people at the vineyards were very hospitable and the tastings were 50 cents to $1 per wine taste. Incredibly cheap if you know what they charge in California. Although the area is not highly known for it's red wine (which is our preference) we found some very nice ones. We really enjoyed the fact we did this in the winter. The crowds were acceptable. Every place was busy but not to the point you couldn't be tasting within minutes of arriving.

Two words of advice.. PACE YOURSELF!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Best wines and an overall fun place to visit. We go at least 2 times a year. People are friendly. My husband and I go every year for our anniversary. We stay in Watkins glen and explore all of the wineries and restaurants around the lake. I would highly recommend this area to anyone.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been doing the trail for over ten years now and it never fails to please. Some of our favorites are Lakewood, Standing Stone and Silver Spring.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So much fun. . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on the Pasta & Wine weekend. While some wineries didn't put much effort into their pasta dishes (cold pasta/macaroni salad) others went above and beyond (gnocci with bleu cheese sauce). So much fun doing the wine tastings. Make sure to also stop at the Finger Lakes Distillery and Two Goats Brewery to give your wine tastebuds a break

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Lake Wine Trail also viewed

 

Been to Seneca Lake Wine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seneca Lake Wine Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.