We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewood Vineyards

Lakewood Vineyards
4024 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
877 535 9252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Watkins Glen
Type: Breweries, Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Lakewood Vineyards is located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of New York. A working grape farm since 1951, the winery was established in 1988. Almost 2 decades later, with over 675 awards, we continually produce fine wines and mead, and present these wines in the inviting, friendly tasting room. We are family friendly and encourage you to enjoy the view of Seneca Lake while strolling through our vineyards or picnicking in our lawn.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

What a great time we had at this wine tasting. The tasting was only $2 and that was taken off any wine purchased. We enjoy dry wines and found both the reds and whites very good. We bought several bottles. One of our servers was the wine makers wife. She was so pleasant and fun. It was a pleasure to buy wines from a family run operation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lock Haven Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

One of our favorite wineries to visit. Great choice of wine. Staff is wonderful ,always make you feel welcome.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly folks and tasty wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lakewood Vineyards is that rare down-to-earth 'just folks' winery with really good wine (and at very reasonable prices). One of our favorites is a chardonnay that they do in barrels made from oak adjacent to their vineyard - talk about local (and tasty!). Friendly (and active) winery dogs will keep you company during your tasting. Consistently very good quality, ranging from bone-dry table wines through off-dry to semi-sweet, sweet and dessert choices. The staff know the wines, just tell them what you like and they'll be happy to guide you. A great setting close to Watkins Glen overlooking Seneca Lake, bring a picnic if you want to extend your visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerstown, PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've been going here for many many years and continue to visit even if it is the only place we can go on a trip. The Stamp family is super friendly. A go to place

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We actually had no intention of doing any of the beer or wine tastings in the area but we did. We were in the middle of a massive camping trip when we decided it was necessary.

The staff was incredibly nice and everyone seemed to get along great with each other. The wines were quite good. The tastings were not free---they were $2---which, if you bought anything, you did get your money back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakewood Vineyards also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Lakewood Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakewood Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lakewood Vineyards to your Saves list