We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tasting room experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewood Vineyards

Lakewood Vineyards
4024 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
877 535 9252
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lakewood Vineyards is located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of New York. A working grape farm since 1951, the winery was established in 1988. Almost 2 decades later, with over 675 awards, we continually produce fine wines and mead, and present these wines in the inviting, friendly tasting room. We are family friendly and encourage you to enjoy the view of Seneca Lake while strolling through our vineyards or picnicking in our lawn.
florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice tasting room experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely tasting room overlooking West Seneca Lake. Friendly staff and a very nice Chardonnay with many other award winning wines. It is only a few miles north of Watkins Glen.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Excellent Wine, and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stopped by here for a tasting while we were on vacation at Seneca Lake. The woman who served myself and a few others was super friendly and helpful. Everyone else who worked at Lakewood seemed to really enjoy being there and made customers feel comfortable. There were 2 different "flights" to choose from depending on your tastes, but our server offered us some additional choices as well. I especially liked the Semi-dry Riesling and Amber Rose. I liked that they offered my teenage daughter a glass of grape juice. Their chocolate lab stopped by to say hello as well. Of the 3 different wineries I stopped at near Seneca Lake this one was my favorite!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wine tasting at Lakewood Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Lakewood Vineyards based on reviews here at TripAdvisor. The staff was very friendly, fun, and informative. We sampled a large selection of wines which were all delicious. We were surprised at the aromas of the wine...very grapey! When you pay for the tasting, the charge for tasting can be applied to a purchase...which we did. We would have liked to "tour" the vineyard as well but they don't do that yet. The grape vines can be seen from the parking lot and their building. It is a family business and you can see that everyone puts their heart into it. When we go back to the finger lakes, we will return to Lakewood VIneyards as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“friendly with good wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We only had time to visit one winery on the way up to Niagara falls and picked Lakewood based on the reviews. They had a great view, a rinkydink playground the kids could play on, picnic tables overlooking the lakes. The staff was friendly, they had really nice whites (dry riesling is awesome!). There is a $2 fee for tasting (5 wines) that you get credited back if you purchase wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Great Wine"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I went up to Corning, NY to visit the Glass Museum and the Curtiss Wright Museum and, of course, tour the wineries. We visited a few wineries, and Lakewood, once again was our favorite. We have been to the Finger Lakes region once before and done the wine trail, but we always end up with tons of bottles of Lakewood wine. The staff, the view and even their family dogs are tops. Will be planning another trip in the fall, and of course, Seneca Lake and Lakewood will be our first stop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakewood Vineyards also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Lakewood Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakewood Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.